We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, Clean & Comfortable!! Excellent Service!!”
Review of Top Notch Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Top Notch Inn
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Certificate of Excellence
Baiting Hollow, New York
1 review
“Charming, Clean & Comfortable!! Excellent Service!!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Top Notch Inn this past month! The rooms were spacious, clean and very charming!! Also, the staff was courteous, friendly, professional and attentive. We highly recommend that you stay at this hotel when you are in Gorham NH! Also, we received a discount at Gorham Moose Tours...what a fantastic treat! We cannot wait to stay there again!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Wow! Thanks so much for the great review:) Sounds like you had a great experience at the Top Notch Inn and our town of Gorham. Come on back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    372
    187
    43
    17
    11
See reviews for
198
256
31
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We decided to try "Top Notch" on a whim. We were happy with the price of the room, so we decided to stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Then when we walked in to the room, we really surprised at how nice the room was. It was very clean and modern. The bed was so comfortable and with the room darkening draps, we sleep almost 12 hours. The nicest thing is that there were so many outlets to easily charge all of our electronic.
We took advantage of the discount for the restaurant next dor "J's" and had one of the best meals of our vacation.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
We thank you for your nice review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay, the room and the restaurant next door. Please come back and visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

The Top Notch Inn is definitely top notch! I was here with a very good friend for the 4th of July weekend to go ATV-ing. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The room was very clean and didn't have any issues. It had a fridge and a microwave which was very convenient. Being an ATV enthusiast, I was able to drive my ATV from the hotel to the trail heads. The hotel was within walking distance to a couple of restaurants which served very yummy food! I'd definitely stay again!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLC90813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Great to know you enjoyed your stay! We strive to make our guest comfortable, and sounds like we succeeded. We're also glad you took advantage of being able to ride from your room to the ATV trails. Come back and visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We only stayed one night here. Given the choice again, we would have paid a little more to stay somewhere more updated. The value was not extraordinary for what it offers. The hot tub is tiny. My teens were disappointed and could not use it.A large couple had taken up residence in it for the evening, with drinks and hunkered down in it for 2 hours until it closed. The room was clean, but there was an unfresh smell that bothered my family. It is probably the age of the carpets and dampness that come with them.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgirl3781
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
We thank you for taking time to write a review. It is unusual for guests here not to share the hot tub, and we apologize for them. We are proud of our clean rooms, and will look into your concerns. Please give us another try, so we can make your next stay more favorable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We recently stayed at the Top Notch Inn and were not super impressed. I have to say that I agree with some of the negative comments on this inn in regards to the beds and the internet. We were constantly having to log back on to the wi-fi to keep it working... The bed was not all the comfy and found it to be very loud each time one of us tried to roll over. We went to go swimming one day on the weekend and it was completely green and had a ton of bugs and stuff floating on the top, so we opted to not go in. There were out there cleaning it first thing Monday morning! We did address our concerns with the owner and they were addressed and helpful in helping to fix our issues that we had, so for that we were grateful. I would have to say, that we will not be back to the Top Notch Inn and would look for something a little more off the main street, but that is just a preference for me...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tjmc1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate your input. We are constantly striving to improve, and to maintain a high quality product for our guests. We are surprised to hear that the internet was not working well for you, and about the beds and pool. We have invested heavily to ensure our guests get the best internet reception Gorham has to offer. Our beds are new, and of a high quality. We do clean our pool early each morning, and throughout the day. Maybe you can come back and try us again. As our previous favorable reviews reflect, most guests really like the Top Notch Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Station
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We decided to stay here because we were on our motorcycle and there were favorable reviews on trip advisor from motorcyclists. On the night we were there, there was a Canadian Motorcycle Club staying at the motel and were were assigned a room next to their group. They certainly were having a fun time. I know this because they were right out side of our room drinking and smoking.

The staff was friendly and checked us in promptly. There was a coupon for J's right available at the office. The room was clean. The bed was comfortable. I liked the dual flush toilet. Once our neighbors settled down, it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Thanks so much for the favorable review! We try to accommodate all sorts of travelers, and to make sure they are comfortable. Please come back and see us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The title says it all. From the initial contact with the front desk staff on check in ( you never get a second chance to make a first impression ) to the check out it was nothing but a great experience. The staff on the front desk were pleasant and helpful. The room had been renovated and everything was new and tastefully decorated. All amenities were in service and the grounds are kept impeccably clean. We highly recommend the Top Notch Inn. There are several eating establishments within walking distance. There are discount coupons available at the front desk for several restaurants and area attractions. The staff didn't try to upsell/push any certain business they were more concerned about your needs/wants.
Basically, a fantastic experience!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omemeefoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Wow! Thanks so much for taking the time to write us this stellar review! The staff does an excellent job here at Top Notch, and it's nice to see them recognized. We appreciate all of your thoughtful words and details of your experience. We hope to see you again soon:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorham
0.4 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
0.6 mi away
Royalty Inn
Royalty Inn
#3 of 7 in Gorham
449 reviews
1.7 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
22.6 mi away
Bartlett Inn
Bartlett Inn
#1 of 12 in Bartlett
290 reviews
15.5 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Top Notch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top Notch Inn

Property: Top Notch Inn
Address: 265 Main St, Center of Town, Gorham, NH 03581-1510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Gorham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Top Notch Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
$ave! Book direct we can avoid commissions, and pass the savings onto you! Great location in the center of town, walk to restaurants, café & wood fired pizza! Close to Story Land, Santa's Village, Mt Washington and many tourists' favorites. All rooms have free high speed WIFI, 32" HDTV, fridge, coffee maker and microwave. We have rooms with kings, queens or doubles. Groups and families love the NEW Mt Moriah Cottage next door, with 5 bedrooms sleeping up to 10 & the Family Suite with fully equipped kitchen, spacious living room, and three bedrooms that sleep 8 comfortably. We are dog friendly in select rooms and 100% smoke-free throughout with newly renovated and Eco-Friendly rooms and cottage. Close to: MT WASHINGTON STORY LAND SANTAS VILLAGE MOOSE TOURS HIKING,BIKING,RAFTING AND ALL THE NATURAL OUTDOORS HAS TO OFFER! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Top Notch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Top Notch Hotel Gorham
a Top Notch Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing