We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Belknap Point Motel best lodging in the Lakes Region” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belknap Point Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Belknap Point Motel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Gilford
Northeast U.S.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Belknap Point Motel best lodging in the Lakes Region”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2009

I've stayed at several motels in the Laconia/Lakes Region, and the Belknap Point Motel is the best one I could find. I've stayed there for a week every summer for the past five years, and owners Harry and Elaine Blinn always make me feel welcome; like old friends who I haven't seen in a while. They take care of housekeeping and other duties themselves, so the rooms and property are always neat and tidy. My hosts go out of their way to make sure my experience there exceeds my expectations.

The first time I stayed there, I was in a motel room on the hill. The room was very clean and nicely decorated, and the rooms have balconies overlooking Lake Winnipesaukee. The next year, I wanted to stay closer to the lake, so I chose an efficiency directly on the lakeshore. The efficiency rooms have everything I need to create a home for a week, with a refrigerator, stove, and all cookware, dinnerware, and utensils provided (I often prepare meals in the room, although there are good restaurants in the area). There are even a few units with separate living and sleeping areas.

There's nothing like coming back to the room at the end of the day and relaxing on the terrace just inches from the lake. There's a barbecue area with a grill and picnic tables for guests where we've held cookouts, and a sandy beach with lounge chairs, also directly on the lakeshore. There are boat docks at the motel pier so you can take a boat out for fishing or other watersports. The views are spectacular, and it's quite peaceful. If you're an artist, writer, or photographer, the beauty and quiet are quite conducive to creativity. I've traveled all over the U.S. and several other countries for both business and pleasure, and the Belknap Point Motel is one of my all-time favorites.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Liked everything
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ShadowTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    18
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
20
54
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
albany ny
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2009

my wife and i will return in 2009 for our 4th year and plan on returning many more after this year. great views, peace and quiet with many attractions close by. large variety of great restaurants. guests are friendly and owners very plesant and helpful if needed. just a great place to stay leon and jacolyn albany new york

  • Liked — views and being right on the water
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrtruthful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2009

What started as an early season salmon fishing trip 5 years ago has turned into a yearly event and grown into a twice year visit (the second one with the whole family and on season). Beautiful view-no make it breathtaking, great accomadations at a great value.The best thing- the owners Harry and Elaine who have become good friends.

  • Liked — The beautiful view and the owners
  • Disliked — Not being the owner
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ReadingBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2008

We have been going to Belknap Point Motel for over 18 years and will continue to return to this restful vista on "The Lake". We have had our whole family of kids, teenagers, middle aged adults and elderly parents there on several occasions. We all loved the accomodations and the genuine sincerity of the owners/operators. The Blinns are ready to please and attend to ones needs, within logical reason. Many of our family are large persons, including me at 240 pounds, and we never had the experiences I see in the review sent in by Gypsy Sarnia. We have met many professional people who love to stay there because of its beauty, seclusion and quiet surroundings. All facilities are well within easy driving distance, including restaurants of the finest quality, shopping, golf, theater entertainment. Patrick's Pub is only 1.5 miles away and it is one of the finest all around eating establishments in the area. Fresh farm grown fruits, vegetables, and homemade pies are available withing 2 miles. We'd stay all summer if we could have the time.
Belknap Point is so popular with so many folks that reservations must be made a year ahead of time in order to get your choice of time and room. Cost is well within reason and is only raised when needed on a yearly basis when the economy dictates. There has been very little increase in price for the 18+ years we have stayed there. My wife of 72 and me at 74, will go back until the day we die!

  • Liked — Location, Location, Location
  • Disliked — No dislikes whatsoever!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Trebor55ky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarnia, Ontario
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2008

The only nice thing we can say is: The view from the rooms are fantastic! However the location is quite far from anywhere and the ungodly small bathroom very difficult to get into or out, unless you're under 50 lbs. Cost of $ 120.00 per night is double to what it should be.

  • Liked — The view and it's right on the lake.
  • Disliked — Smallest bathroom ever encountered on any trip.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OneGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BPMGilfordNH, co-owner at Belknap Point Motel, responded to this review, 22 October 2008
The title "Overpriced" is not a fair assesment. A review of all the lodgings listed by Travel Advisor in Gilford, NH idicates we are the lowest average although this is not by intent. Our actual rate for this guest who stayed with us on the Fourth of July weekend was $120/N which is our standard in-season rate. This is definitely among the lower rates in Gilford and in particular on the waterfront.

As for the small bathroom, the description is an exageration. Yes, our bathrooms are small, but only provide for a toilet and bathtub. The vanity area is outside the bathroom for batter utility among 2 guests.

As for our location, in addition to being directly on the waterfront, we are within 5 miles of the majority of Lake Winnipesaukee attractions - 1.5M to Meadowbrook Farm Concert Venue, 4.5M to Weirs Beach, 2M to Ellacoya State Park. 5M to Gunstock Recreation Area, 15M to New Hampshire Motorsports(NASCAR). There are over 15 golf courses within a 20M radius.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2007

Staying at Belknap Point Motel is liking getting a glimpse of Heaven! The views are awesome, the rooms are quaint and comfortable, the grounds are well-cared for, and the owners, Harry and Elaine Blinn, are most gracious hosts. We travel to Belknap Point Motel every summer from Kentucky and are very disappointed not to be able to make it this coming summer!

We would provide an even better review, but we don't want the "best kept secret" on Lake W getting out! We'll never get to reserve "our room" when we want it!!!

  • Liked — the views
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank musicladyKentucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gilford
4.8 mi away
TownePlace Suites Laconia Gilford
8.2 mi away
The Wolfeboro Inn
The Wolfeboro Inn
#3 of 6 in Wolfeboro
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
12.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Tilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fireside Inn & Suites at Lake Winnipesaukee
3.7 mi away
The Margate Resort
The Margate Resort
#3 of 12 in Laconia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
2.1 mi away
Gunstock Inn & Resort
Gunstock Inn & Resort
#1 of 3 in Gilford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belknap Point Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belknap Point Motel

Property: Belknap Point Motel
Address: 107 Belknap Point Rd, Gilford, NH 03249-7608
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Gilford
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Gilford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Belknap Point Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the west shore of Lake Winnipesaukee in the heart of the Lakes Region. Wonderful views of the lake and mountains. Swim, boat and fish our waterfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Belknap Point Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belknap Point Hotel Gilford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing