We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Ideal New England Experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franconia
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pinestead Farm Lodge
münchen
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The Ideal New England Experience”
Reviewed 21 June 2010

If you want to experience New England at it's most cozy and heartfelt, this is the place to do it! Pinestead Farm is family run, a working farm, and they even make their own maple syrup in their own sugar house! Each of the apartments is lovingly decorated. The traditional quilts are also home made - and can be bought at their store in town - and are cozy to snuggle into at night. Each bedroom in our apartment had a double and single bed - easy for the family to share rooms. The kitchen is fully equipped. We didn't cook but could have. Don't expect luxury, but everything is clean, functional and cozy. The setting is gorgeous and you can walk the grounds, visit the animals and hike. Perfect for a stay if you want to see Franconia Notch! Thanks to the wonderful family for their outstanding hospitality. We felt truly "at home"!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank werbeelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
liège
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2010

A farm lodge with little comfort but all the necessary things were there. Everything was clean and ready at our arrival.
One kitchen is shared for 3 rooms. We were alone at that time and the kitchen was great. It is a good place for a visit in the white mountains region. We had a great time with our 13 month child.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank 9213olivier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2009

Very nice place, has everything what you need in a rustic setting. We spent 2 nights of our NH/Maine trip at the lodge, marvellous piece of land to stroll around between intruiging machinery. The owners were very nice people, very helpful in suggesting us some nice walks we managed to do in the (unfortunately) short period of time we were there.
Would definatley recommend this place to people visiting the area!

Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DriesDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tx
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2008

I went from TX to NH to visit my daughter & grandchildred. We decided very last minute to go the the White Mts. for Labor Day wk-end. Grandchildred ranged from 9 yrs. to under 2 yrs. We were fortunate to find availability. The area was beautiful. The farm was well kept, room were very clean. It is a farm, so nothing fancy, however; for the money we saved and the proximity to all we wanted to see & do, it was great. We had living area, 2 bedrooms, and a very nice kitchen. Local attractions were within driving distance. We hiked & did sightseeing every day. The mattresses were a bit hard, and the couch not too comfortable. The owners were very pleasant & helpful, great porch & rockers for a late evening glass of wine. There was even a small play area for the kids with swing & slide. I would highly recommend for anyone who doesn't need room service & likes saving money.

  • Liked — great value for the price
  • Disliked — matresses a little hard
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank vbm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2008

I have been using Pinestead for winter ski trips for families for 7 years now and truly consider it a home away from home.

The four efficiency units are very simple, the furnishings eclectic, and the spaces between the units are unheated but it is spotlessly clean, the beds are comfortable, the showers hot and the rooms themselves are well heated. (Not airconditioned though for summer visitors!) Best of all, Bob and Kathleen Sherburn are welcoming and accommodating and full of wonderful stories and endless advice on what to do, where to go in the area.

Pinestead makes a great base for winter (or anytime) fun in the Whites. The lodge is located just down the road from the Franconia Inn and backs onto the Inn's network of XC ski trails. It is 12 minutes from Cannon Mtn for down hill skiing, 35 minutes to Bretton Woods (down hill and XC), 35 minutes from Loon and Lincoln.

The farm also has great appeal for kids with chickens, horses, maple sugaring and a large garden to explore (depending on season)

We come with groups of 10-25 people and take over 3-4 of the units at a time, using one (Pantry) as our cooking and socializing area and the others for downtime. We usually bring most of our food from home but the supermarket in the center of Franconia offers most everything you could want at reasonable prices.

If you're looking for a clean, comfortable, welcoming place to lay your head, I heartily recommend Pinestead. If you're looking for the Ritz... or even a Holiday Inn (with tv's, phones etc)... look on.

  • Liked — rustic comfort
  • Disliked — poor cell phone reception
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank safarilady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2007

Pinestead Farm Lodge is a rustic, inexpensive self-service lodge in one of the most beautiful areas on the planet. The units are set up with 3 bedrooms, and shared common space, well-equipped kitchens and baths. The amenities are very simple, emphatically NOT luxurious, but the setting is outstanding, it's quiet and peaceful, and the family that runs the lodge (and the farm on which it is located) are delightful. Bob and Kathleen Sherburn have a maple sugaring operation, woodlot and large gardens in addition to the lodge. Kathleen owns Pinestead Quilts (a store in nearby Lincoln, NH) and made all of the quilts for the lodge beds. They are both avid hikers, and knowledgeable about area hiking trails. There is fine hiking right outside the lodge, and endless excellent trails a short drive away. There are a number of tourist attractions and shopping opportunities nearby, plus skiing (x-c and downhill), horseback riding, golf, mountain biking, boating, etc.

Buying food at nearby stores or farmstands and cooking at home (or eating at local restaurants), it's possible to have a truly outstanding culinary experience. There is a grill available for guests' use, and sometimes even local wild berries and mushrooms.

Pinestead is not for everyone - there are no private bathrooms, no meal service, no tv or internet access, no fancy anything.

  • Liked — Simple and clean, inexpensive
  • Disliked — not much kitchen counter space
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bea0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franconia
3.9 mi away
Best Western White Mountain Inn
1.5 mi away
Franconia Inn
Franconia Inn
#2 of 5 in Franconia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mittersill Alpine Resort
Mittersill Alpine Resort
#6 of 8 in Franconia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Inn at Sunset Hill
Inn at Sunset Hill
#1 of 4 in Sugar Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lovett's Inn
Lovett's Inn
#5 of 5 in Franconia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
3.1 mi away
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge
#4 of 5 in Franconia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinestead Farm Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinestead Farm Lodge

Property: Pinestead Farm Lodge
Address: 2059 Easton Rd, Franconia, NH 03580-5115
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Franconia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Franconia
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Pinestead Farm Lodge Franconia, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing