We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Top Notch Inn
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Mt Madison Inn & Suites(Gorham)(Great Value!)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royalty Inn(Gorham)
US$113
US$106
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Town & Country Inn and Resort(Gorham)(Great Value!)
US$132
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Northern Peak Motor Inn(Gorham)(Great Value!)
US$76
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn At Bowman(Randolph)
US$271
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni Mount Washington Resort(Bretton Woods)(Great Value!)
US$237
US$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club(Jackson)(Great Value!)
US$104
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nordic Village Resort(Bartlett)(Great Value!)
US$292
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (730)
Filter reviews
730 results
Traveller rating
430
223
47
18
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
430
223
47
18
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspinkham housebike weekendmadison roomrestaurant next doorroom was cleanwhite mountainsstay there againwithin walking distancepool and hot tubgreat place to staybunk bedssanta's villageauto roadnew hampshirestaff was friendlyfront desk staffstate park
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
641 - 646 of 730 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2012

In October of this year, 2011, my dad, brother, brother's girlfriend and I took a road trip to New England. One of our destinations was to see Mt. Washington in New Hampshire. We came across Top Notch Inn, and we were lucky enough to get the "Pinkham". It is not a hotel 'room', but rather it is an apartment inside the motel.

From the outside, it looks like every other motel room - exterior door - like a typical low priced motel. However, once you stop inside, you go into a foyer area where you may hang jackets and coats. Then, once you go through another door. you will find a fully furnished and stocked kitchen, dining room, living room and a 1/2 bath, and upstairs, you will find three very large bedrooms and another bathroom!! It was unbelievable, and just plain COOL! The Pinkham had a back screen door as well leading right to a restaurant.

The apartment was warm, cozy and beautiful. Everything needed was included - a fridge, microwave, stove, dishes, pots, pans, books to read, chairs, couches, a dining room table and chairs, beds, dressers, closets, tables, tvs and the typical items such as towels, toiletries and even cute little trinkets to spruce the place up! It was so nice that I could probably live there comfortably - I did NOT want to leave!

The staff were extremely friendly, everything was clean and safe, and we had a great time.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelinman6969, Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Tara we're happy to see you enjoyed your experience here at the Top Notch Inn! The Pinkham House is one of our customers favorite accommodations, and we agree it is quite special. We welcome you back to Gorham NH again this year for another special stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

we had a wonderful time at Top Notch Inn,4 nights in September 2011. We really recomend it.
Great location, nice room, friendly staf.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Adriana195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelinman6969, Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2012

Glad you had a wonderful time here at the Top Notch Inn! We're happy you enjoyed the location, room & staff. Come back soon and see us again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Well placed.
Comfortable, well equipped rooms.
Very helpful staff

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SolihullBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelinman6969, Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us! We agree, our rooms are comfortable, and the staff is very helpful! Please visit us again soon~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

My wife and I have stayed overnight twice at the Top Notch, in 2009 and 2011, both in mid-October. We came the second time because we'd enjoyed the first. Both times, the second by our request, we stayed in the "Mount Adams Room", one of the smaller quarters at the front of the building.
We found the staff friendly and helpful, and the inn a cheerful, comfortable spot. I am sure it would make for an equally pleasant stay in any of the four seasons, as well as in between when we were there.
Thank you, Top Notch Inn, and good luck in your future affairs.
Name: Paul S.
Date of Stay: October 11 - 12, 2011
"Mount Adams Room"

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelinman6969, Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2011

We're glad you enjoyed our Country Inn rooms. We appreciate your coming back a second time. Returning happy customers are our biggest form of flattery :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Do not stay in the Washington or similar room. It is only a few feet from the main highway and the traffic, especially the trucks that start passing non-stop around 04.00 am, is very noisy and seem virtually in the room. We had to be relocated for our second and third nights and the staff did not seem surprised by our request. It was even implied that some previous occupants had turned on the room fan in attempts to drown out the traffic noise.
A disconcerting fact is that the motel runs a competition awarding prizes for writing presumably a positive review. This cannot be to the motel's advantage in the long run as it must raise doubts as to the true validity of some of the reports.

Room Tip: The "special rooms" are very close to the highway and ours was extremely noisy. Avoid
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AH C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelinman6969, Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2011

We did have a photo contest this season, and the prize was a complimentary room for two and dinner at Libb'y Restaurant. We do not award prizes for Trip Advisor reviews :) We appreciate your comments, and our customers comfort is as always our concern. We thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews