We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great to come back each year”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glen Ellis Family Campground
Pembroke, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great to come back each year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We have been camping at Glenn Ellis for more than 5 years now. Each year we make sure to book the next years reservation before leaving.

This Campground is very clean, kid friendly and has a wealth of activities. It is right on the Saco and has a huge area for swimming. We take multiple river runs tubing down the Saco each year.

Cant recommend this campground enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soneil18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    18
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
53
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Stayed here for two nights in July. This is a family business and the service was awesome! We were delayed and arrived much later than expected (after 11pm), but they had asked when we booked to let us know if we would arrive late, and would leave an envelope with the site key and detailed instructions for finding out way to our pitch. There were lights on at reception when we arrived, and they checked us in then and there. They even had someone make sure we made it to the pitch ok.

The facilities here are great! The bathroom and showers are very clean and well maintained (it's 25¢ for 5 mins of hot shower). There is also plenty of entertainment on site (games, tennis, tubing, horseshoes) even though we didn't investigate these. The campsite is on a wedge of land between two rivers, so there is also river swimming (the site has a pool too). The location is great, really convenient for the Kancamagus highway and Mt Washington. They have a small store on-site (with coffee), and there is a a gas-station, grocery store, and liquor and wine outlet within half a mile of the campsite entrance. It was a tad expensive for just two people on one pitch (with no hookup), but this is very much billed as a family campsite, so it would work out more economical if there were others with us.

They strictly enforce a 10mph speed limit as there are lots of kids on bikes (this meant we didn't get woken by cars). This is a family campground so it was pretty quiet (though there was one family talking until 3am close by, but earplugs can fix this). Most of the pitches are under trees and fairly spacious.

I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

This was my first time camping at the Glenn Ellis Family Campground. We were in search of a campground with showers for the night before our hike and this one was the closest to the trailhead. The reservation staff was very friendly (and kept reminding me that it was a FAMILY campground) and the front desk staff was just as pleasant. The grounds were excellent! Finding our campsite was a little tricky since we arrived at night and didn't realize that the site numbers were posted higher than we expected. Our waterfront site was RIGHT on the Glenn Ellis River which gave us some nice background noise as we slept. We didn't have any children with us, but the families around us were quiet and respectful of our space. The campground was a tad bit expensive, but worth it given all the amenities and activities that were available. The restrooms and bathhouses were also very clean. The shower stalls themselves were a little small (I'm a small person, 5'2", 120 lbs) and I still found it a little tight to maneuver around in there.

Room Tip: Sites along the riverfront are actually quite spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cferreira430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

Glen Ellis is a family campground located in a wedge of land between 2 rivers in North Conway NH. It is convenient to many North Country attractions (Mt Washington Auto Road, Story Land, outlet shopping in Conway). The rivers can be accessed by the entrance road (Ellis River) or campground beach (Saco River)...you can tube down and climb out on campground property, then walk back. There are large playing fields for family baseball games, and nice tennis courts. What this campground does NOT have is any activities. There are no organized dodgeball games, bingo, or crafts.

The campground sites vary from full hookup to primitive tent sites in the woods for tents only. Most sites (except for field) are wooded and semi secluded.


The campground is quiet and accessed by key card. The laundry facility is clean and large.

A great family gathering place!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imbigd13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walpole, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

This was our first time camping(tenting) with our three kids, 8, 6 and 4. We weren't sure what to expect, but this was a great place. We registered quickly and the staff was very friendly. It was easy to find our spot and it was great to be next to the river! The bathrooms were very clean. The kids enjoyed the pool and the arcade. We are planning on going back in August!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

For our first family camping experience, I am afraid we may be ruined for all other campgrounds to follow. The campsites and facilities, including a pool, bath houses and arcade room are maintained meticulously. This was our first trip camping as a family, with our 2.5 and 4 yr. olds. They had so much fun playing with the rocks along the river bed and swimming in the pool. There was a probably a 50/50 mix of tents vs travel trailers. The staff and owners have much pride in this place and immediately responded to complaints regarding campers setting off banned fireworks. They will not tolerate obnoxious, loud or disrespectful campers! The grounds are close to attractions for enjoying Mt. Washington, Storyland, and other amusements in the North Conway area. There are several restaurants within a 10 minute drive or a grocery store, should you need supplies. We had such an enjoyable visit, despite rain everyday and have reserved subsequent visits!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

My family and I go camping at Glen Ellis every Memorial day and Columbus day weekend and I love it! I've been going there since I was a little girl, it was great then and is great now! The grounds are extremely well kept, they have a playground area for kids, a baseball field, tennis court and arcade (although I think a video arcade defeats the purpose of camping). The bathrooms are very well maintained and clean and I have never had a complaint with them. The showers are clean (although I always wear flip flops in them) and have great water pressure and temperature and is only $0.25 for five minutes. We have the same spot every time right on the Saco River and I love the view. They also provide tubes at the front office where you can rent and ride down the river. It is so fun I suggest everyone try it! The only thing I would change is change quiet hour from starting at 10:00 pm to 11:00 pm. I know that it is a family campground, but we're there on vacation to have fun and like to stay up and have a good time without worrying about getting in trouble. The staff at Glen Ellis is super friendly and very family oriented which I like. They are close to Mt. Washington and a lot of fun things to do in the area!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMichajlov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen
5.9 mi away
Bartlett Inn
Bartlett Inn
#1 of 12 in Bartlett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
5.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites North Conway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
0.5 mi away
Storybook Inn & Suites
1.8 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#5 of 12 in Bartlett
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Ellis Family Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Ellis Family Campground

Property: Glen Ellis Family Campground
Address: Route 302, Glen, Bartlett, NH 03838
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bartlett > Glen
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Glen
Number of rooms: 216

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing