We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE this place!”
Review of Top Notch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Top Notch Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Certificate of Excellence
Rocky Ridge, Maryland
1 review
“LOVE this place!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This was the second time we stayed at Top Notch and all we can say is it is without a doubt one of the nicest motels in the east coast .. PERIOD!! , We stayed there on June 14 of this year in one of the newly renovated rooms (114) and it is just a beautiful place to stay ! I am in the construction trade and know a quality remodel when I see it and this was one of them ! from the almost silent air conditioning to the hidden toilet tanks to the sanded trims this place is NICE . We stayed at a few motels that were well cared for but this one was unbelievable ! We did not get to get in the heated pool (ask them HOW it is heated ) but we will next year for sure because we will be staying here every time we go to New England ..... Great Motel guys !!!!... I do have a tip for you .. we asked for a non-smoking room (they all are!) and the conversation came up about inconsiderate people smoking in the rooms .. just place a sign and enforce the rule that there will be a $300 surcharge added to their credit card if the room has been smoked in.. I GUARANTEE they will stop smoking in there ! we saw several motels doing this now and all have been complimented by doing so !

Room Tip: Rooms in the back have less road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecelia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Gosh, we're blushing! THANK YOU SO MUCH for the wonderful review...and thank you for the tip on how to discourage guests from smoking in the rooms:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    187
    43
    17
    11
See reviews for
195
255
31
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My two children and I stayed here for one night in order to visit Story Land. The front desk staff was very nice and helpful. After checking in, I went to move our car to the spot in front of our particular room and noticed a woman sitting outside smoking. My son has autism and one of his "requirements" is sleeping with the window open. I knew this could be a problem if there was a smoker outside our room. I immediately drove back to the front office and asked for a room change which was immediately granted. We also ran into a housekeeping staff member while unloading our bags and she asked us if we needed anything. The room, although obviously an older hotel, was immaculate. The bathroom was exceptionally clean (my darling son also has an issue with things being clean and nothing caused him ANY concern) and the tub/sink/toilet were all updated. I initially chose this hotel because of the price but was pleasantly surprised by how clean it was. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLVT195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
We do our best to be clean and friendly! Thank you for noticing and taking the time to write a great review. See you next time...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Va
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Had to fill in all rating categories because Trip A. would not accept the review otherwise. For example, I don't even know if they have a fitness center but I suspect not. But this is a really good hotel, especially when one considers the price. The bathrooms are very clean, and obviously have been re furbished. In fact it is clear that the owners have parted company with quite a bit of cash in this area and the same applies to the A/C units in the room which are new, modern, very silent.in operation.
But here is a word to the owners. I know that you are really into "saving the planet" and that is ok by me provided that the poor old taxpayer is not being robbed to support this nonsense, but you have a note on your soft drink machine to the effect that no one should buy bottled water. Well, the reason that you found so many empty bottles in our room is that when one is on a road trip regional differences in water supplies can cause a minor gastric reaction which is unimportant in itself, but can really knock a hole in a road trip schedule, so we tend to rely on bottled water when we are on a trip. But, there is no doubt that you run a super motel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xkdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thanks for staying with us, and for all of your comments and tips. We really appreciate it and hope to see you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoughton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We have gone up to the White Mountains two years in a row and have stayed at the Top Notch in Gorham NH both times. We went up there to visit Santa's Village, and Storyland. They are a little closer to Santa's Village but Storyland is only 20 minutes away. This motel is clean, hospitable, and a fun place to stay. The beds are really comfortable and it is really quite. They have a pool, and are close to stores and restaurants. Also, you can't beat the price. We highly recommend this motel to anyone who goes up to the white mountains. We are planning another trip up there at the end of the summer and will definitely be staying at the Top Notch inn again.

Room Tip: All rooms are in a good location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to write us a review! We appreciate you returning, and that you enjoyed your stay once again. It's great that we are central to Story Land and Santa's Village, so families like you can easily go to both!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Top Notch Inn on a Saturday night with three friends after a long day of hiking up and back down Mt. Washington. After checking in one of my friends and I proceeded to the room to drop our bags off and clean up. The room was clean, had a big king bed and a set of bunk beds as advertised. The room had a fridge, coffee maker, coffee and a very clean and refreshing bathroom. The shower after the hike made my friend feel very refreshed and relaxed after the long hot, hard day on the mt. We were all very pleased with the accommodations and just sorry we were too late for the hot tub in the evening. The hours of for the hot tub are. 2 pm to 10pm and we would have liked to try it out even in the early morning before our departure. If we had not arrived so late from our hike and dinner afterward we would have gone into the hot tub. The staff was very helpful checking us in and suggesting a place for dinner. They were very patient with fellow hikers who checked in after us as well. The only thing we would have liked would have been to try the hot tub at 7 or 8am in the morning. The accommodations were very satisfying, the price was excellent and I would gladly come back with family or friends and make sure to try the tub and swimming pool. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to write us a review! We appreciate you returning, and that you enjoyed your stay once again. It's great that we are central to Story Land and Santa's Village, so families like you can easily go to both!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Everything was great. We will certainly look you up, if staying in your area, in the future. The room and bathroom were the cleanest ever! We also enjoyed the ‘hot’ tub. The discounts offered, at nearby restaurants, is a real nice touch, and helpful. A comfy bed, spotless room, sparkle clean bathroom, whisper quite a/c unit, and so on. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Near everything, but far enough away. We didn’t even share our bench with spiders or such. You keep the exterior tidy and clean as well. Thank you for a wonderful experience, and at a very reasonable rate! We will return. We will recommend you to all of our friends and family.
Thank you so much,
Mark and Tracey
Ontario, Canada

Room Tip: We had room 120. A king room. Plenty of space, up to date, and spotless!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
We look forward to your return visit! Thank you for your detailed review, we appreciate the feedback. See you soon we hope~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I stayed on a Friday night in June before going to Mt. Washington and it was a great stay. I really liked the price for what I got. I stayed in the deluxe room with the king size bed. The room was better than the picture shows. The bathroom was updated with new fixtures and the room was very clean. I am going to stay here again when heading back up to the Whites.

My only gripe is I wish they had given another bar of soap in the bathroom.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for noticing all of the details in our new rooms. We are proud of them, and the meticulous cleaning the housekeepers do! Come back and visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorham
0.4 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
Royalty Inn
Royalty Inn
#3 of 7 in Gorham
445 reviews
1.7 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
22.6 mi away
Bartlett Inn
Bartlett Inn
#1 of 12 in Bartlett
290 reviews
15.5 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Top Notch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top Notch Inn

Property: Top Notch Inn
Address: 265 Main St, Center of Town, Gorham, NH 03581-1510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Gorham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Top Notch Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
$ave! Book direct we can avoid commissions, and pass the savings onto you! Great location in the center of town, walk to restaurants, café & wood fired pizza! Close to Story Land, Santa's Village, Mt Washington and many tourists' favorites. All rooms have free high speed WIFI, 32" HDTV, fridge, coffee maker and microwave. We have rooms with kings, queens or doubles. Groups and families love the NEW Mt Moriah Cottage next door, with 5 bedrooms sleeping up to 10 & the Family Suite with fully equipped kitchen, spacious living room, and three bedrooms that sleep 8 comfortably. We are dog friendly in select rooms and 100% smoke-free throughout with newly renovated and Eco-Friendly rooms and cottage. Close to: MT WASHINGTON STORY LAND SANTAS VILLAGE MOOSE TOURS HIKING,BIKING,RAFTING AND ALL THE NATURAL OUTDOORS HAS TO OFFER! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Top Notch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Top Notch Hotel Gorham
a Top Notch Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing