We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of Top Notch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Top Notch Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Certificate of Excellence
Wrentham, Massachusetts
1 review
“Great Place”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed with my Husband and my son was in another room. We were extremely satisfied with the room. Updated with a great new bathroom room along with bedding etc.,Great staff from front desk to housekeeping anything you had requested or needed was taken care of. Nice to stay at a place up in the mountains that is updated, clean, and would stay at again since they like ATV's. Have been going to NH forever and I must say there are only two places that I would stay at and this is one of this one of them. Will see you again soon !!!!!

Room Tip: Request newly remodeled rooms !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenWB7125DA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hey Karen, thanks for writing us a review, and for all your compliments! We're glad you enjoyed the accommodations, and the ATV friendly atmosphere. We hope to see you here often:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    194
    45
    17
    11
See reviews for
215
267
32
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Central Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We made our annual stay at Top Notch Inn the night before the Mount Washington Road Race. Check in was quick and our room was as clean as we have come to expect.
Our room was 62 degrees when we checked in. I turned the thermostat up and we went next door to J's Corner Restaurant for a wonderful meal. After dinner I realized we had one minor problem, for some reason there was no heat in our room. I could hear the thermostat's relay click, but no heat was at the baseboard. I went to the front desk for help and immediately we had a space heater in our room and our thermostat checked out.
The space heater quickly heated the room and we were quite comfortable overnight.
While it was only a small problem to us, this issue became priority number one to the staff.
Just one other observation, Top Notch Inn had No Vacancies the night we stayed, the other places to stay in town all had rooms available. Just something to think about.
And to the other Mount Washington Races, Gorham is closer than Jackson or North Conway to the Auto Road on race morning.
See you next year for the race, if not sooner.

Room Tip: If you are not traveling with pets, the deluxe king rooms are nicely up to date.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asta_Dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
We so appreciate all of the times and years you have stayed with us! Thank you for understanding about the room not being as comfortable as it could have been when you first arrived. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Jockstrap, usa
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I really liked it here except for 1 thing. They claim to give AAA discounts and in fact they have a sign right out front claiming this. In my opinion they they don't though. You can go online and get the cost of a room. I called a day later and requested a AAA price on the same room. The guy said the discounted cost was .... I said that is not a discounted price because I could go online and get that same price (there is no online option for a discounted AAA price). Over the phone they make it sound like you are getting a AAA discount price but it isn't any different then the regular online price. I have no problem when a hotel doesn't do AAA but don't advertise that you do and in reality there isn't. I don't understand the discrepancy with this. In saying this, I really liked our room. The bed was really comfortable. There is a great italian restaurant within walking distance.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dbcooperisalive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review. We're glad you liked it here! We are AAA approved, and we do offer the lowest rates you will find anywhere on the internet for Top Notch Inn on our web site, or by calling or walking in our door. So happy you liked the room, the bed and Saladino's Italian Restaurant! Hope to see you next time you are in the area~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The staff were friendly, but this is a standard motel billing itself as an inn. The room was a little stuffy when we arrived, but after the windows were opened it was fine. I think it's a bit overpriced for a motel, but it was "bike week" in New Hampshire (thousands of loud, overweight, tattooed Harley drivers roaring around...what fun!) so prices were higher than normal.

Room Tip: Stay away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bschless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We hope you can come back again and try us next time you are running Mt Washington!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Binghamton, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed here almost a week while exploring the local hiking trails and we quite happy with the clean room, very comfortable bed and the high level of service. The pool is nice and the grounds are lovely, with flowers everywhere. Several nice restaurants are only a short walk away. This is an excellent place to stay.

Room Tip: Try to get one of the updated rooms along the back side of the facility; everything is brand new - a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you so much for appreciating the Gorham area, and the Top Notch Inn! Please come back and visit again soon:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

While recently on a motorcycle trip to New Hampshire and surrounding areas I stayed at the Top Notch Inn. I found the rooms very clean, motel quiet and staff helpful and friendly. I would recommend this motel as a good location. There is no on site restaurant..but several options within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: We were midway down one side...very quiet no complaints!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlfNovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Sounds like you had a nice motorcycle trip, and we're glad we could accommodate you to your satisfaction. We do have several restaurants within walking distance including "J's" right next door.
Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My second time staying here and even better than the last time. Rooms newly updated. King bed with brand new bathroom, very well done. Spotless. Housekeeping staff keep the place spotlessly clean. Front desk staff very friendly and accommodating and making recommendations for restaurants in the area. Room very fresh looking and smelling. Good value for the money. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenCAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thanks for all of the compliments, and thanks for coming back again. Come visit us anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorham
0.4 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
1.7 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
17.4 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Bartlett Inn
Bartlett Inn
#1 of 12 in Bartlett
293 reviews
15.5 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,471 reviews
18.1 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#3 of 12 in Bartlett
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Top Notch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top Notch Inn

Property: Top Notch Inn
Address: 265 Main St, Center of Town, Gorham, NH 03581-1510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Gorham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Top Notch Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
$ave! Book direct we can avoid commissions, and pass the savings onto you! Great location in the center of town, walk to restaurants, café & wood fired pizza! Close to Story Land, Santa's Village, Mt Washington and many tourists' favorites. All rooms have free high speed WIFI, 32" HDTV, fridge, coffee maker and microwave. We have rooms with kings, queens or doubles. Groups and families love the NEW Mt Moriah Cottage next door, with 5 bedrooms sleeping up to 10 & the Family Suite with fully equipped kitchen, spacious living room, and three bedrooms that sleep 8 comfortably. We are dog friendly in select rooms and 100% smoke-free throughout with newly renovated and Eco-Friendly rooms and cottage. Close to: MT WASHINGTON STORY LAND SANTAS VILLAGE MOOSE TOURS HIKING,BIKING,RAFTING AND ALL THE NATURAL OUTDOORS HAS TO OFFER! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Top Notch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Top Notch Hotel Gorham
a Top Notch Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing