We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Top Notch Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royalty Inn(Gorham)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn At Bowman(Randolph)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Evergreen Motel(Jefferson)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (730)
Filter reviews
730 results
Traveller rating
430
223
47
18
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
430
223
47
18
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspinkham housebike weekendmadison roomrestaurant next doorroom was cleanwhite mountainsstay there againwithin walking distancepool and hot tubgreat place to staybunk bedssanta's villageauto roadnew hampshirestaff was friendlyfront desk staffstate park
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
512 - 517 of 730 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Had to fill in all rating categories because Trip A. would not accept the review otherwise. For example, I don't even know if they have a fitness center but I suspect not. But this is a really good hotel, especially when one considers the price. The bathrooms are very clean, and obviously have been re furbished. In fact it is clear that the owners have parted company with quite a bit of cash in this area and the same applies to the A/C units in the room which are new, modern, very silent.in operation.
But here is a word to the owners. I know that you are really into "saving the planet" and that is ok by me provided that the poor old taxpayer is not being robbed to support this nonsense, but you have a note on your soft drink machine to the effect that no one should buy bottled water. Well, the reason that you found so many empty bottles in our room is that when one is on a road trip regional differences in water supplies can cause a minor gastric reaction which is unimportant in itself, but can really knock a hole in a road trip schedule, so we tend to rely on bottled water when we are on a trip. But, there is no doubt that you run a super motel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xkdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Thanks for staying with us, and for all of your comments and tips. We really appreciate it and hope to see you again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We have gone up to the White Mountains two years in a row and have stayed at the Top Notch in Gorham NH both times. We went up there to visit Santa's Village, and Storyland. They are a little closer to Santa's Village but Storyland is only 20 minutes away. This motel is clean, hospitable, and a fun place to stay. The beds are really comfortable and it is really quite. They have a pool, and are close to stores and restaurants. Also, you can't beat the price. We highly recommend this motel to anyone who goes up to the white mountains. We are planning another trip up there at the end of the summer and will definitely be staying at the Top Notch inn again.

Room Tip: All rooms are in a good location.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thank you for taking time to write us a review! We appreciate you returning, and that you enjoyed your stay once again. It's great that we are central to Story Land and Santa's Village, so families like you can easily go to both!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Top Notch Inn on a Saturday night with three friends after a long day of hiking up and back down Mt. Washington. After checking in one of my friends and I proceeded to the room to drop our bags off and clean up. The room was clean, had a big king bed and a set of bunk beds as advertised. The room had a fridge, coffee maker, coffee and a very clean and refreshing bathroom. The shower after the hike made my friend feel very refreshed and relaxed after the long hot, hard day on the mt. We were all very pleased with the accommodations and just sorry we were too late for the hot tub in the evening. The hours of for the hot tub are. 2 pm to 10pm and we would have liked to try it out even in the early morning before our departure. If we had not arrived so late from our hike and dinner afterward we would have gone into the hot tub. The staff was very helpful checking us in and suggesting a place for dinner. They were very patient with fellow hikers who checked in after us as well. The only thing we would have liked would have been to try the hot tub at 7 or 8am in the morning. The accommodations were very satisfying, the price was excellent and I would gladly come back with family or friends and make sure to try the tub and swimming pool. Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Thank you for taking time to write us a review! We appreciate you returning, and that you enjoyed your stay once again. It's great that we are central to Story Land and Santa's Village, so families like you can easily go to both!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Everything was great. We will certainly look you up, if staying in your area, in the future. The room and bathroom were the cleanest ever! We also enjoyed the ‘hot’ tub. The discounts offered, at nearby restaurants, is a real nice touch, and helpful. A comfy bed, spotless room, sparkle clean bathroom, whisper quite a/c unit, and so on. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Near everything, but far enough away. We didn’t even share our bench with spiders or such. You keep the exterior tidy and clean as well. Thank you for a wonderful experience, and at a very reasonable rate! We will return. We will recommend you to all of our friends and family.
Thank you so much,
Mark and Tracey
Ontario, Canada

Room Tip: We had room 120. A king room. Plenty of space, up to date, and spotless!!!!!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

We look forward to your return visit! Thank you for your detailed review, we appreciate the feedback. See you soon we hope~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I stayed on a Friday night in June before going to Mt. Washington and it was a great stay. I really liked the price for what I got. I stayed in the deluxe room with the king size bed. The room was better than the picture shows. The bathroom was updated with new fixtures and the room was very clean. I am going to stay here again when heading back up to the Whites.

My only gripe is I wish they had given another bar of soap in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for noticing all of the details in our new rooms. We are proud of them, and the meticulous cleaning the housekeepers do! Come back and visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews