We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cozy and quaint”
Review of Top Notch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Top Notch Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We decided to stay here because we were on our motorcycle and there were favorable reviews on trip advisor from motorcyclists. On the night we were there, there was a Canadian Motorcycle Club staying at the motel and were were assigned a room next to their group. They certainly were having a fun time. I know this because they were right out side of our room drinking and smoking.

The staff was friendly and checked us in promptly. There was a coupon for J's right available at the office. The room was clean. The bed was comfortable. I liked the dual flush toilet. Once our neighbors settled down, it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Thanks so much for the favorable review! We try to accommodate all sorts of travelers, and to make sure they are comfortable. Please come back and see us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (688)
There are newer reviews for Top Notch Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

449 - 455 of 688 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

The title says it all. From the initial contact with the front desk staff on check in ( you never get a second chance to make a first impression ) to the check out it was nothing but a great experience. The staff on the front desk were pleasant and helpful. The room had been renovated and everything was new and tastefully decorated. All amenities were in service and the grounds are kept impeccably clean. We highly recommend the Top Notch Inn. There are several eating establishments within walking distance. There are discount coupons available at the front desk for several restaurants and area attractions. The staff didn't try to upsell/push any certain business they were more concerned about your needs/wants.
Basically, a fantastic experience!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank omemeefoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Wow! Thanks so much for taking the time to write us this stellar review! The staff does an excellent job here at Top Notch, and it's nice to see them recognized. We appreciate all of your thoughtful words and details of your experience. We hope to see you again soon:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Nice surroundings, quiet and peaceful. Centrally located to all of Gorhams attractions. Pool and hot tub clean and well maintained.
Room was clean but had the smallest bathroom I have ever seen. No room to store any gear or hang up any garments. The toilet paper roll was in your ear when using the toilet.
Nevertheless I would stay there again, good value and service for the price paid.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

So glad you found us to be good value and service! Curious to know what bathroom you found small. We're glad you found the pool and hot tub clean and well maintained. Please come back and visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Top Notch is a very nice motel centrally located to attractions in the White Mountains. My family and friends have stayed here for 2 years and we will be coming back next year. It is halfway between Storyland and Santa's Village which made it super easy for visiting both attractions. The pool is beautiful and made it great for gathering for dinner in the evening. The owners and operators are very helpful and friendly. The rooms are clean and comfortable with refrigerators and microwaves. There are tables and chairs in the rooms which is great when you are traveling with kids. Free internet is always a plus for me when traveling and they have it at The Top Notch Inn. Gorham is a nice little town with several family friendly restaurants. We always choose take out and eat at the pool with the kids. I would recommend the Top Notch Inn to anyone traveling in the North Conway area with children.

Room Tip: I like a room close to the pool
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geni-Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

We're happy you enjoyed you stay here with us Geni-Ann! We know you are not from Gorham, but enjoy vacationing here. Thanks so much for all of the compliments, and we look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed in the all new Mount Moriah Cottage. This new addition to Top Notch Inn took my breath away. This cottage was amazing, absolutely the most beautiful place I have ever stayed in and I have traveled quite a bit throughout my life. I am a builder by trade and was so impressed with the quality of work and the attention to detail that the owners took in restoring this house into what I believe to be the most beautiful place again that I have ever stayed in. I truly feel blessed and can't wait to return. Thank you so very much for by far the most amazing vacation we have ever had. Sincerely J. Hackley/C Hayes

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Our first review of Mt Moriah Cottage! We really enjoyed having you stay and that you appreciated the cottage so much! We look forward to your return visits since you have reserved the cottage a few more times this season. Thanks so much for the rave review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

My Wife and I stayed for the weekend was nice except our room was around corner from the parking lot and WiFi was quite bother sum kept cutting in and out otherwise was nice place*********************

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhondasman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopNotchInnMgmt, Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thanks for staying with us, and taking the time to write a review. We thought we had super strong internet service, and this is the first we have heard that it cuts out. If you could let us know what room you were in we would appreciate it so we can improve. Hope to see you again some time soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Worst beds I have ever experienced. Both my son and I had back pain after after sleeping on matresses that must have been 20 years old. Also, I asked for a one hour extension of time to check out and was told it would be an extra $20 for each room. I have been staying in hotels and motels for over 40 years and never had a problem getting a late check out. I will say, two good things, staff was friendly, and accommodating, except for the late check out, and the room was clean. The cleaning staff did a wonderful job and folded my night gown and robe and put them on the bed. Also, they fixed my son's bed so that he could have extra cover sheet, had shared one with kids night before, and he did not even ask for it. So I would say we were 50% satisifed and 50% unsatisfied. Probably won't stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Concetta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

We are sorry for your unsatisfactory experience. Our beds are new, being replace just last year. We have not had complaints about the beds until now, but we are researching this. Thank you for bringing it to our attention. We apologize for not giving you a late check out, but we had a large group arriving, and were striving to get the rooms prepared for them. We are happy you enjoyed our housekeeping, they are wonderful:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorham
0.4 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
Royalty Inn
Royalty Inn
#3 of 7 in Gorham
520 reviews
1.7 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
15.5 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,597 reviews
16.4 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#3 of 12 in Bartlett
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Top Notch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top Notch Inn

Address: 265 Main St, Center of Town, Gorham, NH 03581-1510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Gorham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Price Range: £66 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Top Notch Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
$ave! Book direct we can avoid commissions, and pass the savings onto you! Great location in the center of town, walk to restaurants, café & wood fired pizza! Close to Story Land, Santa's Village, Mt Washington and many tourists' favorites. All rooms have free high speed WIFI, 32" HDTV, fridge, coffee maker and microwave. We have rooms with kings, queens or doubles. Groups and families love the NEW Mt Moriah Cottage next door, with 5 bedrooms sleeping up to 10 & the Family Suite with fully equipped kitchen, spacious living room, and three bedrooms that sleep 8 comfortably. We are dog friendly in select rooms and 100% smoke-free throughout with newly renovated and Eco-Friendly rooms and cottage. Close to: MT WASHINGTON STORY LAND SANTAS VILLAGE MOOSE TOURS HIKING,BIKING,RAFTING AND ALL THE NATURAL OUTDOORS HAS TO OFFER! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Top Notch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Top Notch Hotel Gorham
a Top Notch Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing