We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family run Motel”
Review of Hillwinds Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hillwinds Lodge
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Franconia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2012

We stayed here at the beginning of October and the weather wasn't too kind to us, but the area was stunning with the autumn colours.

The Lodge was fairly easy to find although apparently our GPS brought us the scenic route!

We received a warm welcome from the owner and check in was swift. He then gave us a list of local places to eat and a description of each place.

We were accommodated in the building furthest away from the river on the upper floor. The room was fine although it did look a little tired. Everything worked, Bed was quite comfortable and the electric heater came in useful and was very efficient and soon drove away the chill.

Bathroom whilst old was fine with a good hot shower over the tub.

We ate in one of the local restaurants that was recommended by the owner and received a discount by saying we were guests at the lodge.

Next morning we made it down for breakfast which was included and were greeted by the lady owner. Breakfast was fine plenty of choice and taken in a lovely room overlooking the river. We chatted with the owner for a very long time and found out the place was slowly being renovated as and when time and funds were available.

We made use of their free wifi to find out what we could do on a wet day in the area, but after a chat with the owners we decide a scenic drive round the mountains was probably the best option.

All in all a very nice place to stay for a couple of nights. Very reasonably priced with nice breakfast, free wifi and lovely location. Rooms slowly being improved. Would stay again if we were to return to the White Mountains

Room Tip: Ask if you can have one of the refurbished rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikealpine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2012

We had a second floor, river facing room and I must say that my wife and I were extremely surprised and pleased with the quality of the room. It's not huge and flashy, but we didn't want or expect that. The room was a good size, clean, and freshly painted with a comfortable bed. The water pressure in the shower was excellent. The free continental breakfast was standard fare, bagels, danish, toast etc... The TV in the room was not HD, but I doubt that anyone staying in the area would want to spend the day watching TV anyway.

Overall, we were very happy with the Hillwinds and will be staying there again in the future.

Room Tip: The view from the river facing rooms is MUCH better than the pool facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

My room face the river and it was nice and quiet. The owners and staff were friendly and assisted me in getting around the area. They recommended two local places to eat at. The food was nice. The hotel serves a continental breakfast, coffee, tea, orange juice, bagels, muffins, and cereal. Littleton is to the north and I went there for breakfast at the coffee pot.

Room Tip: Rooms on the river are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jagm96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

My husband and I loved staying at Hillwinds. Our room was situated right on the Gale River where we enjoyed the beautiful sound and sites. Tina was especially friendly - full of great stories and suggestions. Our room was very nice, clean, comfortable and reasonably priced. I would highly recommend Hillwinds to anyone traveling near the White Mountains.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

WOW what can i say . Got a suprise birthday gift with a weeked trip to Hillwinds Lodge . This is my go to place for the past 19 years and it never lets me down. Sitting on the banks the the Beautiful Gale River with its scenic views it a little piece of heaven . The hosts Tina and Deane are some of the nicest people you will ever meet . Always will to share a story, give directions or suguestions to make your stay a memorable one . From the FREE breakfast ( great assortment of bagles,ceral,muffins,tea and coffee ,juice ) to start you day . Oh did i mention the breakfast room with the large windows overlooking the Gale River . to the Private heated Pool. to the crystal clear Gale River just calling you to take off your shoes and wade in . realx and BBQ river side /poolside or enjoy and nice camp fire in the lawn in the evening . Why would you go anywhere else ?? True New England charm. If you want a private ,Quiet place to come with your family this is the place. Kids love the Gale River . Parents can sit back and watch them play in the clean , clear water . Safe enough for even the young ones and if your like me you will soon join them in the fun .

Room Tip: If you want a clean ,quiet ,safe place to bring your family . This is it . Pet friendly, Kid Friendl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NHflyfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Was lucky enough to get a birthday suprise with a weekend at Hillwinds Lodge. The owners have done alot of work on the property. New paint on all buildings, Gardens , New fences. and update rooms. We had a shared room and brought out dog with us . Could not have asked for a better place to stay . The hosts Tina and Deane are some of the nicest people you will ever meet . True New England hospitality .. From the FREE Breakfast overlooking the beautiful Gale River . To the Private pool and pinic beanches on the River where you can BBQ why would you wanty to stay anywhere else. This place is a hidden gem i almost want to keep to myself. Been coming back now for over 19 years . Been all over the White Mnts and it dont get any better than this .

Room Tip: If you love to be right on a River you wont find a better place than this . Sitting on the porch or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank osmadhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We have stayed at the lodge twice now and its been perfect for our needs both times. Yes, the rooms are a little bit older but they are clean and comfortable and the setting is beautiful and relaxing. The couple that run Hillwinds are wonderful. When we arrived in the evening with a bit of car trouble, they were extremely helpful in helping us fix our issue. The pool is great, the river view is amazing, and the breakfast is better than many continental offerings. In this price range and this area, you can't beat the value and experience at the Hillwinds Lodge.

Room Tip: The river rooms have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daisi007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franconia
0.5 mi away
Best Western White Mountain Inn
15.1 mi away
Nootka Lodge
Nootka Lodge
#1 of 1 in Woodsville
72 reviews
13.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
144 reviews
5.2 mi away
Eastgate Inn
Eastgate Inn
#4 of 5 in Littleton
153 reviews
0.9 mi away
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge
#4 of 5 in Franconia
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillwinds Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillwinds Lodge

Address: 33 Dow Ave, Franconia, NH 03580-4915
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Franconia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Franconia
Price Range: £61 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hillwinds Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional New England family-owned and operated motel featuring clean, comfortable, affordable and friendly lodging in the White Mountain region of New Hampshire. Located on the banks of the tranquil Gale River, Hillwinds is located near all major seasonal attractions and is only three miles from Cannon Mountain and the Franconia Notch State Park, home of the Flume Gorge and great hilking opportunities. Rates include complimentary continental breakfast, in-room coffee and fridge, free wi-fi, and guest computer and lending library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Hillwinds Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillwinds Hotel Franconia
Hillwinds Lodge Franconia, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing