We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Top Notch Inn
Nearby Hotels
Mt Madison Inn & Suites(Gorham)(Great Value!)
US$113
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royalty Inn(Gorham)
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Town & Country Inn and Resort(Gorham)(Great Value!)
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moose Brook Motel(Gorham)(Great Value!)
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Northern Peak Motor Inn(Gorham)(Great Value!)
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn At Bowman(Randolph)
US$271
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$223
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni Mount Washington Resort(Bretton Woods)(Great Value!)
US$445
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club(Jackson)(Great Value!)
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (733)
Filter reviews
733 results
Traveller rating
432
224
47
18
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
432
224
47
18
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspinkham housebike weekendmadison roomrestaurant next doorroom was cleanwhite mountainsstay there againwithin walking distancepool and hot tubgreat place to staybunk bedssanta's villageauto roadnew hampshirestaff was friendlyfront desk staffstate park
Filter
Updating list...
609 - 614 of 733 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2012 via mobile

We stopped at the Top Notch Inn based on Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed. A very clean motel in a downtown location with several restaurant locations nearby. Service was excellent and the staff very helpful. Excellent value.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IP3806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

Our customer satisfaction is very important to us. Thank you for taking the time to write a great review and hope you can stay with us again, we'll look forward to your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

We were not sure what to expect when arriving at the Inn (motel). We found it to be very clean and efficiently run. If they changed out the darker curtains and bedspreads, it would make the rooms much more bright and inviting. Overall, we were pleased with our stay and the front desk staff were very professional and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cinrac222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2012

We are pleased that you found our motel very clean and efficiently run. We are in the process of remodeling many rooms and look forward to having you back to see what you think! Thank you so much for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We "checked in" and "checked out" the same night. We arrived about 8 pm. We left by 9:30 p.m. We were greeted quite professionally by the clerk, Elaine, who handled our check in efficiently. However, when we got to our rooms--we had two reserved-- the interior smell of a musty substance was overwhelming. The bathroom smelled of sewer gas. Having respitory problems we realized we could not remain in this place overnight. The next issue was that the heat was not working. Elaine did fix this on a timely basis. Then the toilet would not handle a normal flush of waste. The motel is dated, and not very inviting. Later we found out, that the motel had given us 'pet friendly' rooms. UGH! The smell of the prior 'pets' and what must have been their leavings was totally unacceptable. We told Elaine we were not happy, and she did offer us another room, but, by this time we just felt with the respitory concerns we could not spend the night. Elaine was very gracious, gave us no difficulty in crediting our account for the original check in charge. We would not recommend this facility, unless substantial upgrades were made, e.g. new carpet, bedding, appointments, etc. Identifying the pet rooms to guests upon check in.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2012

Thank you for letting us know of these problems you had. We investigated these issues thoroughly, and we were unable to detect any of the "smells" you found. For precautionary measures we have completely stripped this room, and gave it deep through cleansing. We do take pride in our meticulously clean facility, and invite you to give us another try next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

My husband and I have come to the White Mountains for a number of years now to enjoy the beautiful fall foliage and hiking the Presidential Range. We always stay at the Top Notch Inn. Usually we stay in the Mountain rooms, but this year we brought our pup, so we stayed in one of the dog-friendly standard rooms (rm 115). What sets this place apart is the service. Everyone we have ever encountered has been so friendly, courteous and helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable, a very good value. The location is perfect for access to some of the best hiking in the Northeast as well as the Kankamagus highway. After a day on the trails, we love grabbing a beer and dinner at J's next door. We also enjoy the White Mtn cafe for coffee and baked goods. Looking forward to trying out the Saalt Pub and Libby's Bistro the next time we are up. Thanks Top Notch Inn and see you next fall! Kim Y

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank psudopoddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2012

Great to have you stay with us again! We're glad to see you discovered some of the great restaurants Gorham has to offer, and that you and your "pup" enjoyed your stay here at the Top Notch. We'll see you next fall if not sooner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I have stayed at the Top Notch Inn 2 weekends in a row! First weekend was to take my son and his friend to Story Land, which wasn't far away, and the drive was beautiful! Second stay was for my 32nd Birthday and we went to Great Glen Trails which was amazing. Our stay at the Top Notch was wonderful. The service was great and the people at the front desk were very nice and very informative when it came to places to eat, shop and sight seeing. They also included 10% coupon to the very nice restaurant next door and if you brought your hotel receipt to Walsh's (A great place to have a breakfast buffet) they would give you 10% you meal there as well. When staying, we were able to swim in their heated pool (the weather was 64 degrees) and use their hot tub for later in the evenings. The Top Notch Inn is not only conveniently located in a great area, it's also a quiet little neighborhood too, and the price, in my opinion, was pretty good! SO needless to say, next time I heading up to the White Mountains area, I'll be choosing the Top Notch Inn again!

Room Tip: If you have a family of 3 or 4 or you're with friends or children, get the room with 2 doubles and 1 twin. It was perfect for my mother, son and I!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews