We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and needs upgrading”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Belknap Point Motel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Gilford
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
102 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Old and needs upgrading”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Who ever wrote these reviews must have been relatives!
Don't stay here! A/c's are old and don't perform very well.
Bathroom is so small you can't change your mind.
Not even a coffee pot, never mind a mircrowave.
Good view though over looking Lake Winnipesaukee.

Room Tip: Over priced!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cchrunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPMGilfordNH, Owner at Belknap Point Motel, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Let's let TA readers decide the authors of the 40+ reviews posted.
The guest stayed in our room 20 which has an air conditioner that is 4 years old with remote control etc. All our motel rooms have the same vintage AC's. The guest stayed on Thursday July 18th which happened to be in the middle of a record breaking heat wave.
As for the coffee pot and microwave, our motel rooms do not have them. We have efficiency units on the waterfront with kitchen facilities including coffee pots and microwaves.
We are always saddened when a customer is not happy, particularly when we hear about later on TA and not while the guest is staying here which in some cases adjustments can be made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    19
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
20
55
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We just returned from the Belknap Point Motel, and had a great five days there. We have been coming every year for over ten years. This place is a true gem. The property consists of two buildings, one on the hill with motel rooms , and one directly on the lake with small efficiencies.We stayed in the motel room our first stay, but discovered the lakeside building, and have been staying there ever since.
Both buildings have panoramic views of Lake Winnipesaukee, but the one on the lake couldn't be any closer to the lake - parts of the building are literally over the lake. Listening to the sound of the waves lapping against the sea wall ten feet away is so relaxing! These efficiency rooms are small, but have everything you could want - small kitchen area with full fridge, 2 burner cook-top, microwave, toaster, sink, and dishes/silverware/cooking utensils. The rooms have a covered patio right outside where you can sit right outside your room and take in the beautiful views of the lake and the mountains beyond. The buildings are on the older side, but are well kept up, and fit in with the rustic atmosphere on the lake. The property is beautiful, and has a small beach area for sunbathing and swimming and is equipped with several sets of lounge chairs. There are a few dock spaces available for rent. The property is in the town of Gilford, and is a very short ride to Weirs Beach, Laconia, and Meredith. There are tons of attractions in the Lakes region to visit. There are several great restaurants within a few miles. If you like to walk like we do, the road the lake front property is on runs a few miles right along the lake - its a favorite for local joggers, walkers, and bicyclists. The owners of the property are very friendly and accommodating. This is a family owned and run operation- they do all the cleaning and majority of the property maintenance.The owners always have great recommendations for restaurants or other entertainment, and are all around great people.
Every time we visit, it feels like we are visiting with old friends, and don't want to leave. We look forward to going back there next July.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I grew up summering on the lake starting in 1965 at my grandparents cottage. After they passed, the property was sold. I had so many wonderful memories of the lake, I wanted to find a place to stay that could come as close as possible to what I experienced as a child. I found it at the Belknap. I first stayed there right after Harry and Elaine bought it in 1995. They are wonderful people and the only place I found where you can stay 20 feet from the lake. It is just down the street from my grandparents property and around the corner from Fay's boatyard where you can rent a boat (my family has known the Fay's for almost 100 years and they are the BEST). The ONLY way you can truly experience the lake is by boat. You can rent a slip at the Belknap (good luck trying to find a place to keep a boat on the lake in the summer). The experiences I have enjoyed on the lake for almost 50 years have continued by staying at the Belknap.

Room Tip: Be sure to get an efficiency unit down by the lake. Costs a little extra - worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Harry and Elaine, owners of BPM, have welcomed me with open arms for nearly a dozen years. The views are truly incredible. Every time I visit I feel like Im at home and never want to leave. If you wish to experience a quiet, relaxing, affordable weekend on the lake this is the place you need to stay.

Room Tip: Harry and Elaine are great people. Very accommodating. If you need anything, don't hesitate to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

10th year in a row staying here on a fishing trip with my son.Can't get enough-the hosts,the view,the accomadations,the relaxation and the value-try $15 a night to dock my boat for starters.My room is on water-literally.Highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2013

As a long time visitor to Belknap Point Motel I can say this... We, and others who have traveled with us, have ALWAYS been treated with courtesy and respect... The only thing that has ever disappointed us when staying at Belknap Point was the weather... which we all know you can't do anything about... otherwise Harry and Elaine have, on many occasions, met or exceeded all our request or special needs... Unlike many motels that are run by corporations, Belknap Point is family owned and as such, extend that feeling in the manner of which treat their guest... A big thumbs up for Belknap Point Motel...

Room Tip: If you wish to stay directly on the water and/or have an efficiency unit make sure you make that req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffield, Connecticut, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

My husband and I visit Belknap Point Motel every year at least once or twice. We love it there. It is the best view on the lake. We enjoy staying at one of the efficiency units that are right on the water. The rooms are comfortable with a small kitchens and you are so close to the lake that you can hear the water lapping on the rocks. Its peaceful and quiet and Harry and Elaine the owners are great hosts. We enjoy sitting on the beach looking at the beautiful view of the Ossipee Mountain Range and on clear days Mt. Washington. Its a great place to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gilford
4.8 mi away
TownePlace Suites Laconia Gilford
8.2 mi away
The Wolfeboro Inn
The Wolfeboro Inn
#3 of 6 in Wolfeboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Tilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites at Lake Winnipesaukee
3.7 mi away
The Margate Resort
The Margate Resort
#3 of 13 in Laconia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
2.1 mi away
Gunstock Inn & Resort
Gunstock Inn & Resort
#2 of 3 in Gilford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belknap Point Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belknap Point Motel

Property: Belknap Point Motel
Address: 107 Belknap Point Rd, Gilford, NH 03249-7608
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Gilford
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Gilford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Belknap Point Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the west shore of Lake Winnipesaukee in the heart of the Lakes Region. Wonderful views of the lake and mountains. Swim, boat and fish our waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Belknap Point Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belknap Point Hotel Gilford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing