We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never been so humiliated”
Review of Top Notch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Top Notch Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I went with my husband to reserve a room for our anniversary, three weeks ahead of time. I asked if it would be possible to see a room before making a reservation and the lady told me "You can't afford to stay here." I was speechless. I have no idea why she said that, but I was so embarrassed. I told her that I had already looked the inn up online, that I knew what their rates are, and that it wasn't an issue. She looked at us and said, "You really don't want to stay here." Her point made, we left.

I travel a lot for business and have stayed in some of the nicest hotels in New York City, DC, and oversees and I have never been told by anyone that I "couldn't afford" their services. I didn't ask for a discount or any type of special rate. From the other reviews here, it must be great to be in the special class of people that can stay at this cheap looking motel in the middle of nowhere.

We ended up staying at Mt. Madison which was cheaper and had completely redone rooms with brand new furniture, TVs, and a much nicer pool.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
6  Thank carolyn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelinman6969, Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2012

We sincerely apologize if you had a bad experience while stopping by our motel. We do not recall the incident, and our staff is very professional and friendly. We will continue to improve our customer service and thank you for the opportunity for us to further improve. We hope you enjoy your time here in Gorham New Hampshire.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (724)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

634 - 640 of 724 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2012

Out trip to Northern New Hampshire was awesome. We traveled the north country area. We have previously stopped in North Conway but this year decided to keep heading north. It was fun. Stayed at the top NOtch two nights. It definitely was a good value. Room was recently redone and the colors were nice. Quiet and clean. Would definitly return again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelinman6969, Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2012

Thank you for staying with us, and for your compliments. We are so glad you enjoyed your time in the "north country" and that you found us here in Gorham. We do take pride in our recently remodeled rooms, and the cleanliness of the property all around. Please come back and visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

In October of this year, 2011, my dad, brother, brother's girlfriend and I took a road trip to New England. One of our destinations was to see Mt. Washington in New Hampshire. We came across Top Notch Inn, and we were lucky enough to get the "Pinkham". It is not a hotel 'room', but rather it is an apartment inside the motel.

From the outside, it looks like every other motel room - exterior door - like a typical low priced motel. However, once you stop inside, you go into a foyer area where you may hang jackets and coats. Then, once you go through another door. you will find a fully furnished and stocked kitchen, dining room, living room and a 1/2 bath, and upstairs, you will find three very large bedrooms and another bathroom!! It was unbelievable, and just plain COOL! The Pinkham had a back screen door as well leading right to a restaurant.

The apartment was warm, cozy and beautiful. Everything needed was included - a fridge, microwave, stove, dishes, pots, pans, books to read, chairs, couches, a dining room table and chairs, beds, dressers, closets, tables, tvs and the typical items such as towels, toiletries and even cute little trinkets to spruce the place up! It was so nice that I could probably live there comfortably - I did NOT want to leave!

The staff were extremely friendly, everything was clean and safe, and we had a great time.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelinman6969, Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2012

Tara we're happy to see you enjoyed your experience here at the Top Notch Inn! The Pinkham House is one of our customers favorite accommodations, and we agree it is quite special. We welcome you back to Gorham NH again this year for another special stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

we had a wonderful time at Top Notch Inn,4 nights in September 2011. We really recomend it.
Great location, nice room, friendly staf.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Adriana195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelinman6969, Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2012

Glad you had a wonderful time here at the Top Notch Inn! We're happy you enjoyed the location, room & staff. Come back soon and see us again :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Well placed.
Comfortable, well equipped rooms.
Very helpful staff

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SolihullBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelinman6969, Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about us! We agree, our rooms are comfortable, and the staff is very helpful! Please visit us again soon~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

My wife and I have stayed overnight twice at the Top Notch, in 2009 and 2011, both in mid-October. We came the second time because we'd enjoyed the first. Both times, the second by our request, we stayed in the "Mount Adams Room", one of the smaller quarters at the front of the building.
We found the staff friendly and helpful, and the inn a cheerful, comfortable spot. I am sure it would make for an equally pleasant stay in any of the four seasons, as well as in between when we were there.
Thank you, Top Notch Inn, and good luck in your future affairs.
Name: Paul S.
Date of Stay: October 11 - 12, 2011
"Mount Adams Room"

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelinman6969, Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2011

We're glad you enjoyed our Country Inn rooms. We appreciate your coming back a second time. Returning happy customers are our biggest form of flattery :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Do not stay in the Washington or similar room. It is only a few feet from the main highway and the traffic, especially the trucks that start passing non-stop around 04.00 am, is very noisy and seem virtually in the room. We had to be relocated for our second and third nights and the staff did not seem surprised by our request. It was even implied that some previous occupants had turned on the room fan in attempts to drown out the traffic noise.
A disconcerting fact is that the motel runs a competition awarding prizes for writing presumably a positive review. This cannot be to the motel's advantage in the long run as it must raise doubts as to the true validity of some of the reports.

Room Tip: The "special rooms" are very close to the highway and ours was extremely noisy. Avoid
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AH C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelinman6969, Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2011

We did have a photo contest this season, and the prize was a complimentary room for two and dinner at Libb'y Restaurant. We do not award prizes for Trip Advisor reviews :) We appreciate your comments, and our customers comfort is as always our concern. We thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorham
0.4 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
1.7 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
0.6 mi away
Royalty Inn
Royalty Inn
#3 of 7 in Gorham
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
15.5 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,844 reviews
19.7 mi away
Mountain View Grand Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Top Notch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top Notch Inn

Address: 265 Main St, Center of Town, Gorham, NH 03581-1510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Gorham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Price Range: £57 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Top Notch Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
$ave! Book direct we can avoid commissions, and pass the savings onto you! Great location in the center of town, walk to restaurants, café & wood fired pizza! Close to Story Land, Santa's Village, Mt Washington and many tourists' favorites. All rooms have free high speed WIFI, 32" HDTV, fridge, coffee maker and microwave. We have rooms with kings, queens or doubles. Groups and families love the NEW Mt Moriah Cottage next door, with 5 bedrooms sleeping up to 10 & the Family Suite with fully equipped kitchen, spacious living room, and three bedrooms that sleep 8 comfortably. We are dog friendly in select rooms and 100% smoke-free throughout with newly renovated and Eco-Friendly rooms and cottage. Close to: MT WASHINGTON STORY LAND SANTAS VILLAGE MOOSE TOURS HIKING,BIKING,RAFTING AND ALL THE NATURAL OUTDOORS HAS TO OFFER! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Top Notch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Top Notch Hotel Gorham
a Top Notch Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing