We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So close to perfection but...”
Review of Joe Dodge Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gorham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Joe Dodge Lodge
GreenLeadersGold level
England
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“So close to perfection but...”
Reviewed 29 October 2012 via mobile

We stayed here and hiked for three days. The staff here are very helpful and informative. We went on a guided hike which was free with a chap from the AMC. He was incredibly knowledgeable and made the hike up to the ledge a real experience! The food is much better here than The Highland Centre. I really enjoyed dinner each night and the breakfast muffins are worth getting up for - despite aching calves. There is a real homely feel here with a very comfortable bed and fireplace lit (gas) Each evening. However my criticism is we stayed in the room dubbed Beech. We could hear absolutely everything going on in the staff room next door. I would never stay in that room again as we could hear drawers being opened, talking on the phone, etc they really need to do something about insulating the rooms as the walls are paper thin.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perrygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AMC L, General Manager at Joe Dodge Lodge, responded to this review, 12 November 2012
Thank you for your thoughtful review. We’re very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the free, guided hike to Square Ledge as well as the meals and atmosphere that we offer at Joe Dodge Lodge. We apologize for any inconvenience as a result of the sound issues specific to the room you stayed in, and would like to let you know that we're in the process of an ongoing effort to minimize noise in the lodge. Our additional soundproofing efforts will ensure that future stays at Joe Dodge Lodge are relaxing and that sound disturbance will be kept to a minimum for all guests.

--Vinnie Spiotti, AMC Joe Dodge Lodge Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    36
    8
    3
    5
See reviews for
37
28
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Norwell, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I'd be the first to say - Joe Dodge may not be for everyone. But, if you're an outdoor enthusiast, or simply enjoy being connected with nature (and with other people who are connected with nature), it's a joy.

Joe Dodge lodge rooms are rustic feeling, but not old. The furniture seems to come right out of the LL Bean catalog. The rooms are a little small, but very comfortable. We also found the shared bathroom (just down the hall) to be just fine. Showers were hot, and bathrooms were clean.

We also love how Joe Dodge includes your meals -- something often overlooked. It also makes the prices seem much more reasonable, when you factor in dinner and breakfast with the room rate. Being AMC members also saved us a bunch.

Probably the best thing about Joe Dodge -- you're right at Pinkham Notch, so whether you're beginning your day or ending your day, you don't need to drive anywhere, which is great.

So again, not for everyone, but for us, this place is a god-send...and we're happy it's there. Nice job AMC.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east coast
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Recently renovated rooms, convenient location, with fireplaces in the library and sitting area. Communal meals (breakfast especially good-oatmeal, eggs, bacon, pancakes, yogurt, cereal, muffins/coffee cake) . Breakfast till 9:00 am, dinner at 6 pm. Given tickets for each meal when you register. Very clean bathrooms down the hall. Negatives-thin walls, dinner at set time, and no fruit/healthy dessert. Hiking trails right outside.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rednissan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Joe Dodge often figures in the center of our hiking itinerary, and our most recent experience did not disappoint one bit. My husband and I stayed at JD on the night prior to traversing the presidentials, and on the night that we fininshed. I can't even tell you how awesome it was to come down out of the mountains after four days of strenuous climbing to the welcoming room, hot showers, excellent food choices, and the unwritten but clearly understood policy of being quiet and respectful after hours. We have stayed at JD often, but this was the first in the dead of summer, and I thought it would have been noiser. We were pleasantly surprised. A clean room, towels, hot showers, comfortable lounge areas, social hours, and two amazing full meals; as AMC members, it continues to be the best value around. Perfect!

Room Tip: There's more than just dorm room accomodations, and the value is still very good. Private rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We just returned from our family (myself, husband and 4 year old) vacation at the Joe Dodge Lodge. I almost canceled our reservation after reading a review stating that there had been a bed bug issue. So glad I didn't! I called and spoke with the manager who assured me that measures such as detectors, visual inspection, specialized trained sniffing dogs, exterminators, and renovations, have all been (and continue to be) a part of assuring NO BED BUGS! What more could you ask for? I only wish that all the rentals I go to would take such precautions. Needless to say, we did not detect any bugs of any type to be a part of our family vacation.
This was our first stay at an AMC lodge. Although we enjoy the outdoors, we did not choose the lodge with hiking in mind. We actually chose this vacation because of the price! It was the most affordable family vacation I could find, that actually included breakfast and dinner.
The dinning hall was a big part of the charm for us during our stay. Dinner is served "family style," allowing opportunity to meet interesting people from all over the USA, and abroad.
Dinner started out with homemade bread (so good), followed by delicious soup, salad, and then the main course that always included a vegetarian option, and then dessert. I can't say that I always loved everything that was served, but with so many options, I never felt dissatisfied. Breakfast was "serve yourself" with many options from cereal to pancakes. The staff made me special egg whites every morning- with a smile.
The staff was eager to give advice on hikes, activities that fit our families needs. We really enjoyed a trip to the Glen Ellis Falls that is down the road from the lodge. No need to take a car as it is a short distance to the tail head. Another day, we took a more difficult hike that took about 2 hours and led to Lost Pond. Beautiful!
Our days consisted of breakfast, hiking, back to the lodge for lunch (you have to purchase lunch), finding swimming holes, dinner and then bed. We did not drive anywhere for three days, and had no problems finding family fun. We were oh so very sad to leave-
Thanks Joe for the memories!

Room Tip: The bedroom doors SLAM when opened and shut. We were woke many times in the night, and we had 2 box...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sunshinegirl39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Staying in a pine-paneled room in a building with its own library and not one but two fireplaces available at the touch of a switch: a blissful retreat, and one from which you can ski right out onto Mount Washington. Ample, well-prepared meals with interesting hikers and skiers to compare field notes amongst, served in a room whose windows afford views of the peaks and or the clouds thereon.

Room Tip: Rent a bunk in a shared room, or reserve a private double or family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank visitingparents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We've stayed at Joe Dodge twice now - once in the summer at the end of a 4-day hut-to-hut hike, and once in the winter as part of an AMC-sponsored weekend. There are some things to know before you go if you don't want to be disappointed.

1) Prices are per person, not per room. This is because breakfast and dinner are included.

2) If you're a single, you may end up in a room with bunk beds and a roommate. It's just part of that lodge experience.

3) Breakfast is buffet-style and dinner is either family style or buffet-style. With both, you can expect with one meat main dish, one vegetarian main dish, a couple of sides, one soup and bread. You really can't be very picky. But the food is good, simple and filling, and tastes like the best thing in the world after a long day hiking, skiing or snowshoeing.

4) Yes, communal bathrooms, one per floor, with no paper towels. There are separate shower stalls with shower curtains and one bath towel is provided, but we always bring a camping hand towel for drying our hands.

5) The walls are thin and sound travels. On our last visit, there was a huge group of teenagers staying in adjacent rooms, and we got to listen to teen drama well into quiet hours. I think Saturdays are the worst because they're the busiest. The other nights we were there were fairly quiet. Again, after being out on the trail all day, I could have slept through a hurricane, so it didn't bother me too much.

All this might make Joe Dodge sound like an unpleasant place to stay, and if you're looking for a posh B&B, you'll probably be disappointed. So why stay at Joe Dodge? The atmosphere and history are amazing. The staff are friendly, knowledgeable and passionate about the outdoors. The location is fantastic - on a clear day, looking up and seeing Mount Washington looming over you is unbelievable. Just steps from the front door are trails that lead all over the White Mountains backcountry. The people you meet during dinner come from all walks of life but are there for the same reasons as you. If you love the community and experience of the backcountry, and don't mind skipping the amenities, then you'll love staying at Joe Dodge Lodge.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank turnipbecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorham
10.1 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
8.8 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
8.4 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
299 reviews
10.0 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
8.3 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joe Dodge Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joe Dodge Lodge

Property: Joe Dodge Lodge
Address: Route 16, Gorham, NH 03846
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Gorham
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Gorham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinkham Notch has been a hub for hiking, climbing, snowshoeing, and skiing on the Presidential Range of the White Mountains since the 1920s. With access to Tuckerman Ravine and the Wildcat Range just outside your door, Joe Dodge Lodge provides the perfect opportunity to tackle more challenging terrain while offering beginner hikers, climbers, and skiers a chance to practice their skills. The Lodge is located on the Appalachian Trail in the White Mountain National Forest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Joe Dodge Hotel Gorham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing