We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Limited menu with bland food” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yokohama Restaurant

Yokohama Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 23 Restaurants in Gorham
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Limited menu with bland food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

The menu was limited and food quality was poor (fried rice was mushy and had a very strange tomato-like flavor). Oriental dining can mean different things to different diners--if you're expecting the food and flavor of a what the typical American describes as Chinese or Asian food, you will be disappointed. Putting that expectation aside, we found the food to be fairly bland, without much distinct flavor. We also received duplicate of some of our order. However, we give kudos to the friendly waitress who explained the menu.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank amie818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    6
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Andover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
119 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Food Review”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

It was good food but not quite up to "excellent" as yet. Not sure what else to say as it was a moderate meal and did not seem to be frequented as much as other nearby restaurants.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donna29727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Some food good. Some bad.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

I think I recall that there was no udon noodles on the menu. I was so disappointed. I got some kind of dish, and it so wasn't good. My mom liked her soup, but she didn't like her main dish. This seems like a fake Japanese restaurant. On a positive note, the wait staff was attentive and nice. I am surprised to see how many good reviews there were here. I decided to stop here because of the good reviews from AAA. AAA has never disappointed me; but it did this time.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Raquel_Puerto_Rico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“More than a great Asian Food Restuarant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013

Great service and food with the best fried clams in the area on Fridays. Centrally located in Gorham the place is a favorite with the locals. Great prices and a hidden treasure.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, NH
Level Contributor
180 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very good lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

The value at lunch is fantastic. Large portions, good quality food, and it's always served hot. Service is friendly and efficient. Tables could use some updating, but the restaurant itself is very clean. Good restaurant for the area.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank wildcatsfan86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yokohama Restaurant also viewed

 
Gorham, White Mountains
 

Been to Yokohama Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing