We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a first choice--not a choice!”
Review of Top Notch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Top Notch Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not a first choice--not a choice!”
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We "checked in" and "checked out" the same night. We arrived about 8 pm. We left by 9:30 p.m. We were greeted quite professionally by the clerk, Elaine, who handled our check in efficiently. However, when we got to our rooms--we had two reserved-- the interior smell of a musty substance was overwhelming. The bathroom smelled of sewer gas. Having respitory problems we realized we could not remain in this place overnight. The next issue was that the heat was not working. Elaine did fix this on a timely basis. Then the toilet would not handle a normal flush of waste. The motel is dated, and not very inviting. Later we found out, that the motel had given us 'pet friendly' rooms. UGH! The smell of the prior 'pets' and what must have been their leavings was totally unacceptable. We told Elaine we were not happy, and she did offer us another room, but, by this time we just felt with the respitory concerns we could not spend the night. Elaine was very gracious, gave us no difficulty in crediting our account for the original check in charge. We would not recommend this facility, unless substantial upgrades were made, e.g. new carpet, bedding, appointments, etc. Identifying the pet rooms to guests upon check in.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, 13 October 2012
Thank you for letting us know of these problems you had. We investigated these issues thoroughly, and we were unable to detect any of the "smells" you found. For precautionary measures we have completely stripped this room, and gave it deep through cleansing. We do take pride in our meticulously clean facility, and invite you to give us another try next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    182
    43
    17
    11
See reviews for
188
246
29
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

My husband and I have come to the White Mountains for a number of years now to enjoy the beautiful fall foliage and hiking the Presidential Range. We always stay at the Top Notch Inn. Usually we stay in the Mountain rooms, but this year we brought our pup, so we stayed in one of the dog-friendly standard rooms (rm 115). What sets this place apart is the service. Everyone we have ever encountered has been so friendly, courteous and helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable, a very good value. The location is perfect for access to some of the best hiking in the Northeast as well as the Kankamagus highway. After a day on the trails, we love grabbing a beer and dinner at J's next door. We also enjoy the White Mtn cafe for coffee and baked goods. Looking forward to trying out the Saalt Pub and Libby's Bistro the next time we are up. Thanks Top Notch Inn and see you next fall! Kim Y

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank psudopoddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, 13 October 2012
Great to have you stay with us again! We're glad to see you discovered some of the great restaurants Gorham has to offer, and that you and your "pup" enjoyed your stay here at the Top Notch. We'll see you next fall if not sooner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I have stayed at the Top Notch Inn 2 weekends in a row! First weekend was to take my son and his friend to Story Land, which wasn't far away, and the drive was beautiful! Second stay was for my 32nd Birthday and we went to Great Glen Trails which was amazing. Our stay at the Top Notch was wonderful. The service was great and the people at the front desk were very nice and very informative when it came to places to eat, shop and sight seeing. They also included 10% coupon to the very nice restaurant next door and if you brought your hotel receipt to Walsh's (A great place to have a breakfast buffet) they would give you 10% you meal there as well. When staying, we were able to swim in their heated pool (the weather was 64 degrees) and use their hot tub for later in the evenings. The Top Notch Inn is not only conveniently located in a great area, it's also a quiet little neighborhood too, and the price, in my opinion, was pretty good! SO needless to say, next time I heading up to the White Mountains area, I'll be choosing the Top Notch Inn again!

Room Tip: If you have a family of 3 or 4 or you're with friends or children, get the room with 2 doubles a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bow, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We have stayed at the Top Notch Inn several times when visiting the Gorham area. If you have a special vehicle or cargo, you are parked right outside your door. Comforting. The rooms are ground-level. We have never had an issue with cleanliness or odor - and we are pretty particular! Our last visit on Labor Day weekend, when the motel was full, was problem-free. On all visits the outdoor pool and hot tub were clean and in order. The location is perfect for us, close to White Mountain attractions while avoiding the hustle-bustle of North Conway. I don't go to the North Country for the shopping! We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Every summmer my friends and I travel to NH. The Top Notch is the Inn we have elected to stay from year to year for more then 10 years. The location is ideal for us as we are avid cyclist both road and montain. Over the years the Inn keeps on doing improvements. The rooms are spacious well kept, and the beds are very comfy. Nice recent flat screens, bigger fridge micro oven and coffee maker make our stay convevial. After a hot day bike riding or trekking a nice dip in the well kept pool is a blessing We are looking forward for next summer to return.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dominique C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, 29 September 2012
We are always pleased to see our wonderful guests from Montreal return year after year, several times a season! Thank you so much for staying with us, we appreciate your patronage and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Whenever I'm back in NH I try to stay at the Top Notch. Great location, great rooms, andof course Nordi the greeting dog. Bonus,it's within walking distance of great restaurants as well. Altho it is on Main street, the rooms are quiet and nicely decorated. Not quite sure why other reviewers pick on the towels. I always feel safe and secure parking my motorcycle there.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopNotchInnMgmt, Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, 29 September 2012
Thank you for the great review Cathy! We know you frequent Gorham from time to time, and we’re flattered you choose us! We appreciate the business, and hope to see you again soon~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laconia, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2012

I recently stayed at the Inn and the person that checked me in was very pleasant and helpful this was the first time I stayed there and I would stay again. I was only able to stay for the night had to leave early in am so couldn't use the pool or hot tub but hopefully will return in the future and use those things. Its located close by the stores and restaurants which is very convienant. I would recommend this place of what I saw of it on my short stay. Tammy D.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tamjd69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopNotchInnMgmt, Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, 29 September 2012
Dear Tammy: Thank you for the compliments about the Top Notch Inn!
We’re happy that you chose us, and enjoyed your stay. We appreciate the recommendation also! Please come back and visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorham
0.6 mi away
Royalty Inn
Royalty Inn
#3 of 7 in Gorham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
1.7 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
17.1 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
22.6 mi away
Bartlett Inn
Bartlett Inn
#1 of 12 in Bartlett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Top Notch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top Notch Inn

Property: Top Notch Inn
Address: 265 Main St, Center of Town, Gorham, NH 03581-1510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Gorham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Top Notch Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
$ave! Book direct we can avoid commissions, and pass the savings onto you! Great location in the center of town, walk to restaurants, café & wood fired pizza! Close to Story Land, Santa's Village, Mt Washington and many tourists' favorites. All rooms have free high speed WIFI, 32" HDTV, fridge, coffee maker and microwave. We have rooms with kings, queens or doubles. Groups and families love the NEW Mt Moriah Cottage next door, with 5 bedrooms sleeping up to 10 & the Family Suite with fully equipped kitchen, spacious living room, and three bedrooms that sleep 8 comfortably. We are dog friendly in select rooms and 100% smoke-free throughout with newly renovated and Eco-Friendly rooms and cottage. Close to: MT WASHINGTON STORY LAND SANTAS VILLAGE MOOSE TOURS HIKING,BIKING,RAFTING AND ALL THE NATURAL OUTDOORS HAS TO OFFER! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Top Notch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Top Notch Hotel Gorham
a Top Notch Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing