We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely family hotel with great facilities on your doorstep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Town & Country Inn and Resort
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Homely family hotel with great facilities on your doorstep”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

On a tour of New England the Town & Country Inn was such a welcome relief from some of the places we've stayed in. The room was clean and laid out sensibly. The Sauna, steam room and pool were a welcome relaxation. The first place with these facilities that I felt clean enough to use. The little touches of floral decoration were not a bluff as the hotel really does care about its guests. The receptionists were friendly and very helpful. It was also great to be able to eat food of a good standard on site and not have to search for somewhere in town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back away from the road. If you are able bodied a room upstairs is probably be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Divaesque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott L, Owner at Town & Country Inn and Resort, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for joining us and we are very happy you enjoyed our hotel, leisure facilities and our dining room. We work very hard to provide a nice product for our guests, so thank you again for acknowledging our efforts. We hope you'll recommend us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    131
    51
    35
    20
See reviews for
102
109
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
boston ma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We had not stayed at this Inn in quite some time, and were looking forward to dinner in the restaurant after a long day at Santa's Village with our grandchildren.
The hotel is just ok, but, looks quite nice on the outside. We had a 2 bedroom suite, and were amazed at the lack of lighting in the room. Basically, there were no lamps at all...overhead light, 2 wall scones, one floor lamp in the adjacent room, and that was it. Very dark wallpaper and
carpeting added to the darkness of the room.
We shut the door between our room at night, as my husband snores, and our grandchildren panicked as they could not open the door (big fire hazard) in the am, as there was no door knob between the rooms, and it could only be opened from our side...pretty scary.
We looked forward to dinner as we remembered the food being great.
What a disappointment.
On top of that, it was a weird set-up.
You had your regular waitress, and a bar waitress. Two checks..weird.
They brought out a loaf of bread, which we remembered being terrific, however, it was stale...my husband said don't say anything...our grandchildren would eat it...they were hungry...I said...could we please have another loaf, as it is kind of hard...another one came out...same thing, but by now, the food was starting to come out.
It was mediocre at best.
There was a wedding going on at the other end of the dining room with only a partition dividing us, so, you guessed it...we got to listen to Proud Mary, the chicken dance, etc during dinner...lovely...
When they took a break, the bar started up...swell...great for conversation.
The servers were polite and nice and accommodating as best they could be, but, this establishment needs to get into 2013.

Room Tip: If you are going during fall foliage season, call this hotel directly,as they seem to hold rooms fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ballymacoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott L, Owner at Town & Country Inn and Resort, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
I am sorry to hear of your disappointment with your stay. The first comment of yours regarding the door between the sitting room and the bedroom was surprising, as I expected just one door but there were two, as in an adjoining room. That will be corrected.
As for your comments on our dining room, I must respectfully disagree with our bread being stale. Our bread is homemade and with it being October, bread was being baked daily.
I would hope that if your dinner wasn't to your liking, that you would of addressed it with your server, but it probably wasn't.
I am sorry the wedding bothered you, I do realize that guests in the dining room can hear the activity in the adjacent reception room. Most guests are tolerant of such a nice occasion.
I am also sorry we provide entertainment for our guests as that was inconvenient for you as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johns Creek, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

While hiking the White Mountains last weekend we ran into a glitch with all the huts fully booked on the mountains. We were directed to this Inn and were pleased with our one night stay. The pool, hot tub and sauna were much enjoyed due to our weary hiking bodies. Both dinner and breakfast in the restaurant were extremely good with yummy hot homemade bread. While the rooms aren't "high end," they are large and clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott L, Owner at Town & Country Inn and Resort, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Although I am sorry the huts were filled, I am happy you got to visit the Town & Country and enjoyed your overnight with us. It seemed that you utilized most of the amenities that we offer and thank you for the positive comments.
Hopefully, you'll visit us again the next time your in the White Mountains.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewiston, Maine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Golf package which included Hotel room, evening meal, (anything on the menu) breakfast in the morning and a 18 hole round of golf for $245.00 per couples. We thought it was a great deal and we will return for sure. Hotel was very nice and clean and roomy with indoor pool & hot tub. We did not use it, but went by the pool area from outside and it looked very nice. Menu had a good choice and price was averaging $10.00 to $22.00 which was included. Buffet or off the menu in the morning breakfast included. Golf was very scenic with fall foliage, but would still be nice in summertime.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andisml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott L, Owner at Town & Country Inn and Resort, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for visiting us and enjoying one of our golf getaways. We do receive many positive comments on the value of these getaways, the variety of the menu and the convenience of golfing right across the street. We hope you will join us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights at T& C motor inn resort. A last minute booking admittedly but we had to change the room from the one booked to another after a forensic examination of our booking by the gentleman at the front desk. Our room smelt strongly of smoke despite the wing being allegedly smoke free the corridors likewise smelt of smoke and it would seem the blanket under-blanket and cover on the bed had not been washed for a very long time and they also smelt of stale cigarette smoke.

On the plus side the meals are quite good and the town is well situated for exploring the area.

If you can find alternative accommodation in Gorham you should strongly consider it .

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott L, Owner at Town & Country Inn and Resort, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to sign up and write your first review! While I see that your reservation was booked online, I'm unclear as to what our desk attendant neglected to do for you. If anything, a little effort on your part to let the desk staff know of your unhappiness with the room you stayed in for 2 nights would have been helpful. Guests who smoke, typically do so outside of their guest room and if they do smoke in a non smoking room they are charged a substantial cleaning fee.
We are pleased that you enjoyed our food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
126 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Quite a nice place to stay. Room was large, comfortable and held a wonderful view of the mountains. Restaurant was fantastic with delicious food and reasonably priced. Wait staff very friendly and accommodating. The adjacent bar/lounge is really a nice area to relax either at small tables, the bar or on one of the three couches by the windows. This area brought in a lot of natural light with a view of a golf course and the well kept landscaping and flowers on the premises of the motel. This made a great place after a day at work where I could pop open my laptop (free WIFI) while we had a refreshment and enjoyed the complimentary hot and cold h'orderves before dinner. Each night offers a dinner special and you cannot beat the Family Style dinner night that serves ham, chicken and beef with all the sides and dessert included. We'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna29727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott L, Owner at Town & Country Inn and Resort, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Thank you for the kind words about the Town & Country. It sounds like you enjoyed the accommodations, food and lounge. We hope you'll visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I stayed at this lodge/inn a month ago for a wedding. From the outside, it looks like it would be accommodating. Well the lobby alone would unfortunately be enough to turn folks away. It smelled like smoke so badly I looked around each time to see if someone was smoking. The hotel bar only had one bartender, so when there was a wedding party, the bartender was overwhelmed. The room itself was ok, but they hadn't finished cleaning. So the cleaning person came in and just shoved towels in the bathroom. The only redeeming quality was the restaurant. The breakfast buffet was great, and service was great.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorham
1.1 mi away
Royalty Inn
Royalty Inn
#3 of 7 in Gorham
452 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
16.8 mi away
The Inn at Thorn Hill & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Top Notch Inn
Top Notch Inn
#1 of 7 in Gorham
630 reviews
16.5 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,406 reviews
15.8 mi away
Eagle Mountain House & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town & Country Inn and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town & Country Inn and Resort

Property: Town & Country Inn and Resort
Address: 20 US Route 2, Gorham, NH 03581
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Gorham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Town & Country Inn and Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Town & Country Inn and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town & Country Motor Hotel Gorham
Town And Country Motor Inn Resort
Town And Country Motor Inn Gorham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing