We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Top Notch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Top Notch Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Andrews, Canada
Level Contributor
123 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

This is our second stay at the Top Notch Inn, they have a really wonderful staff. Friendly, helpful people who go beyond trying to be helpful . Would recommend this Inn to anyone travelling with children and it is conveniently located to all attractions.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ToodSt_Stephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelinman6969, Front Office Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
Wow! We are delighted to know how much you enjoy staying with us :) Customers like you make our day. Please come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    182
    43
    17
    11
See reviews for
188
246
29
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pa.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed here 3 days atving Jerico Park and siteseeing. the rooms were nice, clean and the beds were comfortable.The only reason I gave the motel 4 stars was the noise at night. We sat well off the highway but the trucks going by during the night were noisy because there was a bump in the road out front and when they hit it it sounded like the truck was in your room. But otherwise we had a great time and would stay here again. Also we noticed that the motel was full every night while other ones weren't this should tell you something.

Room Tip: Go for any rooms in the back of the motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rwmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelinman6969, General Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
We want to thank you for taking the time to write a review, and for all of your compliments. This is the first we have heard about the "bump in the night" and we are investigating what it may have been. Thank you for staying with us, we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

We spent two nights in the Mt. Madison room of the Top Notch Inn while we did some hiking on Mt. Washington. The registration person was lovely and very informative about places to eat. The room was wonderful, charming and spotless with lots of space for us to organize our hiking gear. We were very pleased and felt well cared for.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelinman6969, General Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
We also are pleased you felt well cared for! So glad you enjoyed one of our five country inn rooms. We also have Washington, Jefferson, Adams and Monroe! Thanks for the nice review, and we hope to see you again when you return to climb more of the Presidential mountain range.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billerica, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

We just finished another mini vacation in the beautiful mountains of New Hampshire. Not only do we love all there is to do, but we especially LUV spending it at the Top Notch Inn. We always feel like we're going home when we stay at the Top Notch and they are the only place we do stay when in that area. What started out as an accidental stay has turned into our most favorite place for the past 5 years !!!! Starting with the friendly reception, to the clean & pleasant rooms, to the beautiful grounds that are always well kept. Add to that the hundreds of wonderful people we've met over the years - it makes for a G-R-E-A-T stay!! We are counting down the days till we can "return home" again !! Thank-you Sally, Nancy, Hannah, Bob, Marilyn et all.

Paula F.
8/5/12-8/9/12
Room 109

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelinman6969, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
Paula, you certainly are one of our favorite customers and we look forward to your stay each and every time! We missed you last year, and glad you are up and around playing back in your beloved White Mountains! Welcome back, and come visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

My daughter and I just returned from a three night stay at the top notch. The staff was very nice and helpful. The room was very clean and fresh. The room was basic with all needed items. My daughter loved the small pull out chair for her bed. We enjoyed the pool, and walking to a nearby restaurant and mini golf. The pool area was clean and met out needs. There were many other motels along main st, and it was hard to choose just based online, other reviews were helpful in finding the top notch. We would happily stay there the next time we are in the area. There is a large walmart down the road if you need supplies. We enjoyed our dinner at J's, it was much better food and service Than mr, pizza which was also on main street. If you have young kids check out the large playground at the junction of main st and rt 16. This area was ideal as it seemed to be about half way between santas village and story land, which we visited on separate days. Thank you for a good job

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Massachusetts_Dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelinman6969, Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, 10 August 2012
We are very fortunate to have wonderful customers like you who appreciate what we provide here at the Top Notch. We really enjoyed having you and your daughter stay with us! Thank you for your kind words, and hope to have you stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

While we have stayed here in the past in the regular rooms, we decided we would try out the Mt. Adams and Mt. Washington rooms. Both couples in our party were very happy with our rooms. They were quiet (some road noise to be expected since you are closer to the roads in these rooms) and clean. They were both a good value for the price. We all would have appreciated a refrigerator and a microwave would have been nice for a longer stay. All of the people we encountered at the front desk were very helpful and friendly. We will be returning to the area again and wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Top Notch Inn.

Room Tip: The Mt. rooms are much nicer for the price.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank TravPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelinman6969, Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Being a repeat customer so many times, and referring us to your friends is very appreciated. We will certainly save a room with a refrigerator and microwave for next time you stay with us.
Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

We arrived and were greeted by Nancy, given a map and discounts of the area restaurants. We used the pool and had lots of fun even though our weekend get away had lots of rain, it was warm enough to still swim. Would definitely stay there again. Restaurant next door J's had great food as well. We would definitely recommend this inn.

Room Tip: They have various rooms for different situations, ours had two double beds and fit three adults and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryanneCLymanNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Travelinman6969, Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Thank you for the recommendation. We are happy you enjoyed your stay in the rain and hope to see you on a sunny day soon. Our pool is heated by solar panels during sunny days and stays warm even if we have some rainy days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorham
0.6 mi away
Royalty Inn
Royalty Inn
#3 of 7 in Gorham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
1.7 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
17.1 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
15.5 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Top Notch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top Notch Inn

Property: Top Notch Inn
Address: 265 Main St, Center of Town, Gorham, NH 03581-1510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Gorham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Top Notch Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book direct with us and $ave! We can avoid commissions, and pass the savings onto you, our guest. AAA approved, great location in the town center. Walk to restaurants, café & wood fired pizza! Close to Story Land, Santa's Village, Mt Washington and many tourists' favorites. All rooms have free high speed WIFI, 32" HDTV, fridge, coffee maker and microwave. We have rooms with kings and bunks or doubles and twin & deluxe king rooms. Groups and families love the NEW Mt Moriah Cottage next door, with 5 bedrooms sleeping up to 10 & the Pinkham House with fully equipped kitchen, spacious living room, and three bedrooms that sleep 8 comfortably. We are dog friendly in select rooms and 100% smoke-free throughout. Mt Washington Auto Road and Great Glen Trails are 10 minutes away, discount available. Story Land, Santa's Village, hiking, rafting & Moose tours all close by. Newly renovated and Eco-Friendly rooms and cottage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Top Notch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Top Notch Hotel Gorham
a Top Notch Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing