We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getaway”
Review of Franconia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Franconia Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 Franconia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Getaway”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

It was a wonderful old Fashioned Inn with Rocking chairs on porch etc. We had a great pkg with a full country breakfast and a 5 course dinner in the evening. Peaceful surroundings and beautiful country. We had a cozy room with this package. It was quite small. Infortunatley the AC was directed right on the bed, which was uncomfortable. I wish I Picked another room.

Room Tip: Check out the rooms prior to staying in one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    70
    23
    6
    11
See reviews for
45
121
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We rented two bedrooms over the weekend of June 13-15 2014 with some friends at the Franconia Inn and had a wonderful experience. We had a great package which included breakfast for the first morning and breakfast and a 4 course dinner for the following night. The Inn is well kept and very peaceful. The service at the restaurant and the food was simply delicious.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francois_T_Montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clarkston, Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed at the Franconia Inn on a fall color trip out east, and it was just what we had in mind. I had been to the Franconia with friends over 20 years ago and remembered it as the perfect New England setting - mountains in the background, a cozy fire in the lobby, great food in the dining room, antiques and creaky floors. But I was much younger then, what did I know? My husband was sure it would be an exaggeration of my memory. Well, as it turned out my first impression was pretty accurate. The fire in the lobby is still cozy, the mountains are beautiful in the fall, the floor is still creaky and the food is still fabulous. This time I also was impressed by the staff. We had the same waitress for dinner one night and breakfast the next morning, and she was so friendly and charming we felt right at home. In fact later in the trip at a high-end resort, we agreed that for all the splendor of the setting, the staff and the food were not nearly as good as the Franconia's. Next time we'll skip the resort and spend another night there. Our only complaint would be that our mattress was on the lumpy side. It's an old Inn, so of course the rooms are small and the plumbing is old, but the mattresses should be from this century.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LLB56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed here on a recent Sunday and Monday night on the MAP plan that included breakfast and dinner. It was quite busy with people checking out on Sunday morning but we were able to get cross-country ski passes and start skiing while they worked on our room. I had low expectations as I had read some not-so-flattering reviews. But our room was cozy as advertised which meant it was small but comfortable. The food was fresh and the menu creative. I am vegetarian so there was only one option for entrees but the chef kindly made me some wonderful artichoke ravioli the second night of our stay. My only compliant with the food was that breakfast did not begin until 8 am. I like to get out early to ski was that was rather late. The second morning we went to Wendle's Deli and had a great time with the locals. The staff was top notch and the inn was very clean. But this is not a place for everyone. There are no TVs in the rooms (I would have liked to watch the Olympics) and nothing to do at night during the week. The dining room is not really kid friendly. There were no young kids when we were here this time but I have been in the dining room with small children and it is not pleasant for other diners. There were about 6 couples staying during our stay and we were pretty spread out in the inn. If it had been crowded I would imagine it could get noisy with slamming doors and such. Oddly, my closet smelled of garlic from the kitchen, but quirky things like that do not bother me. I would stay here again during the week but not do the meal plan. I really liked going into town. I would probably eat dinner here one night though as the food is wonderful. Overall, I thought it was a good value. Oh yes, and the water pressure is nothing great but I took baths to solve that problem.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed here this weekend and was disappointed that 2 of the most important things were not good. The bed was hard as a rock and there was no water pressure ... and I mean none. It was a trickle, at best.

For the price of $190 a night, I expect a plush mattress and good shower. Not worth the price. I've stayed in Boston for less and got far more.

The Pro's:
*location is great for skiing and the drive up is absolutely stunning;
*the staff are very attentive, very warm and welcoming;
*it was quiet and the fireplace areas are cozy;
*the food was very good;
*we had the "spacious" room which was plenty big;
*the pub is downstairs and has great ambiance; beautiful fireplace area;
*game and TV rooms were fun.

The Con's:
*the bed was rock hard;
*there was no water pressure at all ... the shower was a trickle;
*there is not a lot to do if you're skiing or snowmobiling;
*the breakfast that's included was poor - cold omelette and pancakes, old fruit on the buffet;
*our server at breakfast was not good - I think she was hungover;
*the chairs in our room were fit for a 5 year old; not comfortable for sitting and lounging in
your room.

I wouldn't go back for the price I paid. This is not a $200 a night inn. If it were $99-$125 then it's worth it.

Room Tip: Get a "spacious" room at a minimum otherwise you'll be in a closet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BettyRoxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard M, Owner at Franconia Inn, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
I am very sorry that you had to deal with our very, very poor water pressure this winter. We could not figure out what was going on for several weeks. The problem was inconsistent, we thought that our snow making system on our sledding hill was using too much water and therefore causing the drop in water pressure, so we stopped making snow on weekends, but then the problem came back. The problem is now solved, we can make unlimited snow and you will still have 65 lbs of water pressure. Again I am very sorry that you had to deal with poor water pressure and we would like to compensate you, and we will compensate any of our guests who also experienced this in January. Just contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Two friends and I visited the Franconia Inn for breakfast. It was a quiet winter morning, but the dining room was bright and inviting, there was a fire started in the living room nearby. The inn keeper greeted us warmly and even served our breakfast since that morning was fairly slow. The breakfast food here cannot be beat!! The food and service are go above and beyond average B&B expectations. Waffles were piled with strawberries and cream, and I'd highly recommend the eggs benedict. The Franconia Inn is a great place for a cozy New Hampshire escape, and the dining room is worth a trip no matter where you stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maggie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
186 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

I have to laugh about this. We booked a package at the Franconia Inn, because we thought we had stayed there before and enjoyed it. When we arrived, I realized we had never stayed here. I had the Franconia Inn confused with the Loveitt's Inn which is also in Franconia. I was surprised by my mistake and regretted it at first, but in the end we had a nice stay at the Franconia Inn!

Our room was adequate. We enjoyed sitting in the living room on the first floor playing cards by the fire.

The restaurant is very nice. We had breakfast and dinner there every day. The menu is great and everything was perfectly prepared. We also liked the waitstaff.

I only wish there had been more snow when we were there so that we could have gone snowshoeing!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Deborah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Franconia
2.4 mi away
Best Western White Mountain Inn
9.1 mi away
Woodwards Resort & Inn
Woodwards Resort & Inn
#11 of 20 in Lincoln
602 reviews
11.4 mi away
Village Of Loon Mountain
Village Of Loon Mountain
#10 of 20 in Lincoln
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lincoln East - White Mountains
2.0 mi away
Inn at Sunset Hill
Inn at Sunset Hill
#1 of 4 in Sugar Hill
149 reviews
16.1 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franconia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franconia Inn

Property: Franconia Inn
Address: 1172 Easton Road, Franconia, NH 03580
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Franconia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Franconia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Franconia Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our lovely 3-story white clapboard, colonial-style Country Inn features 29 beautifully appointed, cozy guest rooms, 3 luxury suites, a living room, library, 2 dining rooms, a Rathskeller Lounge, and 2 spacious verandas. And Oh what a view! Feast your eyes on the White Mountain landscape in all of its resplendent beauty! The Franconia Inn has much to offer guests visiting the White Mountains. Whether you are seeking the enriching experience of hiking high on mountain peaks, to thrilling kayak adventures, skiing, scenic bike trails, horseback riding or memorable trips to popular attractions such as Clark's Trading Post, The Cog Railroad and more. You and your family will return home with memories to cherish for a lifetime. Each season has unique possibilities - many from right out our front door. At the end of the day The Inn beckons with relaxed, gourmet dining, an outdoor hot tub, movies, game room, or a nightcap in the Lounge. Whether your interests are antiquing in the area, scenic drives, active sports, family attractions or just sitting by the pool with a good book, we strive to help you make the most of your precious leisure time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Franconia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franconia Hotel Franconia
Franconia Inn NH - White Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing