We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed Stay”
Review of Franconia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Franconia Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Franconia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2012

My wife, daughter and I stayed here for one night on October 9 on our tour of New England. I had cancelled a reservation elsewhere when I booked because I believed that the Inn had a lot of charm and the receptionist sounded very friendly on the phone. I was severly disappointed with our stay. First, there was no television, and when we arrived the receptionist was not overly friendly. We were glad to be placed on the first floor since our luggage was very heavy. The room was spacious, and had two queen beds, however there were some stains on the carpet and when you opened the bathrom door too far, you hit the pipes overhead. The room was clean, but the furnishings were outdated and the wallpaper was peeling in several locations, along with peeling paint on the window sills. The shower worked great and that is a positive, since the queen beds were not that comfortable. We had a full breakfast in the morning which was very good however, the service for breakfast was disappointing. The location of the hotel was definitely in the countryside, with very little for a tourist to see. There were only about two or three restaurants in the town, but none of these appealed to us. So we drove to another town to dine at Appleby's. Be careful crossing the street since that is where you have to park your car. We went downstairs to the bar area in the evening and there was aq nice fireplace, however once again the waitress was not overly friendly, nor did she seem to want any conversation. We would definitely not stay here again and it was probably the most disappointing stay of our trip since I had hoped for much nicer accommodations. The lodging rate for a one night stay was not considered a great value.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelerLaMirada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2012 via mobile

Just not my kind of place. Had to drag two suitcases up three flights of stairs to a small room with no tv, no a.c. and could hear the people next door in the bathroom. The area is jaw dropping gorgeous but I did n't see the chain in this place. Dining room was average with semi-surly wait staff. Would rather stay at a chain.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelarteest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Very nice location. Kind of vintage look and feeling, would be nice to see a renovation of the place, for example the water pipes.. you have to leave running the water for few seconds before it turns out clean.
The seating system at the main restaurant was a bit confusing; maybe they were short of personnel. Although, food is great as well as the views. There is a second option for food, a bar, nestled in the basement altogether with a bunch of entertaining features (quiet old too) but given there is no much to do at night in Franconia, it turns out ok.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank landscapechaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Picked this place at random from a local guidebook, and were glad we did. The Inn is slightly off the beaten track and not particularly well signposted but worth taking the time to find.

It really is a Country Inn, with a wide verandah overlooking the tennis courts and onto the hills. We used it as a stopover from Maine into Vermont and it proved to be a worthwhile choice.

We were given a choice of rooms, and after a quick look around them we chose a cosy double with en suite overlooking the front of the hotel.

We ate in the bar downstairs in front of a roaring fire and after a couple of beers enjoyed a comfortable nights sleep followed by an excellent breakfast before heading on.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

This is a lovely inn with an ideal location in the White Mountains. I was pleasantly surprised with the quality of the restaurant which was on a par with first-rate city restaurants. All in all, a lovely choice, especially during the fall foliage season.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank remlesotla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

This is the second time my husband and I have stayed here. It's a lovely inn in a beautiful location -- views of mountains and fields. Especially pretty during the fall colors. Positives: near easy and challenging hiking trails, tennis, bicycling, horseback riding, swimming in summer, downhill and x-country skiing in winter. Pretty sure you can't run out of activities for the outdoor active person. Very good restaurant. Clean simple rooms. Very friendly helpful staff. Negative (only one that I can think of): wafer thin walls between rooms -- yes, you can hear everything going on in the next door bathroom and room! Yikes! I had forgotten about this after our first visit, so clearly it wasn't a deal-breaker for us, but I wish the walls and floors had much better sound insulation. I would still recommend the inn because of the beautiful location and lovely staff and food, but bring your earplugs!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LabsTimesTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Honestly, I am not much for the typical B&B. We were however looking for a one night stay in the White Mountains over the Labor Day weekend and most properties were either booked or would not accept a one night stay. The Franconia Inn was more than happy to accommodate us.

We stayed in room 31 which is on the ground level and nicely sized (king bed, beautiful triple dresser, two full sized side chairs, full bath. Everyone at the Franconia Inn was incredibly pleasant.

Having 34 rooms (I think) they can and do offer more than most B&B properties. The had an outdoor pool, hot tub, bar & pub restaurant, dinning room with an excellent chef (breakfast and dinner were fantastic), library, tennis courts, walking trails, a small swimming area on the river, stables with horseback riding and more. I was sad that we were only staying one night.

There is a grass airstrip across the street and while we were there a group of gliders were in town. It was very neat to watch them catch thermals above the mountains.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Not sure of the other rooms but we enjoyed room 31. First floor, good sized.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MtnHiker54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franconia
2.4 mi away
Best Western White Mountain Inn
11.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
8 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#1 of 8 in Bethlehem
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Inn at Sunset Hill
Inn at Sunset Hill
#1 of 4 in Sugar Hill
176 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sugar Hill Inn
Sugar Hill Inn
#2 of 4 in Sugar Hill
393 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lovett's Inn
Lovett's Inn
#5 of 5 in Franconia
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franconia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franconia Inn

Address: 1172 Easton Road, Franconia, NH 03580
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Franconia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Franconia
Price Range: £107 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Franconia Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our lovely 3-story white clapboard, colonial-style Country Inn features 29 beautifully appointed, cozy guest rooms, 3 luxury suites, a living room, library, 2 dining rooms, a Rathskeller Lounge, and 2 spacious verandas. And Oh what a view! Feast your eyes on the White Mountain landscape in all of its resplendent beauty! The Franconia Inn has much to offer guests visiting the White Mountains. Whether you are seeking the enriching experience of hiking high on mountain peaks, to thrilling kayak adventures, skiing, scenic bike trails, horseback riding or memorable trips to popular attractions such as Clark's Trading Post, The Cog Railroad and more. You and your family will return home with memories to cherish for a lifetime. Each season has unique possibilities - many from right out our front door. At the end of the day The Inn beckons with relaxed, gourmet dining, an outdoor hot tub, movies, game room, or a nightcap in the Lounge. Whether your interests are antiquing in the area, scenic drives, active sports, family attractions or just sitting by the pool with a good book, we strive to help you make the most of your precious leisure time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Franconia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franconia Hotel Franconia
Franconia Inn NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing