We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dbcooperisalive approves”
Review of Top Notch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Top Notch Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I really liked it here except for 1 thing. They claim to give AAA discounts and in fact they have a sign right out front claiming this. In my opinion they they don't though. You can go online and get the cost of a room. I called a day later and requested a AAA price on the same room. The guy said the discounted cost was .... I said that is not a discounted price because I could go online and get that same price (there is no online option for a discounted AAA price). Over the phone they make it sound like you are getting a AAA discount price but it isn't any different then the regular online price. I have no problem when a hotel doesn't do AAA but don't advertise that you do and in reality there isn't. I don't understand the discrepancy with this. In saying this, I really liked our room. The bed was really comfortable. There is a great italian restaurant within walking distance.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank dbcooperisalive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for taking time to write a review. We're glad you liked it here! We are AAA approved, and we do offer the lowest rates you will find anywhere on the internet for Top Notch Inn on our web site, or by calling or walking in our door. So happy you liked the room, the bed and Saladino's Italian Restaurant! Hope to see you next time you are in the area~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (704)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

476 - 482 of 704 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

The staff were friendly, but this is a standard motel billing itself as an inn. The room was a little stuffy when we arrived, but after the windows were opened it was fine. I think it's a bit overpriced for a motel, but it was "bike week" in New Hampshire (thousands of loud, overweight, tattooed Harley drivers roaring around...what fun!) so prices were higher than normal.

Room Tip: Stay away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bschless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We hope you can come back again and try us next time you are running Mt Washington!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed here almost a week while exploring the local hiking trails and we quite happy with the clean room, very comfortable bed and the high level of service. The pool is nice and the grounds are lovely, with flowers everywhere. Several nice restaurants are only a short walk away. This is an excellent place to stay.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the updated rooms along the back side of the facility; everything is brand new - a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you so much for appreciating the Gorham area, and the Top Notch Inn! Please come back and visit again soon:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

While recently on a motorcycle trip to New Hampshire and surrounding areas I stayed at the Top Notch Inn. I found the rooms very clean, motel quiet and staff helpful and friendly. I would recommend this motel as a good location. There is no on site restaurant..but several options within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: We were midway down one side...very quiet no complaints!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlfNovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Sounds like you had a nice motorcycle trip, and we're glad we could accommodate you to your satisfaction. We do have several restaurants within walking distance including "J's" right next door.
Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My second time staying here and even better than the last time. Rooms newly updated. King bed with brand new bathroom, very well done. Spotless. Housekeeping staff keep the place spotlessly clean. Front desk staff very friendly and accommodating and making recommendations for restaurants in the area. Room very fresh looking and smelling. Good value for the money. We will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenCAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thanks for all of the compliments, and thanks for coming back again. Come visit us anytime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We stopped at Top Notch inn while on a road trip. Room was very clean and tastefully decorated. It's was newly renovated. Front desk gentleman was very nice. Price was great, plus you got a discount at the restaurant next door. Great experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue5981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

We're happy you had a great experience, and we hope you come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We had two adjacent rooms 111& 112 and found that they met and exceeded our expectations. Completely updated super clean, new beds, new updated bathrooms with a European feel, nice linens, frig & microwave in the room, and new extremely quiet heating and air conditioning units. The updated room color schemes were quite relaxing and the pictures on the wall added a retro flair. A great plus for me was that the windows had all been updated with new replacement windows and I could open the windows in the main room and the bathroom. The guest laundry was just steps from our room, making the task of washing clothes on the road much more bearable. There is also a small pool and above ground hot tub on the property - great after a day of hiking. The only negative is there is very limited space in the room to hang clothing (three pegs on the wall).

Room Tip: Spend a little extra for the updated rooms, you'll be glad you did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westmotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Nice review! Thank you for taking the time to write it, and we hope you return soon:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorham
0.4 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
Royalty Inn
Royalty Inn
#3 of 7 in Gorham
554 reviews
1.7 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 mi away
The Wentworth
The Wentworth
#2 of 4 in Jackson
862 reviews
15.5 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,761 reviews
16.4 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#4 of 12 in Bartlett
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Top Notch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top Notch Inn

Address: 265 Main St, Center of Town, Gorham, NH 03581-1510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Gorham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Price Range: £64 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Top Notch Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
$ave! Book direct we can avoid commissions, and pass the savings onto you! Great location in the center of town, walk to restaurants, café & wood fired pizza! Close to Story Land, Santa's Village, Mt Washington and many tourists' favorites. All rooms have free high speed WIFI, 32" HDTV, fridge, coffee maker and microwave. We have rooms with kings, queens or doubles. Groups and families love the NEW Mt Moriah Cottage next door, with 5 bedrooms sleeping up to 10 & the Family Suite with fully equipped kitchen, spacious living room, and three bedrooms that sleep 8 comfortably. We are dog friendly in select rooms and 100% smoke-free throughout with newly renovated and Eco-Friendly rooms and cottage. Close to: MT WASHINGTON STORY LAND SANTAS VILLAGE MOOSE TOURS HIKING,BIKING,RAFTING AND ALL THE NATURAL OUTDOORS HAS TO OFFER! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Top Notch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Top Notch Hotel Gorham
a Top Notch Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing