We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So sad to leave!”
Review of Franconia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Franconia Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Franconia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2013

My husband and I spent 5 nights at the Franconia Inn and were so pleased! We has a spacious room with a King bed, close to the screened in back porch. Our room looked over the back of the inn and we could see the horses grazing if we were in the room in the afternoon. The Inn itself does show its age at times, but if we wanted to stay in a fancy upscale hotel, we would have. The Inn is everything it should be, the room's A/C was just fine and there was an extra fan in the closet that we used as well on the nights it was cool enough to turn the A/C off. The breakfast every morning was EXCELLENT (pancakes, french toast and eggs benedict to be specific!). So filling, we routinely just had a small mid afternoon snack and then came back for dinner at the Inn as well! Dinner goes late so we typically reserved dinner at 7:30/8pm. We had dinner at the Inn 4 times, and each meal was very good, at times could be salty - but that's just part of not eating your own home-cooked food. All the staff were also very nice and helpful. In the room we found a nice big book of things to do, how to get there, what to expect, ect.. very helpful and helped us plan a rainy day. The bed was actually one of the most comfortable B&B beds I've slept on, and the bathroom was very clean. If I had to think of ONE thing I would change, I'd say they need to get some new lighting for the bathroom - the lights made the room SO HOT we hardly ever turned them on! The Inn is located about 10 minutes from some great attractions - the flume gorge, the basin, old man historic site, and Cannon Mountain Aerial Tramway. Another 10 minutes south and you're in Lincoln where there is the visitor's center, Loon Mountain, Pemi Valley Moose Tours, and some yummy ice cream, not to mention you can get right on the Kancamagus Highway right from there! Next door is also a riding stable, and across the street is a small glider plane airport - never a bother with the noise, no worries there. The pool was also nice to relax in at night after an active day. I would love to come here again, but NH is so gorgeous we'll probably go explore another town next time!

Room Tip: The "spacious room" was fine for us, but not "spacious" in comparison to other p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nicole0603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

We only stayed 1 night here while we were passing through in order to visit Frost's place (which was right down the road). There was a comprehensive binder in the room that was loaded with neat information about the area and recommending things to do. The place was clean and the location was good. The restaurant was also pretty good. They have a neat lounge area in the basement near the pool to get a few drinks at. The pool was nice and heated. I would love to go back and stay a few days to check out the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irocz8292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The Franconia Inn exceeded our expectations as a base for a family gathering. We (the parents) shared a family suite (2 rooms with a connecting bathroom) with grandparents and our 9 year old daughter. The rooms were small and the bed was not super comfortable but that was greatly overshadowed by the expansiveness of the inn.

We began our long weekend having dinner outside with siblings and their children. The tavern menu had a pretty good range of pastas, sandwiches, burgers, etc. and the youngest children were free to run around the big backyard while waiting. There is a warm outdoor pool and hot tub too. My daughter and I were much more impressed by the absolutely glorious river swimming we found down a short path -- the inn offers access to a small sandy beach that we loved.

The inn's overall space is really welcoming -- a "movie room", game room, two living rooms, a screen porch and front porch meant that we could easily be comfortable outside of our bedroom. They offered coffee at 6:30am but it was usually ready even earlier, and reading on the front porch while the sun rose over the mountains was a fantastic way to start the day! We also really enjoyed the ease of the bountiful breakfast.

Franconia itself is a bit of paradise if you like the outdoors -- hiking and swimming holes took most of our time. Aside from a Garnet Hill outlet, it is not really a spot for shopping or nightlife. We would certainly go back.

Room Tip: We chose the family suite for the excellent value but my daughter explored the inn and says the sing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimandFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I came up for a spur of the moment hiking trip. I made the reservation through Booking.com and got a slightly cheaper rate in a "Cozy room" on the Daily plan (no meals included.) My room was indeed cozy, with a nice view of the back stairs. I didn't care. I wasn't planning on spending a lot of time in my room.

The owner was very nice and took some time to chat with me about my hiking plans, and offered some information about the trails I was planning.

I realized I hadn't left enough time for a sit down breakfast, and they were very nice about wrapping everything in a sandwich for me to take with me.

Sitting on the porch with a beer from the lounge and looking at the mountains was a great way to end the day.

They have free wifi, too. I have stayed here before and will continue to do so.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElleMeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

My husband decided to take me away for the week end, he also wanted a horse drawn sleigh ride! Well it coundn't have been more beautiful, the snow started falling when we started our ride, it was wonderful I wish it could have been longer, The Inn is very quaint exactly what you would want to find in NH. They had a wedding in the afternoon, everyone was enjoying themselves there was an air of happiness, We spent most of the night in the bar, food was great the chef was very accomadating, definetly would visit again. People were snow shoeing. Cross country sking, sleding and ice skating.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2zoezoe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Spent late June here for a couple days 2012. Did a Groupon which included horseback riding, dinner and breakfast. Fantastic deal ! The property was very quiet and relaxing other than the occasional plane from the business across the street. A nice trail to walk and river to get wet in if you so desire. Dinner and breakfast were yummy so no complaints there. Pool and bar were also very nice. We enjoyed the fact the room did not have a tv just to get away from it all.Never fear Wi Fi is available on the property. All in all had a wonderfull time and would recommend it to all.

Room Tip: May want to try to get a room towards the back so you dont hear the airplanes across the street as m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We stayed in Franconia Inn over 2013 MLK weekend. While our plan was to ski nearby Cannon Mountain, we chose this hotel for the restaurant and the family friendly amenities that they have on premises (ice skating, tube sledding, etc, cross country, etc...). We got a decent room that fit all four of us (2 adults, 2 young kids) but the quality of accommodations does not explain nearly $200 per night room charge.

The main issue was complete lack of sound isolation. To illustrate the point: When my son sneezed in the room, our next door neighbor, FROM HIS ROOM, was able to say "Bless You" faster than we did.

The second issue we had with the hotel was at check in. We were supposed to arrive between 1 and 2 am because we were driving from far away. We thought we pre-agreed with reception that we would be able to come in without a problem. We arrived to find locked doors and no ability to enter. It took a phone call to their night service and subsequent visit from the owner (nearly 45 min later) to let us in. The owner was super nice and apologetic, but nevertheless this was a problem.

On the bright side the restaurant is great both for breakfast and dinner and the tubes and ice skating rink are a lot of fun. The staff was nice and helpful, but unfortunately i do not think we will be coming back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgorelik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franconia
2.4 mi away
Best Western White Mountain Inn
6.3 mi away
Arlington Hotel
Arlington Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bethlehem
142 reviews
11.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#1 of 8 in Bethlehem
566 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hillwinds Lodge
Hillwinds Lodge
#3 of 5 in Franconia
182 reviews
2.0 mi away
Inn at Sunset Hill
Inn at Sunset Hill
#1 of 4 in Sugar Hill
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franconia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franconia Inn

Address: 1172 Easton Road, Franconia, NH 03580
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Franconia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Franconia
Price Range: £105 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Franconia Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our lovely 3-story white clapboard, colonial-style Country Inn features 29 beautifully appointed, cozy guest rooms, 3 luxury suites, a living room, library, 2 dining rooms, a Rathskeller Lounge, and 2 spacious verandas. And Oh what a view! Feast your eyes on the White Mountain landscape in all of its resplendent beauty! The Franconia Inn has much to offer guests visiting the White Mountains. Whether you are seeking the enriching experience of hiking high on mountain peaks, to thrilling kayak adventures, skiing, scenic bike trails, horseback riding or memorable trips to popular attractions such as Clark's Trading Post, The Cog Railroad and more. You and your family will return home with memories to cherish for a lifetime. Each season has unique possibilities - many from right out our front door. At the end of the day The Inn beckons with relaxed, gourmet dining, an outdoor hot tub, movies, game room, or a nightcap in the Lounge. Whether your interests are antiquing in the area, scenic drives, active sports, family attractions or just sitting by the pool with a good book, we strive to help you make the most of your precious leisure time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Franconia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franconia Hotel Franconia
Franconia Inn NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing