We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good steakhouse.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Red Parka Steakhouse & Pub

The Red Parka Steakhouse & Pub
Ranked #4 of 11 Restaurants in Glen
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Red Parka Steakhouse & Pub offers great family dining as well as an adult only dining area. Our Patio area is open during the Summer months. Our new menu features locally sourced produce whenever possible and several unique Gluten Free and Vegetarian items. In addition, our Specials feature only locally sourced meats, cheeses & produce. There are always live bands in the Pub on Friday & Saturday nights. We also have an Open Mic' night every Monday.The Pub opens at 3:30 Mon-Fri and the Dining Room at 5:00. On Sat & Sun, the Pub opens at 3:00 and the Dining Room at 4:00. We serve food util 9:30 Sun-Thurs and until 10:00 on Sat & Sun.
Dollard-des-Ormeaux, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good steakhouse.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Excellent steaks and baked potatoes. Good service and good price. We went around 5 pm as it gets very busy very quickly and they do not accept reservations.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cgb27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    246
    215
    125
    45
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Warm, Kid Friendly, and Consistent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

I spend a lot of time up in the White Mountains and the Red Parka is my regular stop. There is no false advertising. They call themselves a steakhouse and pub and that is what they are. If you are looking for that sort of food, they are top shelf.

I've had just about everything on the menu. I lean toward their burgers and beef but my wife is fond of the seafood, particularly their baked stuff shrimp. Servings are generous and if I am spinning through for a quick meal, I'll just do an appetizer as my meal.

Do not miss the pie of the night for dessert. If you are a pie lover, they do a different pie or two each day. If you are not a pie lover, give it a try, you might be converted.

The pub is downstairs from the main dining area. Unlike some pubs where you are forced to eat dinner in the middle of chaos, if you are in for just dinner, the bar area is "out of sight and out of mind." Food is served in both areas.

I am typically eating with one or two other people and appreciate their layout. Large parties are somewhat set apart from the small parties. This allows them to seat parties of similar size and noise levels in the same areas. The layout is also cleverly set up so that traffic flow is distributed throughout the restaurant so one does not have people walking by the tables at all times.

The staff is great and many of them have been with the restaurant for years. They all take pride in the restaurant and will not guide you wrong.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CheapPaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpp302, Owner at The Red Parka Steakhouse & Pub, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
89 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wife liked it, I didn't. ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Wife had the two for deal where she got the baked stuffed shrimp and a steak. She like hers. I got the steak and ribs. I didn't care for it.

Helpful?
Thank Rob01085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpp302, Owner at The Red Parka Steakhouse & Pub, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry you didn't like your meal as much as your wife did. Could you tell us why?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
164 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A Classic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

The Red Parka has been feeding and entertaining folks for many years for good reason: The casual atmosphere, the generous pours, and the tasty food.
If you are looking for the Ritz this is not it, if you are looking for a solid good performer with a long track record of success, you have found it here.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rpp302, Owner at The Red Parka Steakhouse & Pub, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you for your review! Consistency is something we work hard to maintain. Hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, MA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We had dinner here and enjoyed it. It was pretty standard fare, with a small salad bar and an extensive menu. We had steak tips and salad, which was good, but nothing special. This would be a good choice for a family. It seems like they were set up to handle kids.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank cockatiel-dreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Red Parka Steakhouse & Pub also viewed

 

Been to The Red Parka Steakhouse & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing