We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, very family oriented...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Storybook Inn & Suites
Ranked #5 of 5 Glen B&B and Inns
Quincy, MA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Decent, very family oriented...”
Reviewed 30 July 2007

We stayed up there with two families and booked at the last moment and were able to get two rooms side-by-side.
The hotel was OK, rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff was very friendly and helpful.
The outdoor pool needed some sprucing up but the indoor pool was great and the kids loved it.
The grounds were good and it was a plus having a playground for the kids.
The restaurant was "closed for renovations" so we had to venture out for food (no mention of this on their website) but the staff was very good at recommending a couple of family friendly places in the immediate area.
The staff was great and they went above and beyond to make your stay a pleasant one.
Overall, I think that this place is a decent choice to stay with your family especially with Storyland right around the corner (about five minutes away by car).

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank jjt34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    17
    12
    18
    23
See reviews for
50
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2007

In all fairness this hotel is rough at best!
We drove up from Mansfield, MA and had 2 kids in tow ages 2 and 4.
They loved being in a hotel for the night but my husband and I were definitly not thrilled with the uncomfortable, hard "mattress" or was that a box spring being passed off as a mattress that we slept on?
The place was in deed very musty smelling and left a lot to be desired as far as cleanliness was concerned.
The walls were thin as paper so we heard everything that was going on inthe room next door and the loud voices outside our window .
So much for trying to save a buck!!! I would much rather have spent a little more.
The only upside is that I not knowing it would be this crowded to get lodging near Story Land waited too late to get a room. It was good that we could get a room and still take our planned trip although this hotel is in desperate need of upgrades!!!
The resteraunt on the grounds was sooooo pathetic we just got up and left ! Good thing too because we went right around the corner and found Red Foxx resteraunt and they had the BEST FRESHEST MOST DELICIOUS ALL YOU CAN EAT BREAKFAST I'VE HAD IN MANY YEARS!!!!!
The resteraunt definitly made the trip worth while.

  • Liked — not much. I had shelter that's about it. Camping out would have been cheaper.
  • Disliked — The beds had absolutely pathetic mattresses!
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Quittrippin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Glen hotels

New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2006

I used to live in this area and have driven by this place a million times. It always looked great from the highway, on a hillside with the pool area all lit up and so on. I have since moved away, but recently returned on a family vacation to take my kids to Storyland (virtually next door).

Let me tell you, any niceness quickly disipates when you drive in and start looking more closely. The place is just in a state of complete disrepair and neglect. Peeling paint, unkept grounds and it only gets worse when you get to the room. The musty room contained furniture and carpeting that should have been replaced at least 25 yrs ago. The mattresses were completely shot; I could literally feel the springs poking me, not to mention very loud creaking whenever anybody moved a muscle (including my 6 yr. old!!). Everything just looked and felt dirty. Cobwebs in the entry-way; a rusted out patio table and chairs on a broken concrete slab surrounded by weeds outside our room; dirty windows we couldn't open.

The bottom of the indoor pool was covered with what looked like algae but I couldn't be sure. The outside pool had a lot of dead bugs floating on the surface and at least a couple of bandaids. The outdoor hot tub obviously was out of service for a verrry long time and there were larvae and insects swimming in it that I could not identify. I am NOT kidding about this!!! If it's broken they could at least cover it with a piece of plywood. My little girl walked up to it and was going to put her foot in it!!!

After a completely sleepness night feeling like bed bugs were biting me (admitedly it was probably my imagination), we were going to get the heck out of there first thing in the morning. But guess what? The office doesn't open until 8am. What place has NOBODY on duty until 8am! At 8 o'clock sharp I checked out and the girl behind the desk was going to charge me $20 for checking out a day early! After I made a bit of a fuss she didn't charge me. I didn't get into all my complaints since she was just a kid and I did her job at a hotel many, many years ago. And, I figured 'what's the point'?

By now the kids were hungry and we wanted to get to Storyland when it opened, so we made our final stupid mistake by trying their on-site restaurant (which also doesn't open till 8). Again, it probably was a nice place about 20 yrs ago when somebody knew how to run it, but it was in about as good shape as the room (well, nothing could be that bad really). Our waitress spoke no English...really, none. I don't know how she managed to even get our order partially correct. I ordered and omellete with diced ham and got scrambled eggs with a ham steak. My little girl ordered frosted shreaded wheats, and got.....well I still don't know what she got but eventyually settled for Fruit Loops.

I have never written a bad review of anything, but felt compelled to warn anybody out there not to be drawn in to this awful place. Oh, and I forgot the price for this disaster.. $150!!!!!! $35 would have been more appropriate.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Disgusting room, horrible beds and expensive.
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay away.
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank mrlnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 25 June 2006

We recently rented 4 rooms in the Poolside for ourselves and relatives. We felt that Storybook Resort was better than similarly priced hotels due to the following:
1. the staff and workers were extremely helpful and accommodating
2. the wading pool for children was great
3. the indoor pool and hot tub were A+
4. it is right next to Story Land!
5. a breakfast restaurant on the property
6. walk to Dunkin Donuts, Dairy Queen, and other family restaurants
7. a playground and tennis court on property
8. we were satisfied with the Poolside rooms ~ beds were comfortable, walk to pool, plenty of towels, clean
We would stay here again with small children.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 January 2006

My wife & I took our two small children to StoryLand and stayed here. I can't even begin to tell you how disgusting the room was. The wallpaper was peeling, one of our windows didn't even have a shade, their was a putrid moldly smell permeating the whole room. In addition to that the carpet was so disgusting that we wouldn't let our children walk on it. We placed them on the bed and carried them out the next morning. Our matresses were so bad that only one of the beds was comfortable enough to sleep in. Finally thinking about the bathroom still makesmy skin crawl. The tub was black with what looked like years of neglect. We booked two nights but stayed only one. If we didn't have the kids with us then we wouldn't have stayed at all. If you think I am kidding or making it up then help yourself to the worst experience you will ever have and book a room here. Wish I had read some of the reviews here before booking. The one good review makes me wonder how many places they have actually stayed.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
29 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2005

We just spent 2 nights at the Storybook resort-my extended family ages 9-42. We had 3 rooms in the hillside building. We have been visiting the White Mtn. area almost annually for about 20 years, and usually stay in North Conway. This resort is approximately 10 miles from town (and the outlets!), right off rt. 302, formally a Best Western. We found the staff particularly friendly and accommodating. This was especially true when my sister had to change her room due to a moldy/mildew smell. She was quickly changed to another room in the same building on the 2nd floor, where the smell was greatly reduced. It rained all weekend, so this probably added to the problem of the smell. The rooms have 2 queen sized beds, room for a roll-away, a mini fridge, microwave and a patio (ground floor)/covered balcony for the rooms on the 2nd floor. The rooms appeared to be clean, the beds very comfortable. There were some water spots on the ceiling and stains on the carpet--which might be the origin of the mildew/musty smell.
We found the small restaurant on property nice--again staff very friendly. Some of the group used the indoor pool which they liked, there is also an outdoor pool and playground. We paid $165.00 per night which I thought was a little steep. For comparison, we stayed at the Holiday Inn express last year for $188.00/night and the facilities, except for a smaller pool, were much nicer. The price also included a continental breakfast (at the Holiday Inn). I don't like to give negative reviews as I didn't stay in all the rooms at the resort--maybe some of the newer buildings had nicer rooms (without the smell) and our situation was just unfortunate. I would stay here again if I could get a better price, as most hotels in North Conway are very expensive during leaf-peeping season, and we don't really spend much time at the hotel anyway.
Again, I have to compliment the staff, everyone from the front desk to housekeeping, was very nice.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank geekie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 8 September 2004

Although the staff at the front desk was friendly and helpful, we found that the rooms were too old and not updated. The towels were very rough and we could not use them on our face (too scratchy). The bed was very uncomfortable and the shower wasn't too bad. The room was a bit pricey! We certainly did not get what we paid for!!

However, the location of Storybook Resort is in a perfect location as it is conviently located to anywhere you may need to go

Helpful?
19 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glen
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Conway
2.5 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
2.1 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
1.5 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#3 of 12 in Bartlett
487 reviews
4.4 mi away
Attitash Grand Summit Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Storybook Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Storybook Inn & Suites

Property: Storybook Inn & Suites
Address: at the junction of Rtes 302 & 16N, Glen, Bartlett, NH 03838
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bartlett > Glen
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Glen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Storybook Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of the White Mountains in Glen, NH, our 76 room hotel offers great location near Storyland. Additionally some of the most beautiful scenery for hiking, biking, canoeing, golf and more, plus tax free shopping and restaurants. Let us be your vacation destination! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Storybook Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Storybook Hotel Glen
Storybook Inn And Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing