We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NO GO!!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gorham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Libby House Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Gorham B&B and Inns
Pawling, New York
2 reviews
“NO GO!!!!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

SORRY TO SAY, IT IS TIME FOR THE OWNER TO SELL THIS PROPERTY, TO SOMEONE WHO HAS THE INTEREST IN RUNNING A B&B..
attitude- not good!!!!
Suite- bathroom wallpaper hanging down put up with tumb tacks!!! NO TV IN ROOM
no tissues, no water, no ice and definitely no breakfast served on site.... therefore I do not consider this a B &B if you have to go down the street..
It is a great old house with a lot of potential.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marief3591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    7
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
12
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vista, California
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

After a couple of days on the road staying at large chain hotels, we decided to stay at the Libby House Inn in Gorham on our way up to Montreal. The location of the Inn is a plus. Once you are parked you can walk just about everywhere in town. "Doc" gave us great food recommendations for the Saalt Pub (see separate review) and other local eateries. And when the local moose tour canceled for lack of patrons, he gave us excellent advice for our own moose-spotting -- and it worked! We saw three moose that evening (and a fox). The rooms are large, and that is always welcome after staying at box hotels.

That said, The Libby House Inn is not really a true B&B. One of the benefits of a B&B is that you breakfast with other guests, which is a nice way to meet people. But when we were there, we simply received from Doc two $10 vouchers to a local diner per night. We would have preferred that the tariff for the room had been lowered $20 per night and then we could choose out own breakfast place. Additionally, parts of the house looked a bit run down. The bed was nicely appointed, but the mattress lacked support. There was no hair dryer in the room, and no locks on the bedroom doors. Most B&Bs at least offer a chain lock for the doors. When you are sharing a house with guests you don't know, it is nice to feel like there is some privacy and security.

Overall, the Libby House Inn is blessed with a winsome proprietor and a great location, but it needs some TLC and a good cook in order to get its rankings up.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robinson, il
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

I'm typically not a B & B guy, but I thought I'd try it. Stayed at the Libby House for 8 consecutive nights, 9/29 - 107. No in-room television is something to consider. No (very little) Wi-Fi is something to consider. As far as sleeping, you'll sleep like a bear as this is a comfortable place to stay and we found "Doc" to be a very nice guy and helpful too.

Room Tip: The Kristen room is huge and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We usually don't stay in B&B's, often just too "foo-foo". This was a nice surprise. It's a beautiful home, and our room was very large and nicely decorated. The owner Doc, told us about the area and the history of the hotel, he was very friendly and welcoming. The breakfast was wonderful. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend The Libby House and would love to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BeckySanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Stopped in without a reservation and got the last room on Labor day weekend. Doc gave us the history on the Inn and sent us to dinner at a great pub.
Breakfast was charming and we felt lucky to be waited on so graciously.

Room Tip: We slept in the attic......loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zeldasue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, CA, USA
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We stayed only one night, but enjoyed the hospitality of the owner of the house, Doc, and the quiet ambiance. We wanted to see Mt. Washington, an unusual attraction all by itself, and this house was on the crossroads to the mountain. Doc, the owner, filled us in on the history of the toll road to the mountain, which is still in the family of the people who built the house. The Libby family was wealthy when they built the house and the details show in the woods used in the doors, floors, staircase, etc. A family member had returned most of the furniture to the house so it is furnished much as it was when the family lived there. The parlor and sitting rooms are open to guests to enjoy.

Our room was large, with a queen bed and a sofa and lots of floor space. Our private bathroom featured an old fashioned claw tub, perfect for soaking. There were also plenty of plugs to recharge all our electrical gadgets. (No wifi, however.)

For breakfast Doc had lovely individual dishes of fresh fruit and small light pancakes dusted with powdered sugar and maple syrup, along with sausages. He also told us to be sure and see the carriage barn at the bottom of Mt. Washington's toll road to see the collection of vehicles that made history traveling up the mountain. It was an enjoyable stay. We paid $125 in October, but Doc said rooms were more during the high season, $165.

Room Tip: There are only four rooms. We were on the second floor facing the street, which I thought might be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Finessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

This is really nice and elegant for this far north. The owner was very nice, made us feel welcomed, I didn't want to leave. Breakfast was great. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BostonBianca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorham
1.3 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
0.7 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
17.0 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Top Notch Inn
Top Notch Inn
#1 of 7 in Gorham
645 reviews
1.1 mi away
Northern Peak Motor Inn
1.2 mi away
Gorham Motor Inn
Gorham Motor Inn
#2 of 2 in Gorham
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Libby House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Libby House Inn

Property: The Libby House Inn
Address: 55 Main St, Gorham, NH 03581-1324
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Gorham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Gorham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Libby House Inn is an Elegant and Historic Victorian Bed & Breakfast, that is surrounded by charming White Mountains and located on the north end of Presidential mountain range, that has 6,288' Mt. Washington in the centre. You're welcome the year-round to this 1891 Victorian House with all original Libby family furnishings. Full gourmet or vegetarian candle light breakfast is included in the price of the room. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing