We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed for a night”
Review of Hillwinds Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hillwinds Lodge
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Franconia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Nice little motel. Everything was very clean, the shower had excellent water pressure, their wifi worked (a little spotty but it was raining.) We had a second floor, pool facing room and we could see over the second building to a nice hillside. The room was plain but we weren't looking for much, and you can't beat the price. The beds were also really comfortable and my friend that I stayed with agreed. Our only complaint was that they did not have operating vending machines, and all the stores in the town closed at 8pm, so we could not find juice or soda anywhere! Take note of this and bring extra drinks, like we didn't. There was a mini fridge and microwave.

We went hiking the next day (the reason for our stay) and you couldn't find a more beautiful area. Will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ktfanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
There are newer reviews for Hillwinds Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2012 via mobile

The rooms are plain but clean and the rates are fair. The continental breakfast is simple but adequate. The owners are very friendly. Great location near a lot of good hiking, skiing and biking. The town of Franconia is also kind of cute.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JeffG1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

We stayed here at the beginning of October and the weather wasn't too kind to us, but the area was stunning with the autumn colours.

The Lodge was fairly easy to find although apparently our GPS brought us the scenic route!

We received a warm welcome from the owner and check in was swift. He then gave us a list of local places to eat and a description of each place.

We were accommodated in the building furthest away from the river on the upper floor. The room was fine although it did look a little tired. Everything worked, Bed was quite comfortable and the electric heater came in useful and was very efficient and soon drove away the chill.

Bathroom whilst old was fine with a good hot shower over the tub.

We ate in one of the local restaurants that was recommended by the owner and received a discount by saying we were guests at the lodge.

Next morning we made it down for breakfast which was included and were greeted by the lady owner. Breakfast was fine plenty of choice and taken in a lovely room overlooking the river. We chatted with the owner for a very long time and found out the place was slowly being renovated as and when time and funds were available.

We made use of their free wifi to find out what we could do on a wet day in the area, but after a chat with the owners we decide a scenic drive round the mountains was probably the best option.

All in all a very nice place to stay for a couple of nights. Very reasonably priced with nice breakfast, free wifi and lovely location. Rooms slowly being improved. Would stay again if we were to return to the White Mountains

Room Tip: Ask if you can have one of the refurbished rooms
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mikealpine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We had a second floor, river facing room and I must say that my wife and I were extremely surprised and pleased with the quality of the room. It's not huge and flashy, but we didn't want or expect that. The room was a good size, clean, and freshly painted with a comfortable bed. The water pressure in the shower was excellent. The free continental breakfast was standard fare, bagels, danish, toast etc... The TV in the room was not HD, but I doubt that anyone staying in the area would want to spend the day watching TV anyway.

Overall, we were very happy with the Hillwinds and will be staying there again in the future.

Room Tip: The view from the river facing rooms is MUCH better than the pool facing rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

My room face the river and it was nice and quiet. The owners and staff were friendly and assisted me in getting around the area. They recommended two local places to eat at. The food was nice. The hotel serves a continental breakfast, coffee, tea, orange juice, bagels, muffins, and cereal. Littleton is to the north and I went there for breakfast at the coffee pot.

Room Tip: Rooms on the river are nice.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jagm96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

My husband and I loved staying at Hillwinds. Our room was situated right on the Gale River where we enjoyed the beautiful sound and sites. Tina was especially friendly - full of great stories and suggestions. Our room was very nice, clean, comfortable and reasonably priced. I would highly recommend Hillwinds to anyone traveling near the White Mountains.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

WOW what can i say . Got a suprise birthday gift with a weeked trip to Hillwinds Lodge . This is my go to place for the past 19 years and it never lets me down. Sitting on the banks the the Beautiful Gale River with its scenic views it a little piece of heaven . The hosts Tina and Deane are some of the nicest people you will ever meet . Always will to share a story, give directions or suguestions to make your stay a memorable one . From the FREE breakfast ( great assortment of bagles,ceral,muffins,tea and coffee ,juice ) to start you day . Oh did i mention the breakfast room with the large windows overlooking the Gale River . to the Private heated Pool. to the crystal clear Gale River just calling you to take off your shoes and wade in . realx and BBQ river side /poolside or enjoy and nice camp fire in the lawn in the evening . Why would you go anywhere else ?? True New England charm. If you want a private ,Quiet place to come with your family this is the place. Kids love the Gale River . Parents can sit back and watch them play in the clean , clear water . Safe enough for even the young ones and if your like me you will soon join them in the fun .

Room Tip: If you want a clean ,quiet ,safe place to bring your family . This is it . Pet friendly, Kid Friendl...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NHflyfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franconia
0.5 mi away
Best Western White Mountain Inn
10.7 mi away
Woodwards Resort & Inn
Woodwards Resort & Inn
#12 of 20 in Lincoln
623 reviews
5.2 mi away
Eastgate Inn
Eastgate Inn
#2 of 5 in Littleton
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
1.0 mi away
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge
Stonybrook Motel & Lodge
#4 of 5 in Franconia
276 reviews
2.0 mi away
Franconia Inn
Franconia Inn
#2 of 5 in Franconia
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillwinds Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillwinds Lodge

Address: 33 Dow Ave, Franconia, NH 03580-4915
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Franconia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Franconia
Price Range: £67 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hillwinds Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional New England family-owned and operated motel featuring clean, comfortable, affordable and friendly lodging in the White Mountain region of New Hampshire. Located on the banks of the tranquil Gale River, Hillwinds is located near all major seasonal attractions and is only three miles from Cannon Mountain and the Franconia Notch State Park, home of the Flume Gorge and great hilking opportunities. Rates include complimentary continental breakfast, in-room coffee and fridge, free wi-fi, and guest computer and lending library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hillwinds Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillwinds Hotel Franconia
Hillwinds Lodge Franconia, NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing