We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little Motel”
Review of Royalty Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Royalty Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Certificate of Excellence
Dudley, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice little Motel”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Wife and I were up in the White Mountains and I stayed at the Royalty Inn just this past weekend.

We booked on-line the night before we left so check-in was quick and easy. the lady at the front desk was very courteous and friendly. we stayed on the 2nd floor, steps going up were a little steep but the room was very clean and comfortable with a coffee maker, microwave oven, new fangled 32" flat screen t-v, good wi-fi connection, etc

the room where we stayed in seemed to be updated not long ago. there was a sliding glass door in the shower which you dont see much of any more but still fairly new and bathroom was very clean

this isn't the Four Seasons Hotel of Boston (what IS in Gorham?) but if you're looking for a good, comfy, fairly inexpensive, clean place to stay while visiting the great north woods of New Hampshire with great proximity to Mount Washington, and RIGHT there in beautiful downtown Gorham within walking distance top everything, I'd most definately recommend the Royalty Inn in Gorham

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Banditoman59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    181
    72
    26
    21
See reviews for
210
116
31
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plainsboro, New Jersey, United States
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The room we stayed in was very old. A/C was probably from 60s. Most of the power outlets were not working. They claims they have wifi, but reception is very poor. All these were still acceptable considering the low price.

But the mattress I slept on was very old as well, but I took my chance and that's where my problem started. I woke up the next day with slight pain on my left side of lower back. The pain worsened as the day progressed. By the next day my entire left leg was hurting. Talked to a doctor and we find out it's called Sciatica, which is primarily caused by these kind of beds. It's been 2 weeks now and I still can't sit or walk. Spent 100s of dollars on doctors and medicines so far. As per the doctors it will take a month for me to walk normally again. So be careful if you want to stay at this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhairav D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howell, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Great place to stay, check in was quick and efficient, staff friendly and courteous. Room was spacious and comfortable. the fitness center is excellent and free for hotel guests, they have racquetball courts and a 5 ft swimming pool and hot tub with locker facilities. Had a great and relaxing stay while visiting Mt. Washington and the numerous waterfalls that are around. Would highly recommend this place to folks visiting.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyaltyGorham_NH, General Manager at Royalty Inn, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for staying with us. Looking forward to seeing you back with us at some point and enjoying our recently improved pool area. Don't forget to check out our packages for summer and winter attractions that are sure to provide you and your family with a lasting experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This is a good motel by most standards. We had a clean and spacious room and bathroom at a reasonable rate, close to Mount Washington which was our main reason for being in the area. We didn't do much other than spend the night so can't comment on the motel more generally.

There's a nice, if fairly basic, restaurant right next door and it was nice to be able to walk back from dinner. The lack of a complimentary breakfast (just coffee) in the motel was a noticeable omission, although not big enough an issue to affect our decision to stay here.

From what we experienced, I'd expect most people to be happy with a stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RS10675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyaltyGorham_NH, General Manager at Royalty Inn, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Thank you for your business and for taking the time to write a review. Currently we are not running the restaurant that is on the property thus we have no control on the their services. Hopefully with time we will have a better opportunity to have a breakfast offering on property. For the mean time I would recommend Welshes Restaurant which is only a few door step away and offer a great breakfast and lunch. Looking forward to having you back with us as out guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I rated my stay a 3 stars because it can't compare it with a 5 star resort or hotel in an other city but I think 3 stars is the best you can get in Gorham.

We are a group of 14 motorcycle riders (21 people in all) that stayed at the Royalty Inn on August 24th.

Nice basic clean rooms with coffee maker and fridge. The decor is basic but it works for an overnight stay. Compared to what is available in town, its gotta be one of the top quality places. I wouldn't come to Gorham for a week vacation but a couple of nights as a base for Mt Washington (15 minutes away) works just fine.

Check-inn was fast and problem free for 14 rooms. The hotel has a pool but its far from resort quality - its in the middle of the parking lot and surrounded by a wire fence. There is no breakfast available with room.

For breakfast, we had the buffet at Walsh's just down the road - perfect selection, quality, price and service. For dinner, we went to J's that was also perfect for a group dinner (21 people).

PS Please vote as helpfull if you like this review

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MICMERG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyaltyGorham_NH, General Manager at Royalty Inn, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Thank you for your business and the time you took to write your review. I take it that you did not have the time to visit our indoor pool and fitness center. We hope to see you back with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My husband and I take a yearly vacation with our young grandchildren. This year money is rather tight and the number of grandchildren grew by two. We decided to settle for a mini vacation but needed to find a place that would accommodate four adults, three children and a newborn. I am a bit of a hotel snob. I abhor a place that is shabby and unkempt. I read the reviews and checked out the Royalty Inn website. Their price seemed really low and through price line the cost was even lowered. I was very nervous about this deal since other places in the area were charging so much more and would not let us share one room. Opening the door to our room I was amazed at how big the room was. Our room had two beds which were suppose to be queen sized but other family members felt they were more like full size. There was more than enough room to put an air mattress on the floor for the children plus put the porta crib between the beds. The hotel was fairly full yet noise was not an issue at all. Best of all the room was immaculate. There is both an indoor and outdoor pool. We used the indoor pool and it too was quite clean. Our destination of Santa's Village was no more than 30 minutes away.
The only complaints we had are not really complaints. Our room was only stocked with a few bath towels which were a bit small and thin. On our second day housekeeping left us extra towels without us even asking. Very thoughtful! The only issue we really had was that while we were at the indoor pool a large group of people thought it would be great to party in front of our room. The party was short as they were gone when we returned but they left beer bottles and other trash right in front of our area. My son in law bumped into one of the culprits when they were gearing up for round two. They were polite and agreed to party across the parking lot. I can not blame the hotel for their behavior though.
Any further trips we take to New Hampshire will be easier to plan since I will be sure to rebook this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bostonterrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyaltyGorham_NH, General Manager at Royalty Inn, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you for your business and review. Sorry to hear that a group of people hindered your stay. Please feel free to contact the staff here at the hotel with any such concerns and we will be happy to address it. We are working on upgrading some of our rooms and with that towels will follow. Looking forward to seeing you back here with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deer Isle, Maine, United States
1 review
Reviewed 27 August 2013

After just spending three nights at the Royalty Inn we felt we needed to write a review. This motel is AWESOME! This was our sixth year staying here and we would not stay anywhere else. The motel is very clean (and we are picky) and the staff is wonderful (especially Yvette and Bud!). We are already counting the days until we can go again. We were told they are renovating the indoor pool, can't wait to see the finished product! Thank you to all at the Royalty Inn that helped make our family vacation wonderful!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordyn-Jessi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RoyaltyGorham_NH, General Manager at Royalty Inn, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you for your business. We look forward to seeing you back with us again for yet another year. Please remember to ask about some of our packages that many families have found to be a cost savings package.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorham
1.0 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
1.1 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Resort
24.3 mi away
Red Jacket Mountain View Resort & Water Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Top Notch Inn
Top Notch Inn
#1 of 7 in Gorham
679 reviews
17.9 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#3 of 12 in Bartlett
487 reviews
1.4 mi away
Moose Brook Motel
Moose Brook Motel
#6 of 7 in Gorham
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royalty Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royalty Inn

Property: Royalty Inn
Address: 130 Main St, Gorham, NH 03581-1684
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Gorham
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royalty Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"White Mountains Best Value" 88 room hotel conveniently located in the middle of Gorham within easy walking distance to restaurants and other services. Guests have unlimited access to indoor and outdoor pools, Jacuzzi, sauna, racquetball, basketball, extensive weight room, Cardio room, game room and guest laundry. All guest rooms feature refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker and free WIFI. The Royalty Inn is close to all the attractions that make the White Mountains the ultimate vacation destination. Mt. Washington, Wildcat ski area, Tuckerman's Ravine, Great Glen Trails are only 10 min away. Storyland and Santa's Village only 20 min and Attitash, Bretton Woods and Sunday River ski resorts 30 min. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Royalty Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royalty Hotel Gorham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing