We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mountain Biking”

Great Glen Trails Outdoor Center
Ranked #2 of 15 things to do in Gorham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Family outdoor recreation center in the middle of the White Mountains. Cross country skiing, snowshoeing, snow tubing and SnowCoach rides up the Mt Washington Auto Road and a ski shop to outfit you for the fun in the winter; private carriage road type trail system for biking, running, birding and nature study in summer along with kayak and canoe trips and an outdoor shop.
Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Mountain Biking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I just rented a mt. bike there in late July. Great crew in the office there. Great trails to ride. All around great experience and it's a beautiful are to ride in.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank allmedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    23
    0
    1
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Awesome!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Took a full day kayak trip with wife and daughter. We were only people in the group and it was great. Dave our guide was awesome, felt like we were kayaking with a friend. Great weather, sites and overall great day. Definitely recommend full day trip versus half day and its only 15 bucks more.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A wonderful setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Glen Trails is located across the majestic Mount Washington. This attraction offers rentals for biking, kayaking, canoeing and hiking. The museum will entertain you on the history of the area. A place to visit!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Claude L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weare, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice trails!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

My husband & I were here before the official start of summer so the Outdoor Center was not open yet. There is a fee for biking but walkers are free! (We walked). We enjoyed having the trails to ourselves! The trails are wide & clearly marked and the views are beautiful! Great for family biking! Will definitely be back!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsKathyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great for First Timers & Advanced”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Our first time we ever tried a groomed track we came here. I'll also mention that it was our 4th time xc skiing overall. We had a BLAST!

Our first time we went, the staff behind the ticket counter kind of assumed we had been there before. Not only had we not, this was also our first time skiing on a groomed tracked. That staff member wasn't super helpful but everyone else was extremely nice.

We made our way up Libby Trace to the Great Angel Station where we stopped to warm up then came all the way back down. I would greatly suggest taking a lesson if it is your first time. Coming back down the hills was fun but there are a few part when the tracks end and if you don't know how to stop, or the concept of it at least, it could lead to some issues! We very quickly learned the importance of this.

If you are an advanced skier, there are some great trails. This last weekend we went up and attempted the Blue trails (more difficult). It was a 50 degree weekend which made everything slower but the hills and turns were a ton of fun.

The lodge is one of the best we've been to. It's very large with a great lunch/snack area, big rental shop and good bathroom/changing rooms.

We will definitely come back here every time we head north!

**We got free days tickets from staying at The Jackson Lodge and Whitney's Inn

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Megan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Great Glen Trails Outdoor Center also viewed

 
Jackson, White Mountains
 

Been to Great Glen Trails Outdoor Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing