We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau de Roussac

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau de Roussac
Ranked #1 of 1 Roussac B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jordan Station
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“excellent retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

This charming B&B has just opened this year and the hosts, Steve and Jean have done a wonderful job of providing all modern conveniences with French country charm. The breakfasts and dinners were superb, Steve is really an excellent chef (even if he is English) and will accommodate all dietary restrictions. The limited wine list isn't too shabby either

Room Tip: 2 suites and 1 grand suite, all with at least 1 level of stairs to climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
81
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
londn
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

We found Chateau de Roussac by chance and how lucky were we!
Steve and Jean have put the most incredible amount of effort into making their home a simply wonderful place to stay. The Chateau from the outside is beautifully understated. From the ivy winding its way up to the top of the towers, to the lavender garden tucked away behind a wrought iron gate.
Then we move inside to possibly the most sumptuous Chateau we have ever stayed in. Our huge suite was stunning and I could have spent hours in tower bathroom alone!
Steve and Jean are so relaxed and friendly. There is understandable pride in their hard work but there was no suggestion whatsoever of 'look but don't touch' which can so often be the case!

We were treated to a mouthwatering meal, prepared by Steve with great care and attention to detail, washed down with some excellent wine. We didn't have much room left for the home made breakfast the following morning but willingly obliged non the less...delicious!
A fantastic stopover & we wish them all the success they really do deserve.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joetaylor3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Accomodation and facilties have been tastefully restored to a very high standard with a great artistic flare. Steve and Jean made us feel like family and prepared exquisite meals. The Chateau, is a dream and a wonderful place to spend time and collect yourself. Its not everyday one gets to eat in a 12th centruy dinningroom or have a drink in a lounge with a 6 foot fire place that leads out to a simple terrace over looking the grounds. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

Well where to start, This place is unbelievable, an amazing Château set in the most breathtaking surroundings.

We stayed here for 5 days and can honestly say its the best place i have ever stayed in and we have been all over the world. The welcome we received From Steve & Jean was first class and they couldn't of been more helpful. The food is out of this world you can also chose if you want to eat in the stunning dinning room or to sit in the beautiful gardens, Steve & Jean made this possible for us nothing was to much trouble.

The rooms are immaculate with bedding, towels & dressing gowns that are hard to get out of their so comfy. There is also an amazing library where you can chose a book to read in a gorgeous chilled room which opens on to yet another amazing garde.

Gorgeous for walkers as the surrounding are just stunning. Cant phrase this hotel enough a pure delight and we are definitely going to return.

FOOD 5* WINE 5*

Thank you for making our holiday so lovely.

xx

Room Tip: The De Moncour Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ieper (Ypres), Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed for 1 evening/night at Chateau Roussac on our way back to Belgium. We actually found the chateau by accident.

It's a most marvellous place to stay, the suites are very large and beautiful. All details fit perfectly.
If you don't come to rest here, you'll come to rest nowhere.

Dining in the garden under the bow is an excellent expierence and the way the guests are treated: aways at hand immediately and with first-class hospitality.

Be sure of this: this is not your everyday bed&breakfast, this is a treat.

We'll be back, for sure

Room Tip: They're just all perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HenkDerudder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We were really impressed with our stay at Chateau Roussac. We stayed one night at this lovely Chateau. We were greeted by Steve and Jean and made to feel so welcome. Jean showed us to the Pelligrini Suite which is sumptuously decorated and everything is finished to such a high standard. There are lovely little 'snugs' - rooms where one can cosy in a enjoy a glass. The Chateau is beautifully furnished with interesting antiques,object d'art, paintings and pictures and the garden is a really relaxing place with a raised bed full of lavender. We watched a Little Owl hop across the lawn before flying up to rejoin its mum. The weather was perfect and Steve and Jean let us choose where we would like to have our meal. We sat outside and had our meal cooked by Steve- the menu was really well thought out and was Delicious! We understand that this newly opened Chambre d'Hote has been six years in the making and Steve and Jean have obviously worked so hard to get the hotel to such a high standard. We were so impressed not only by our surroundings but by Jean and Steve who's attention to detail was faultless and who made us feel so at home and nothing was too much trouble. We shall definitely be going back. I've believe they will also be doing cream teas and that will will be worth going back for also if the dinner was anything to go by!!

Room Tip: All the suites are beautiful so you won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BINKIBLUE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jean m, Owner at Chateau de Roussac, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review it was wonderful to have you as our guests at Chateau de Roussac
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed here for just two nights and wished we could have stayed longer. The chateau is beautiful with every attention to detail covered. The hosts were so accommodating and we could not fault the food. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martini-duo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roussac
14.8 mi away
Novotel Limoges Le Lac
Novotel Limoges Le Lac
#4 of 43 in Limoges
4.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
17.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Richelieu
17.3 mi away
L'Azur Hotel Restaurant
L'Azur Hotel Restaurant
#1 of 3 in Saint Junien
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Chateau de Corrige
Chateau de Corrige
#1 of 1 in Chamboret
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
3.7 mi away
Paul's Barn in France
Paul's Barn in France
#1 of 1 in Villechenoux
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
7.3 mi away
La Flambee
La Flambee
#1 of 3 in Blond
5.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Roussac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Roussac

Property: Chateau de Roussac
Address: 8 rue de Chez Galeix, 87140 Roussac, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Haute-Vienne > Roussac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Roussac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau de Roussac sits in the quiet village of Roussac, in the Haute Vienne and is yet only 30 minutes from the hustle and bustle of Limoges city centre. The romantic chateau's 3 en-suite rooms are decorated in a contemporary style that complements and enriches the history and character of the chateau. Walk through the large wooden gates, and you are greeted by our original granite cobbled courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chateau de Roussac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing