We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place not to be missed”
Review of Top Notch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Top Notch Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent place not to be missed”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This place looked so lovely from the outside but was really lovely inside too. Elaine in reception is a real treasure to this place. She was so friendly and knowledgeable. We loved it from first sight and when casually asking about our chances of seeing a moose, Elaine was really enthusiastic and gave us a moose map and lots of interesting facts and story's. The place had only just reopened after the winter. It was newly refurbished and we couldn't find a fault with it even if we wanted to, which we didn't. She sat outside at tables on the grass to plan our moose trip and even met the resident dog. We can't rate this place highly enough and just love Elaine, thanks for a wonderful stay, wish it could have been longer.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Carole thank you so much for staying with us and for all of your wonderful compliments! Elaine appreciates all of the compliments as well as the rest of the staff:) Thank you for your kindness, and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    405
    202
    45
    17
    11
See reviews for
221
275
33
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
West Stockbridge, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

The wife and I stayed at the Top Notch last week while touring Mt. Washington. Henry and the rest of the staff keep an Immaculate place and are nice as the day is long. The wifi was very quick, and the cable was ok. This place is a good value for what you pay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willy016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you Willy for the nice review. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermon, Maine
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We have 5 in our family so staying here when visiting StoryLand/Santa's Village always works out. It's close enough to great food without having to travel long distances, the rooms are very spacious and there is a Captain's bed to accommodate our group. The only thing that we would wish improved are the paper thin walls. It was very hard to get our kids settled when we could hear everything going on in the room next door.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thanks for the nice review! We do have spacious rooms, and also check out the Pinkham house, and Mt Moriah Cottage next time (they are big and quiet!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I've stayed at the Top Notch Inn many times as I am an avid ATV 'er. They have great parking in the back for your trailer and allow you to drive your ATVs up to your room. The rooms are clean and the hot tub is great after a long day of riding. Great place and very ATV friendly.

Room Tip: Trailer parking in the back of hotel... very safe n well lit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traci S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
We strive to be clean, comfortable and up to date! Thank you for noticing and taking time to write a nice review. We appreciate it very much~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I stayed at the Top Notch Inn two consecutive nights for hiking Mount Washington last Saturday. Price was good and my room was extremely clean, I even took a bath, what I never usually do in an hotel room. Wifi was good and the staff very friendly and patient. J's restaurant next door was very good and scallops were big and tasty :) We had a really good time

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxime V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ware, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Top Notch Inn from May 28, 2014 to May 31, 2014 to ride our ATV's in the area. The Hotel staff was knowledgeable of the trail system and the rules and regulations of ATV operation. The room was super clean, and everything worked as expected. The mattress was very comfortable. Room service was dependable and thorough.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamden, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Good place for a fairly lower price than the other inns in the area. Newer microwave and the nice sized frig. Was a nice addition to the room. It was also nice that they allowed pets to stay. We have a 50 pound dog and we contacted other locations. This place had No size restrictions.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wonderful57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
thanks for the great review! We do allow dogs that are well groomed and well behaved, 50 lbs and under (and their 2 legged friends are welcome too!) See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorham
0.4 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
1.7 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
17.4 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
816 reviews
17.1 mi away
Lodge at Jackson Village
18.1 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#3 of 12 in Bartlett
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Top Notch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top Notch Inn

Property: Top Notch Inn
Address: 265 Main St, Center of Town, Gorham, NH 03581-1510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Gorham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Top Notch Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
$ave! Book direct we can avoid commissions, and pass the savings onto you! Great location in the center of town, walk to restaurants, café & wood fired pizza! Close to Story Land, Santa's Village, Mt Washington and many tourists' favorites. All rooms have free high speed WIFI, 32" HDTV, fridge, coffee maker and microwave. We have rooms with kings, queens or doubles. Groups and families love the NEW Mt Moriah Cottage next door, with 5 bedrooms sleeping up to 10 & the Family Suite with fully equipped kitchen, spacious living room, and three bedrooms that sleep 8 comfortably. We are dog friendly in select rooms and 100% smoke-free throughout with newly renovated and Eco-Friendly rooms and cottage. Close to: MT WASHINGTON STORY LAND SANTAS VILLAGE MOOSE TOURS HIKING,BIKING,RAFTING AND ALL THE NATURAL OUTDOORS HAS TO OFFER! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Top Notch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Top Notch Hotel Gorham
a Top Notch Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing