We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It you want good fried seafood..............” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sawyers

Sawyers
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Gilford
Cuisines: American, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Norwood, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“It you want good fried seafood..............”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

All you have to do is look at the parking lot of Sawyer's on a summer evening and you can tell its good by the number of cars in the parking lot. Now we all know that deep fried food isn't the healthiest thing in the world, but darn its good! At Sawyer's you'll get some of the best New England fried seafood you ever had and lots of it. No frills here nothing fancy. Order your food. Find a seat at a picnic table to eat or take it home and enjoy.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank carl c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
litchNH, Owner at Sawyers, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you for recommending Sawyer's. We make every effort to go the extra mile. Hearing from happy customers always helps us to know we are doing some things right (most of the time)!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    60
    15
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Belmont, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
119 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“seasonal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

this reminds me of the olden times of finding a quick stop family fun place great ice cream outside seating cozy inside it has the old time flavor great for family passing thru the area there is a motel down the road called silver sands /POOL great for familys

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Dairy Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

This is a very nice place and reminiscent of the dairy bars pre chain style ice cream or fast food places. Have been coming here for years and the food is consistently excellent as is their own home made ice cream. There is plenty of indoor and outdoor seating. It's usually very busy, but don't let that deter you. They run an efficient operation and the turn over is quite fast. You won't be waiting long and the food is well worth the short wait.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tonyinmanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
60 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The icecream has dye in it and not much flavor.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

I did not ever think that I wouldn't like ice cream but this place has yuck ice cream. The vanilla is just frozen milk without any taste of vanilla. The flavored ice creams have unhealthy dye in them and not color from natural flavors. Breyers ice cream is better tasting. I had a cupcake sundae and the cupcake was from a cake mix. It tasted terrible. My boyfriend had a banana split but could not eat it. The worst part was that it was $15. for both and we threw them away. It was sad to see parents feeding their children dyed ice cream that turned their little tongues and mouths colors. The sign said that the ice cream is made there and they can keep it. Never again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Smax1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
litchNH, Owner at Sawyers, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
Thank you for your not so complimentary comments! We appreciate all comments both good and bad. Good comments make us feel good. Bad ones help us maintain the standards that our customers have been enjoying for 68 summers of continuous operation.


FYI our ice cream is not "yuk" as you describe! Our vanilla ice cream, as well as all of our ice cream, is made here on premises using only the finest of ingredients. Specifically, our vanilla base contains 15% butterfat which is far from the "frozen milk" you suggest. We use only Madagascar Vanilla Bean (MVB) as opposed to commercial grades of vanilla. You may know that MVB is one of the "tastiest and strongest" of all vanilla beans.

We take serious issue with your comment that we add "dye" to our ice cream. Since you have never visited us when making ice cream your accusatory comment is far from subjective and we are surprised that TripAdvisor would allow it to be published!

Regarding your comment about the price, be reminded that there is a 9% sales tax in NH. The price of what you said you purchased is 13.00 without tax which is locally competitive.

Our banana splits are very large and I can tell you we sell hundreds of them weekly. I cannot recall the last time we had a complaint about them other than "too much to eat"! Regarding the cupcake, we want you to know that beyond Labor Day Weekend we are only open 10 days until we close for the season. Because of this, they were indeed "out of the box". Our apologies!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, NH
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Roadside Dairy Bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stopped here on our way to the coast. It was a great place for lunch and an ice cream.

The layout is self-serve – the dining room is quite large with mostly booths. There is seating indoors and outdoors.

The menu is large with kid’s options too. Plenty of good lunch type food for us to select from. It was easy to pace an order with the younger friendly staff. They are quite helpful on menu suggestions as well as driving directions. All seem like good local kids.

The food came pretty fast even though they were somewhat busy. The food was hot and the portions were large. We ate outside at a picnic table under a tree. It was nice.

They also have great homemade ice cream. They had great flavors, good sized portions and reasonable prices all again.

This is a great place to stop and enjoy lunch if you are in the Lake Region of New Hampshire. They have a great location at the crossroads of major roads, easy to get in and out. If we lived closer we would make this a regular place to visit for food and ice cream.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vspiotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Sawyers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing