We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfort and value for your group”
Review of Joe Dodge Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gorham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Joe Dodge Lodge
GreenLeadersGold level
Burlington, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“comfort and value for your group”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We take a small group, mostly retirees, every winter for a few days. It's like returning back home!! The staff is super friendly and knowledgeable. Joe Dodge Lodge is always reasonably priced, but go midweek and it is an even better deal. Our group enjoys downhill skiing at Wildcat, x-c skiing at Great Glen and Jackson, and winter hiking right out the front door. There are always a few who hike to the base of Tuckerman's. BYOB for a social hour in the fireplaced living room before dinner. Sometimes other guests join us, perhaps it's because we have a piano player among us.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ellen521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    35
    8
    3
    5
See reviews for
35
28
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Absolutely the best value.
This is no 4-star hotel, it caters to hikers.
Shared bathroom and showers.
You can't beat the price for a clean and comfy room, good food for supper and breakfast, especially after a long hike in the area.
The mattress was a little bit hard.
Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: We had a large family room with one double and two bunk beds. Facing east, the sun helps get you up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pierreCA22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RI
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Stayed there for a weekend with my young son. While it may not be geared for tourists this place is great for those who want to do some serious hiking. My son has been hiking with me since he could walk so really enjoyed hiking (and making it to the top of) Tuckerman's Ravine.

The Joe Dodge Lodge is amazingly clean, especially when you consider the high volume of hikers coming in muddy and dirty from the trails. The rooms are comfortable and quiet hours seemed to be followed by the hikers. Everyone just wants to crash after a day on the trails.

The food is excellent and there is plenty of it. Dinner is either buffet or family style depending what night it is. Breakfast is buffet style and is hot and plentiful. Be sure to order a trail lunch the night before for your hike. I recommend the wraps with either turkey or ham. Here again the portions are plentiful.

If you want to kick back after a hike but don't want to stick in your room, the lodge has a very relaxing library. I found plenty of books on history of the local area.

The Joe Dodge Lodge is not for everybody. You have to really love hiking and be looking for a place to just eat and sleep after a long day on the trails. This is not a spa and not a hotel. My only suggestion would be to add a few more showers. Although getting one was never a problem for us.

Overall Joe Dodge Lodge is a great deal.

Room Tip: You might want to choose a room that is not so close to the service desk. The employees are fine but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HikingYaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I had a work trip to SE NH and decided to tack on a quick visit to Mount Washington. To hold down costs I was planning to camp until I found the Joe Dodge Lodge. For around $55 for AMC members, you get a bunk bed in a shared room, expert advice, free use of crampons and hiking poles, as well as breakfast and dinner. That price point is really unbelievable for what you get.

The meals were outstanding and varied, with a wide array of choices for meat-eaters and vegetarians. The rooms are clean and functional, with linens and towels provided. The staff are all extremely nice and courteous, and extremely knowledgeable about the White Mountains. And the best part, the lodge is literally at the trailhead for the main routes to hike Mt. Washington. I highly recommend a visit to the Lodge.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Accommodations at this AMC lodge come with a full breakfast and an excellent dinner. Even the coffee was better than I expected. Lodge rooms are very basic with bathroom down the hall, kind of a couple steps up from upscale camping, but with comfortable, fireplaced living rooms & library. The draw is that you are surrounded by mountains, waterfalls, and hiking trails for the inexperienced to hardcore explorers. Bonus that the lodge lends hiking boots and poles for free. Lots of advice available on trails, weather conditions, gear. etc. It's a popular point of departure for Tuckerman's Ravine.

Room Tip: 2-story building, fairly noisy, but quiet hours 10 PM to 6:30 AM.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank btayavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

My boyfriend and I were planning to spend the long Canadian May weekend (Queen's b-day) in the Mount Washington area. It was a bit too early for camping, B&B's weren't what we were looking for and renting a condo and having to cook wasn't in our plans! So we opted for the Joe Dodge Lodge in PInkham Notch. It was our second stay at this lodge and it was great. Our plans for the weekend: play outside and relax! The area is beautiful. It's a perfect starting point for cycling, regardless of the direction or the distance (mind you, there are hills) and more than perfect for hiking. No need to take the car...except of course for some shopping at the factory outlets in North Conway. We had reserved a double bunk with a shared bath. When we got there, our assigned room gave off a very strong scent of paint. We were quickly relocated to another room, located on the second floor. This new room had a double bunk and two single beds so the room was quite a bit bigger offering more wiggle room. The beds are comfortable, linens clean! All of the staff was extremely friendly and very helpful . The meals (breakfast and dinner) were plentiful, tasty and suited for the activities we had lined up. In addition, they allow bringing alchool into the cafeteria. The only downside was that the food was not quite as hot as we would have liked. The room was clean and comfortable as was the bathroom. The free showers had plenty of hot water. Friday night and saturday night short movies were presented in the cafeteria. On our last night it was raining so we took advantage of the library where we curled up in front of the fireplace with a book, while sipping a glass of wine. Of course, we weren't in the busy tourist season. However, the last time we stayed at the lodge, it was in August. Our evaluation of that stay was just as positive as this time around. If you are looking for a party place, this is not for you. But if you want to spend sometime in a relaxing environment, Joe Dodge is the place to be. Our plan was to kick back and enjoy! Mission accomplished!

Room Tip: The double bunks are fine but if you have lots of stuff or have a tendancy to sprawl ... you might f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poussinnetta2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

If you are an Appalachian Mountain Club member or an enthusiastic outdoors person, you might like Joe Dodge, which I think may also be known as Pinkham Notch Lodge. You cannot rate this lodge the same way you rate other hotels - apples and oranges. The rooms are smallish if you get a private room; bunk-like rooms are available as well. Your probably will not get a private bathroom.

But, the dinners and breakfasts are terrific if you can abide eating family style and not having much choice over what is for dinner. Breakfast is buffet-style.

In addition, there are lounges with massive fireplaces and books, puzzles, friendly guests. Often there is loaner equipment that you can demo and discounts on lift tickets.

Finally, there is expertise on the local trails, ski areas, and so on.

Room Tip: Call and ask about the options - not your typical hotel options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorham
8.8 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
10.1 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
9.8 mi away
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
The Lodge at Bretton Woods
#2 of 2 in Bretton Woods
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
805 reviews
9.2 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,471 reviews
9.9 mi away
Top Notch Inn
Top Notch Inn
#1 of 7 in Gorham
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joe Dodge Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joe Dodge Lodge

Property: Joe Dodge Lodge
Address: Route 16, Gorham, NH 03846
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Gorham
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Gorham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pinkham Notch has been a hub for hiking, climbing, snowshoeing, and skiing on the Presidential Range of the White Mountains since the 1920s. With access to Tuckerman Ravine and the Wildcat Range just outside your door, Joe Dodge Lodge provides the perfect opportunity to tackle more challenging terrain while offering beginner hikers, climbers, and skiers a chance to practice their skills. The Lodge is located on the Appalachian Trail in the White Mountain National Forest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Joe Dodge Hotel Gorham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing