We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money”
Review of Top Notch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Top Notch Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Exceptionally clean, great value and very friendly local service.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matilda0175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    182
    43
    17
    11
See reviews for
188
246
29
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Daphne, Alabama
Level Contributor
130 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Our first impression was positive: the grounds are beautifully planted and well maintained. We were fortunate to be located in the Mt. Madison room, on the second floor above the office. It was very bright and cheery, with windows on two sides. We were right next to the road, but weren't bothered by road noise. The room was exceptionally clean, and the staff very friendly and helpful. We walked to the downtown area. There are a couple of nice restaurants nearby, with discounts for staying at the inn. It was an easy drive to Mt. Washington. Wifi connection was a little spotty. Great value. We would stay here again.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank VMSTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plaistow, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Wonderful place to stay. Nice, clean rooms, friendly staff. Have stayed here a couple of times, and it's going to be the only place from now on. Central location with two great resturants within a stones throw. The staff even helped us with pictures w/"Sir stands a lot". We highly recommend this place !!
Mike B.
May 27, 2012
Room 112

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margobcollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Last weekend I was looking to stay somewhere in Northern New Hampshire the evening before I headed up to Mt. Washington to go hiking. I came across the Top Notch Inn after cruising through the nice town of North Conway NH. We were looking for a place that was comfortable and affordable and the Top Notch was it!! The rooms were very clean and the staff was so kind. I will be telling my other hiking friends to stay at the Top Notch for sure! I am looking forward to returning later this summer for more outdoor activities. Thanks so much for the beautiful stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowflake156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

I went with my husband to reserve a room for our anniversary, three weeks ahead of time. I asked if it would be possible to see a room before making a reservation and the lady told me "You can't afford to stay here." I was speechless. I have no idea why she said that, but I was so embarrassed. I told her that I had already looked the inn up online, that I knew what their rates are, and that it wasn't an issue. She looked at us and said, "You really don't want to stay here." Her point made, we left.

I travel a lot for business and have stayed in some of the nicest hotels in New York City, DC, and oversees and I have never been told by anyone that I "couldn't afford" their services. I didn't ask for a discount or any type of special rate. From the other reviews here, it must be great to be in the special class of people that can stay at this cheap looking motel in the middle of nowhere.

We ended up staying at Mt. Madison which was cheaper and had completely redone rooms with brand new furniture, TVs, and a much nicer pool.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank carolyn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelinman6969, Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
We sincerely apologize if you had a bad experience while stopping by our motel. We do not recall the incident, and our staff is very professional and friendly. We will continue to improve our customer service and thank you for the opportunity for us to further improve. We hope you enjoy your time here in Gorham New Hampshire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Conway, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Out trip to Northern New Hampshire was awesome. We traveled the north country area. We have previously stopped in North Conway but this year decided to keep heading north. It was fun. Stayed at the top NOtch two nights. It definitely was a good value. Room was recently redone and the colors were nice. Quiet and clean. Would definitly return again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelinman6969, Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Thank you for staying with us, and for your compliments. We are so glad you enjoyed your time in the "north country" and that you found us here in Gorham. We do take pride in our recently remodeled rooms, and the cleanliness of the property all around. Please come back and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian Head, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

In October of this year, 2011, my dad, brother, brother's girlfriend and I took a road trip to New England. One of our destinations was to see Mt. Washington in New Hampshire. We came across Top Notch Inn, and we were lucky enough to get the "Pinkham". It is not a hotel 'room', but rather it is an apartment inside the motel.

From the outside, it looks like every other motel room - exterior door - like a typical low priced motel. However, once you stop inside, you go into a foyer area where you may hang jackets and coats. Then, once you go through another door. you will find a fully furnished and stocked kitchen, dining room, living room and a 1/2 bath, and upstairs, you will find three very large bedrooms and another bathroom!! It was unbelievable, and just plain COOL! The Pinkham had a back screen door as well leading right to a restaurant.

The apartment was warm, cozy and beautiful. Everything needed was included - a fridge, microwave, stove, dishes, pots, pans, books to read, chairs, couches, a dining room table and chairs, beds, dressers, closets, tables, tvs and the typical items such as towels, toiletries and even cute little trinkets to spruce the place up! It was so nice that I could probably live there comfortably - I did NOT want to leave!

The staff were extremely friendly, everything was clean and safe, and we had a great time.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelinman6969, Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Tara we're happy to see you enjoyed your experience here at the Top Notch Inn! The Pinkham House is one of our customers favorite accommodations, and we agree it is quite special. We welcome you back to Gorham NH again this year for another special stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorham
0.6 mi away
Royalty Inn
Royalty Inn
#3 of 7 in Gorham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
1.7 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
17.1 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
22.6 mi away
Bartlett Inn
Bartlett Inn
#1 of 12 in Bartlett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Top Notch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top Notch Inn

Property: Top Notch Inn
Address: 265 Main St, Center of Town, Gorham, NH 03581-1510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Gorham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Top Notch Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
$ave! Book direct we can avoid commissions, and pass the savings onto you! Great location in the center of town, walk to restaurants, café & wood fired pizza! Close to Story Land, Santa's Village, Mt Washington and many tourists' favorites. All rooms have free high speed WIFI, 32" HDTV, fridge, coffee maker and microwave. We have rooms with kings, queens or doubles. Groups and families love the NEW Mt Moriah Cottage next door, with 5 bedrooms sleeping up to 10 & the Family Suite with fully equipped kitchen, spacious living room, and three bedrooms that sleep 8 comfortably. We are dog friendly in select rooms and 100% smoke-free throughout with newly renovated and Eco-Friendly rooms and cottage. Close to: MT WASHINGTON STORY LAND SANTAS VILLAGE MOOSE TOURS HIKING,BIKING,RAFTING AND ALL THE NATURAL OUTDOORS HAS TO OFFER! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Top Notch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Top Notch Hotel Gorham
a Top Notch Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing