We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Function Junction”
Review of Glen Junction

Glen Junction
Ranked #4 of 11 Restaurants in Glen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$12
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Cash Only
Description: Family owned and operated - in the heart of Mt. Washington Valley, New HampshireLocated in the White Mountains of New Hampshire at Jct. Rtes 16 & 302, our family-owned and operated restaurant has been serving home-style cooking since 1985.Generous portions at affordable prices, bring your healthy appetite! Glen Junction Restaurant is the place for both visitor and local alike. We serve up hearty delicious breakfasts all day long. Our spacious booths and tables, the kids love our small train that winds its way throughout the dining room. Our family caters to the comforts of your family. Plenty of room for large parties with our NEW Function Room Available for a private dining experience!Open 7 days a week - 7:00 am to 3:00 pm
Hull, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
107 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Function Junction”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Came by for breakfast and after being seated thought I heard the sound of popcorn being popped? But actually was the trains on the tracks in the rafters above the tables. Many years ago the railroad was very active and the lifeline of this area. Yes it adds to the noise as people have to speak up to be heard over the trains but when you have young children it is a helpful distraction and as breakfast tables usually turn over quickly you are not seated there very long. Meals were brought out promptly and as you would make them at home. The portions were very large, it is tough to clean your plate. The crepe-like pancakes were light and airy my guess is they add a little baking soda to the pancake batter, but it seems like they could burn easily if left on the grill a moment too long. Ours were perfect though. The restaurant is dated but kept very clean and the location is great for people that choose to stay out of a congested North Conway.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank g-man41559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomJannuzzi, Manager at Glen Junction, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thank you so much for writing us such an outstanding review, as well as taking note in our well kept establishment!
We work hard to keep our business running smoothly and efficiently so that our customers are able to come in and experience our model trains and delicious food without worry.
Come back and visit us again soon for more pancakes so that we can give you a second guess on the recipe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    89
    50
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
oakdale
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We go for breakfast since the train providers countless entertainment for the kids. We always have great meals served quick. The pancakes are huge and tasty. We have been here approximately 5 times with the same quality everytime.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank jaibhagwan73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomJannuzzi, Manager at Glen Junction, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thank you for writing us such an excellent review, and for consistently coming in for breakfast!
We strive to keep not only our meals, but our service consistent so that our customers always know what to expect when they walk through our doors!
We hope to see you back again soon, and look happily forward to quickly serving you more tasty pancakes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakdale, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
335 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Choo Choo's and breakfast”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This small restaurant was just what we needed. A place to entertain the four year old, and a quick and convenient breakfast.

When we sat down the waitress assured my son that the train would start up soon. Sure enough, shortly after she walked away, it did race down the track hanging from the ceiling (I still dont know if she was repeatedly restarting it or if it was on a timer) but as you would expect, being four, it was a delight.

There seemed to be a lot of employees wandering around, but we only spoke to our waitress. She was friendly and served with a smile.

The kids and wife's meal was very good. I ordered the Steak and eggs and was not has happy with mine.

Well it was an inexpensive meal, and I got what I paid for... entertainment for the kids and a fast (but not fast food) meal.

I will most likely skip next time in town.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank userChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomJannuzzi, Manager at Glen Junction, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your input on our establishment.
We are so very happy to hear that your family enjoyed their visit with us, and are thrilled that they loved their meals!
I am sorry that you did not care for yours, but next time please don't hesitate to let your server know so that we can help you choose another meal more to your liking.
We have an extensive menu of delicious homemade recipes that cater to many different meal preferences.
Give us another try next time through the area, and we'll keep the trains running for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent for breakfast.”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The menu is extensive with something for everybody. The food is fresh, delicious and delivered quickly. Even when they are very busy. The wait staff are helpful, friendly and do not get flustered when things get very busy. I will definitely eat there again when in the area.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bob F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomJannuzzi, Manager at Glen Junction, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thanks for the outstanding review, and taking the time to come in and give us a try!
We love serving delicious meal options for everyone that comes in, and always try to offer our customers the very best hospitality.
We look forward to your next visit into our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Loved this place, fast friendly service and good food! The kids love watching the train go around the place(up near the ceiling).

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Roxanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TomJannuzzi, Manager at Glen Junction, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
We appreciate your business, as well as your excellent review of our establishment!
Fast, delicious and friendly hospitality is what we strive for, and we are thrilled to hear that your experience was anything less than that!
Kids of all ages love watching our model trains circle the dining room.
Come back again soon with the family for another great time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Glen Junction also viewed

 

Been to Glen Junction? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing