We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colonial Sturbridge Visits The N.H. Mountains!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bernerhof Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Glen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Our recent visit to The Bernerhof Inn has left us feeling rested and anxious to experience the charm sometime soon! We planned a school reunion trip, as well as my Birthday and my Anniversary! We were greeted warmly by Steve and checked in promptly. Our room, "The Bretton Woods" was delightful. Two cupcakes awaited us, one for Birthday and one for Anniversary! (Nice touches). The room was adorned with its own private porch entrance, hot tub, giant King bed and an eco-friendly fireplace. The bathroom was spacious and included a waterfall walk-in shower. Everything was clean and decorated tastefully. Despite being next door to the kitchen, we heard very little kitchen noise or traffic, except perhaps just at Breakfast time. Speaking of.....the breakfasts are "TO DIE FOR"!! Eggs Benedict, Tropical Pancakes, French Toast.....specials for each day. Cinnamon rolls and coffee awaited us each morning as well. The pub located inside the Inn offers drinks and a small but varied menu. We shared a burger and had wedge salads and we were very satisfied. There are internet stations on each floor for computer users and tablets are available as well. We loved the unrushed schedule, the mountains, trails and scenery just outside and the wonderful breakfasts in the mornings. We took the liberty of checking out multiple rooms before guests arrived. Each room is unique and decorated individually. All are charming and provide that "away from it all" feel. Steve and Katey make consummate hosts, acting as hosts, servers, cooks!!! Yet somehow they found the time to socialize with us and make us feel as if we lived there too! We cannot say enough how much we enjoyed our stay and all the wonderful things along the way!!

Room Tip: Check out all the rooms online first so you have an idea of space, bed size and decor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dale G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveandKatey, Owner at Bernerhof Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Dale & Adam - the last weekend just rolled by and we both said aloud that it would be great to have Sturbridge friends back in the house again! The awesome recap you wrote was a day maker not the least of reasons since you are in the hospitality field as well!

Thank you both for spending time in our White Mountains and for beginning what we hope is a new tradition of including us in the fun and relaxation agenda. You were a humble winner of most of the games played and the pictures are on our Facebook to prove it aren't they!

See you again and stay in touch, we're poised to greet you on a trip back anytime!

Katey and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (838)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

512 - 518 of 838 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

I took my wife here this past weekend to celebrate our 5th anniversary. It was my first ever trip to a bed and breakfast. The one negative is that the bar is now set way too high. I know that because my wife has been to many and she said this was the best she has ever been to. The room was clean and comfortable. The food was above average, especially the breakfast. Drinks were made to our liking. The grounds were well kept along with a nature trail. The spa on site made you feel like you were on vacation. That paled in comparison to the way Steve and his team treated us. The service was top notch and made this trip worth the money spent and the 3.5 hour drive. We highly recommend Bernerhof Inn to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wconnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveandKatey, Owner at Bernerhof Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 19 May 2014

Dear Mr. Connell: Thank you for celebrating your 5th Anniversary of Nuptials with us! The pleasure of having you both enjoy some quality time and creating new memories is all ours. Thank you for the feedback on our food and inn, we love to be the backdrop to unforgettable times people share. Yours is no exception! Come back before year 6 rolls around, we can help with the traditional anniversary gift for that year as well - Candy! Our friends at Bavarian Chocolate create some great goodies...

See you back with your smiles anytime, and until then, Happy Anniversary from Katey and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We usually stay at the Regular big chain Hotels and I haven't been to a B&B in a long time and was unsure about what to expect. The building itself is a beautiful grand Victorian, exceptionally well maintained and visually stunning. Steve and Katy are perfect hosts'!
They are both very warm, friendly and knowledgeable of the area. They make everyone feel 'at home' and have a wonderful way of being very helpful, but at the same time allowing you time for yourself. The rooms are nicely decorated and the beds are extremely comfortable. The food, was simply amazing!! I could go on and on about this....
The Bernerhof Inn is a perfect location for hiking, shopping and family fun. I can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveandKatey, Owner at Bernerhof Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Brenda; What a blast...that's all we can say. Thank you for including us in your Kentucky Derby Party and we're glad that your hat won the best contest as well - it should have! We just read your review and the laughs are still easy to share, Brookfield Mass people seem to be so much fun huh? There's some rumbling that you and Brent may come back for a Saco River Lazy River weekend, in that case, you may have to bring some suntan lotion on this visit.

We cannot thank you enough for being our guests in May and now friends again: Katey and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This review is long overdue, but I guess better late than never.
My wife and I spent a weekend here in November 2013. Katey and Steve were able to create a very cozy, home-like environment. Rooms are comfortable, pace is slow. What else do you need for relaxing weekend? Right, good food. Make sure to check out White Mountain Cider Company for that.

Room Tip: One of the cheaper rooms on the top floor (one that faces the road) has angled wall that steals from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roman0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveandKatey, Owner at Bernerhof Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Roman: We missed you! Thank you for taking the time to write about your fall visit, and yes, we are thrilled that you chose us to be your home away from home. We'll be perched on the porch with the attentive, laid back hospitality you found great: Promise.

Thank you again and see you in '14!

Katey and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We weren't quite sure what to expect when we decided to join a group of friends on this adventure. We generally stay at the "big name" hotels. From the minute we pulled into the lot we felt welcomed. We were greeted by Steve and Holly, the gentle, beautiful resident dog. The room we originally had reserved was not available because the guests who had stayed the evening before loved it so much they wanted to stay. We were NOT disappointed. The Fryeburg Village room we were given instead was so much more than we ever expected. All of the little touches....including the birthday cupcakes and cute rubber ducks were enchanting. The bed was ULTRA comfortable, the jacuzzi tub divine. Breakfast each morning was by far some of the best we have ever had anywhere (Irish Eggs Benny's will always be my favorite) and The Black Bear Pub gave us all a great place to congregate and enjoy each other's company along with great drinks, wonderful food and baked goods (you haven't lived until you have had their macadamia cookies) that just melted in your mouth. If they didn't have something and you wanted it...they got it for you. The Serenity Spa was an hour and a half WELL spent. Add to this, the great personalities that are the Inn Keepers, Steve and Katey and you have a recipe for a weekend that will not soon be forgotten. We cannot wait to make our way here again...and are pretty sure we will stay here often.

Room Tip: There really isn't a bad room there...each has their own little special touches
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shadowwolf0423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveandKatey, Owner at Bernerhof Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Sue: The pleasure was all ours! Where else can someone host great people, have an awesome time together and have the chance to provide hospitality to appreciative audiences? Our Bernerhof Inn is the pride and joy of our lives and your review touches upon some nice thank yous! We promise not to to tinker with the Macadamia Nut recipes nor the welcomes and Holly-time that you found so special. Your feedback was breakfast of champions....come back soon and let's repeat some memory making!


Katey and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

From the first phone call to saying goodbye on Sunday, Katey, Steve and Holly (the gentle resident dog) made you feel like olde friends. This was our first stay here and the warmth and charm of the Inn as well as the comfortable pub and rooms, have us already planning our return trip. The brews are micro ( great) and the food-from breakfast to dinner (or pub fare) is all homemade and well served. The chicken schnitzel and the 'famous' hollandaise sauce was excellent. We enjoyed the Wellness Spa and massages-highly recommended-and the in-room Jacuzzi was wonderful.
This B&B is very very well run and we agree with other posts that Steve and Kaety could teach a master's class in how an Inn should be run.
We have stayed at other B7B's, but this is by far the best and well worth it. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaye1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveandKatey, Owner at Bernerhof Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear Jaye - THANKS THANKS THANKS! To your outstanding recap of your visit. We find food for champions when reading wonderful follow ups to our guests' time spent under our roof!

The cat's out of the bag on our hollandaise huh? Promise not to share that secret ingredient we discussed as an alternative to lemons in the recipe....we'll have a fresh batch anytime you come back over to stay with Holly and us of course :)!.

Thank you again and enjoy the next few month's repreieve from the longest winter ever.

See you soon we hope.


Katey and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Although only about a 50 minute drive from our home in southern Maine, my wife and I enjoy our annual weekend getaway to the White Mountains. We prefer the bed and breakfast lodging as opposed to the typical hotel for the "at home" atmosphere and home cooked breakfast. Scanning the internet I came across the Bernerhof Inn and found the perfect room with the amenities we like was available for our chosen weekend. Upon arrival we were greeted on the porch by Steve, checked in, and shown around the sitting area of the Black Bear Pub, dining area, and coffee/tea nook. Our room, the Villages of Conway, which was room 9 on the 3rd floor was absolute perfect, including our 2 person jacuzzi. Although we didn't take part in dinner, our gourmet, home cooked breakfast was truly amazing in quality as well as presentation! A perfect atmosphere to just make yourself at home, lounge around inside or on the porch and make new friends! We will most definitely make many more returns!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JasonBaldwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveandKatey, Owner at Bernerhof Inn Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Dear Jason: We both thank you for having your first time stay with us and the kind words you've shared...You and Dawn were awesome guests if we may say so ourselves! On your next trip we HAVE to find time for some photography notes and comparisons. Summertime jaunts may be in store to Arethusa Falls to name one. Again, thank you for being new friends of the inn and we'll be sure to keep up the great food as well, dinner next?

Happy Photoshooting until we see you both again!

Katey and Steve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen
3.2 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
3.5 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
848 reviews
6.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#4 of 12 in Bartlett
513 reviews
3.4 mi away
Inn at Ellis River
Inn at Ellis River
#1 of 11 in Jackson
572 reviews
16.1 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bernerhof Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bernerhof Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 342 US Route 302, PO Box 240, Glen, Bartlett, NH 03838-6315
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bartlett > Glen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Glen
Price Range: £90 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bernerhof Inn Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New - Electric Car Charging! Free dual station at our Bernherhof Inn Bed and Breakfast. 12 Rooms with all the modern amenities to include Wi-Fi, Apple Computers and Printers for Guests on each floor. Free use of IPADs. English style pub for guests. Excellent full hearty morning breakfast. Spa, walking/fitness trail and more! We now have electric car charging station! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bernerhof Inn Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bernerhof Hotel Glen
Bernerhof Inn b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing