We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, dated, one bedrooms location stink”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Misty Harbor and Barefoot Beach Resort
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Gilford
atlanta, ga
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Old, dated, one bedrooms location stink”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Old. Dated. Expensive for what you get, and old 1 bedroom condo.

The one bedrooms are across the street from the lake. You have to cross an extremely busy road.

Indoor pool was so over chlorinated my eyes are still burning from it.

Outdoor pool was freezing.

Room Tip: Choose a lakeside 2 bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmf1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    22
    14
    14
    23
See reviews for
29
22
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carver, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
92 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed for a couple of nights in a 2 bedroom with lake side views. The place was neat, clean and tidy. The kitchen was small but perfect for cooking breakfast and light meals. The beach was always taken care of. You had to get to the beach front early in order to get chairs. The views were stunning of the mountains and Lake Winnipesaukee. The kids had a blast visiting Weirs Beach. So much to do. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: For a family of four, definitely rent a two bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pebbles1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor Locks, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Our stay at Misty Harbor was very disappointing. The first room we were assigned to had a nasty musty order. We were assigned to another room which was better but still had a funky odor. The motel units are on the first floor of the buildings which limits air flow and sunlight.
While the staff was accommodating and apologetic, and we did receive a partial refund, we would not return and would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Gilford hotels

Northborough, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed in a 2-bedroom suite and were disappointed by the lack of what we assumed would be included amenities to our room. There was no internet connection, our "fully appointed kitchen" did not have baking pans or oven mitts (we had to use our winter gloves), we ran out of hot water on our third shower (there were 5 of us) and the deadbolt on the door did not work. I assume the management knew about this, given that there was a small piece of wood carved out of the door frame, but still the deadbolt did not fit into the opening. The locker rooms by the indoor pool (a main reason we chose to stay here), were so disgusting that my school-aged children did not want to change in them. Lastly, the 2-room suite is actually a one bedroom and a living room with a divider. You can pull the divider to close off the 2nd bedroom -- you're not actually getting a true 2-bedroom suite. The staff is friendly and the view of Winnipesaukee is nice, but for the money, you can do much better in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LF3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

First i have to say i was afraid with all the bad reviews this place had but for a family with small children it was okay. We rented a 1 bedroom suite with a whirlpool tub (for us hard-working parents) it was huge! i was expecting those crappy little bathtubs with jets but this was a surprise. Usually when you want a place with an in-room spa you have to rent a second room for the kids but this place was big enough. Also was surprised we had a full kitchen as well. this allowed us to wake up a little late and make our own breakfast instead of the usual foraging out into a strange lobby for the "continental" breakfast at most hotels. The bed was okay even though it was a murphy bed and the pull-out couch was acceptable for kids. These rooms are more like condos and are individually owned. We stayed in unit 122 which was decent. The tv wasnt great but who goes away to sit and watch tv. Our room did have a balcony facing the swings so we could watch the kids playing. The indoor pool was one of the cleanest pools i have ever seen and the changing rooms were immaculate. The staff at the front desk were very friendly and let us know they offered free coffee,cocoa, and tea as long as the lobby was open. This place was very quiet for being located on the main road. There is a beach across the street with larger units and even though it was cold we went for a walk. This place is perfect if you want to get away with the kids and not feel the "stale" hotel room feel after going to a cookie cutter hotel chain.

Room Tip: Rooms in back building were next to swings and forest
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAMABEAR919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed in one of their "motel" units which was very large, but lacking in comfortable lounge seating (i.e. easy chairs and/or sofa). The unit was clean and had a mini refrig. (temp. control knob was broken so everything we placed in the refrig. froze) and microwave oven. There was a table and two wooden kitchen chairs (the only seating in the unit). Beds were comfortable. A very quiet place during the off season.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, ME
1 review
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed for two days in the main building in a 1 Bedroom Suite, not the motel units. The staff was friendly and helpful, and it is a great location esp. if you are going to an event at Meadowbrook.
This room had a fully equipped kitchen with very old appliances and an ancient air conditioner. Surprisingly, everything worked okay.
The windows facing the parking lot had old vertical blinds, no drapes - you won't need a night light! Another surprise, the bedroom had a Murphy bed, very old and uncomfortable - no bed side tables possible, so no lamps beside the bed.
The room is divided by accordion doors. In the living area there was one outdoor wicker chair, a tiny tv, and a queen size sofa bed.
The bathroom was very dark and the shower and sink did not drain well. Serious updating is needed to justify the price. ... a Murphy bed???!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enricacia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gilford
3.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Laconia Gilford
9.7 mi away
The Wolfeboro Inn
The Wolfeboro Inn
#3 of 6 in Wolfeboro
319 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Landmark Inn
The Landmark Inn
#13 of 13 in Laconia
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites at Lake Winnipesaukee
2.2 mi away
The Margate Resort
The Margate Resort
#3 of 13 in Laconia
712 reviews
1.6 mi away
Belknap Point Motel
Belknap Point Motel
#3 of 6 in Gilford
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Misty Harbor and Barefoot Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Harbor and Barefoot Beach Resort

Property: Misty Harbor and Barefoot Beach Resort
Address: 118 Weirs Rd, PO Box 7362, Gilford, NH 03249-6663
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Gilford
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Gilford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Misty Harbor and Barefoot Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Misty Harbor and Barefoot Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misty Harbor And Barefoot Beach Hotel Gilford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing