We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cute!”
Review of Franconia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Franconia Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Franconia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My boyfriend and I spent two days at the Franconia Inn in the middle of winter, and it was a really lovely little vacation.

Pros: Everyone at the inn was very friendly and helpful. The restaurant was surprisingly good for being so isolated! The inn has a LOT of different things to do -- they have an outdoor hot tub (fantastic in the cold winter mountain air), game room, etc. There were even bikes you could take out and ride around in the vicinity, including a tandem bike!! The environs are gorgeous. Clean air, great views, and easy hikes are right in the vicinity. Unfortunately, there wasn't so much snow on the ground when we were there, but we were told that the skiing is very good as well.

Cons: The rooms could bear to be updated a little bit and the heating system is pretty loud (clanking radiators).

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Ariel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

Well maintained inn with warm reception. Welcoming fire, apples, and smile. Bar opens at ~5 and barkeep had hot fire going. Dinner and breakfast were above average and exceeded what I expected for such a quiet locale. Will hope to visit again.
TWest

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank dartmouth77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Nice old building and decor, though room was tiny. Breakfast was delicious. Dinner of pulled pork sandwich in "pub" was also wonderful. Helpful front desk staff and great staff in dining room. 2 mi from town of Franconia. Parking across the road, not adjacent to building. No info re use of in- room "radiators", so a bit cold at night. Nice fire downstairs in lounge area.

Room Tip: Don't know if other rooms had much more space, but imagine that another $100 would buy some.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sillygranma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed one night when we enjoy the Franconia notch area in White Mountain. It is typical New England Inn. Room is small. Bathroom functions. Shower is shabby. Even in May, after rain, the evening hour can be a bit chilly, especially you were hiking in light rain, and your shoes and socks are wet. The heating is sporadic, not constantly on. Don't expect anything luxury, or comfy. It is just a place to spend the night.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WorldTravellerEnjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stopped here for a night on our way from Quebec to Hanover, NH. I was sorry that it was only for one night. The area is stunningly beautiful and there is so much to do between hiking, biking and horseback riding. We squeezed in two of the three activities. The hotel also has a nice pool which was very refreshing after a long bike ride. Also, there was a really neat pub with good "pub crub" in the basement. We missed breakfast to go horseback riding Inot included) next door.
I would love to get back to this region to do more hiking and biking. Super area and facility.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rangersfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The Franconia Inn was definitely an old school family vacation. From horseback riding to the clay tennis courts, our family thoroughly enjoyed our time there. The lack of televisions in the guest rooms in our mind was a huge plus. It allowed us to take advantage of all the inn had to offer. There is a great library on the first floor, a game room in the basement complete with pinball, ping pong & foozball and some of the obligatory video games. There was a mini theater with a large screen television adjacent to the pub. The inn's pool & hot tub were nicely situated & very well maintained. For us, horseback riding was the highlight of our time there, the inn's hundred plus acres are truly beautiful. The included breakfast was an incredible value, delicious & served by friendly & thoughtful staff. The pub & restaurant were both very nice. The inn itself is everything you would expect from a classic New England inn and incredibly well cared for. The only downside of the inn for us were some of the front desk staff who with one exception were discourteous & gruff & surprisingly unhelpful. One guest asked how to get to the porch around back & he was told, "go around back". In contrast, housekeeping & the dining room staff could not have been more pleasant or helpful. All in all, it was a beautiful location & a great family vacation.

Room Tip: The Inn's website has pictures of the individual rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cote_a_cote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

stayed with wife and family of 4 3 nites in aug 13 great breakfast fresh food and good service neardined 2 nites in main room graet well prepared food good service grounds are well keptal all attractions are close to hotel will go back in fall for leaf season nice owner

Room Tip: 2nd floor for seniors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richard m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franconia
2.4 mi away
Best Western White Mountain Inn
16.1 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,672 reviews
2.0 mi away
Inn at Sunset Hill
Inn at Sunset Hill
#1 of 4 in Sugar Hill
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sugar Hill Inn
Sugar Hill Inn
#2 of 4 in Sugar Hill
385 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hillwinds Lodge
Hillwinds Lodge
#3 of 5 in Franconia
181 reviews
8.0 mi away
Bear Mountain Lodge
Bear Mountain Lodge
#1 of 8 in Bethlehem
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franconia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franconia Inn

Address: 1172 Easton Road, Franconia, NH 03580
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Franconia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Franconia
Price Range: £114 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Franconia Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our lovely 3-story white clapboard, colonial-style Country Inn features 29 beautifully appointed, cozy guest rooms, 3 luxury suites, a living room, library, 2 dining rooms, a Rathskeller Lounge, and 2 spacious verandas. And Oh what a view! Feast your eyes on the White Mountain landscape in all of its resplendent beauty! The Franconia Inn has much to offer guests visiting the White Mountains. Whether you are seeking the enriching experience of hiking high on mountain peaks, to thrilling kayak adventures, skiing, scenic bike trails, horseback riding or memorable trips to popular attractions such as Clark's Trading Post, The Cog Railroad and more. You and your family will return home with memories to cherish for a lifetime. Each season has unique possibilities - many from right out our front door. At the end of the day The Inn beckons with relaxed, gourmet dining, an outdoor hot tub, movies, game room, or a nightcap in the Lounge. Whether your interests are antiquing in the area, scenic drives, active sports, family attractions or just sitting by the pool with a good book, we strive to help you make the most of your precious leisure time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Franconia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franconia Hotel Franconia
Franconia Inn NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing