We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great ambiance & terrific food & drink!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saalt Pub

Saalt Pub
Ranked #1 of 23 Restaurants in Gorham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great ambiance & terrific food & drink!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

An October visit to this great little place was a delight. Steve & Liz run a good business and are as enthusiastic & friendly as they could be! My friend & I each had special drinks (superb) and our salad & entrees were delicious. We split a salad and had a hard time finishing it (lemony Italian greens). Our noodle entrees were unique, well-presented, & perfect in our opinion! Too bad we had no room for desert, Next time!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DebR_AK89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    32
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Different but excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

When we arrived, there was only one other couple seated at a table and we thought what did we get ourselves into. When our food came it was hot and delicious. While eating, the restaurant stated to fill up and then there were 10 people waiting for a table. After finishing our meals, we realized that we just came early and that this restaurant was a very popular place to eat in Gorham. Definitely recommend it and advise to arrive early because it does get very busy quickly.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dennis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

An interesting venue with good service and food .The atmosphere was relaxed and we would probably have visited again but they were shut for 2 out of the 3 days that we were in the area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank tobia11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
180 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Great little pub with a nice vintage atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

We'd heard the Saalt Pub had great poutine, and I'm pleased to say we'd heard correctly. The Depot in nearby Berlin sells it too, but it's done just right at Saalt: thick gravy, white cheddar curds, and a healthy dose of fries. The microbrew selection is limited to just a few varieties, but there's a lot of liquor available. It's a family run place, and everyone who served us was really friendly and quick. Wishing we could've tried more of their amazingly global menu but we weren't in town long enough. The interior is pretty small and filled to capacity when we were there, so plan ahead if you're a big group. Highly recommended little pub.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GlobalVagabonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A fine place for lunch or dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

This is a very good, moderate-priced restaurant with interesting cooking. Service can be very slow, but whose in a rush here is the far North.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alec B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saalt Pub also viewed

 
Gorham, White Mountains
 

Been to Saalt Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing