We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Town & Country Inn and Resort
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed at the T&C while visiting family in Berlin. There was some confusion at the outset as 2 rooms had been booked and paid for on Expedia. At check in, I registered one room in my name and they took my credit card. At check out, they realized I had been "charged" for the room with the pet fee and had to undo and reprocess both charges. All the while, Expedia had been paid for the rooms... I guess the clerk was new. The process was very speedy though!
We had asked for ajoining rooms and were told they weren't ajoining, but were "right next to each other". Ummm....yes, if you don't count the 5 feet of steps you have to climb to get to the room next door as it was up a partial level. It worked out for us as we were not a family traveling with small children or needing a connecting door, but had that been the case, it would have been a problem.
My biggest complaint aside from old, worn decor, was the incredibly thin mattresses. I don't think even the basic twin mattresses I've purchased at warehouse stores for my kids beds were this flimsy/thin. No padding, very soft springs and covered with a thin felt type mattress cover that lay under the sheet, but not over the edges of the mattress. Fortunately it was only 3 nights, but needless to say, probably the worst mattress I've slept on. The bathroom was adequate, if not dated. Towels were small and thin, but again, it was just myself and I could use 2.
Staff, especially housekeeping was attentive and courteous. We were able to check in upon arrival, but clearly housekeeping was not done cleaning rooms yet. They seem to do all of the Sunday checkouts at once in kind of an assembly line fashion. We arrived to piles of dirty bedding up and down the halls and staff hard at work. Despite this, we were not asked to wait until official check in time, and the housekeeping staff arrived with towels fresh out of the dryer as soon as they could. They also hung a bag with fresh towels on the door the next morning when I hung the do not disturb sign. The ice machine was handy, although you needed to use a room key to dispense ice (a first for me). Our rooms had both and interior and exterior entrance, and we both had trouble with our keys not working on one or the other door at some point.
Internet service was spotty at best, and that is being generous. We both ended up using our own hotspots on our cell phones.
We didn't use the restaurant facilities, but the prices looked fantastic and the food smelled great. The pool was near our room, and seemed to be in good shape. No elevators, so hauling suitcases up and down the stairs was unexpected, but doable. The view out the windows of the trees was fabulous, and on the front side you had the golf course view.
Aside from the front desk glitches, thin uncomfortable mattresses, outdated flooring and poor internet connections, the place worked for our needs and the location was great!

Room Tip: If you have difficulty carrying your suitcase up stairs, ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 13dms63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott L, Owner at Town & Country Inn and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. While I am not quite sure of how the check-in was handled, I do know that when booking online, you cannot specify adjoining or adjacent, so pardon us for them not being exactly side by side, with the layout of that building, that is what we have. You were more than welcomed to ask for a change. Check-in is normally 3 pm, so if the housekeepers were still working, you probably arrived before the normal check in time, so pardon us for trying to get you into your room early. We are constantly changing mattresses, if anything, I get comments that they are to hard! Again, we would have happily moved your room to make you more comfortable.
The ice machine dispenser has a key card to help eliminate non hotel guests taking ice and it has worked well.
We are continually updating the hotel to make our guests more comfortable and I am sorry for not meeting your standards, but after 3 nights, it would have been helpful to our hotel to let us know our shortcomings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

This place was really an all around great stop on our fall leaf peeping trip. we traveled with our little dog and they were very accomodating. the restaurant was fantastic for breakfast and dinner. The bar had a "happy hour with hot treats and the prices were great.The location gies you easy access to the Mt. Washington Valley and the Franconia Notch areas along Route 302. if you go twenty two miles in the other direction you can see Bethel and the Sunday River areas. We went home along Route 26 and found a new casino in Oxford,Maine.
If you want a nice clean fun place give it a try. There is also an indoor pool, steam room and gym. very nice owners and a very nice place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonySandwich_MA_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott L, Owner at Town & Country Inn and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thank you for the write up and we are happy you found us. We are glad we were able to offer pet friendly accommodations and are thrilled you enjoyed our food and beverage service. We hope you will recommend the Town & Country to your friends and family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

On a tour of New England the Town & Country Inn was such a welcome relief from some of the places we've stayed in. The room was clean and laid out sensibly. The Sauna, steam room and pool were a welcome relaxation. The first place with these facilities that I felt clean enough to use. The little touches of floral decoration were not a bluff as the hotel really does care about its guests. The receptionists were friendly and very helpful. It was also great to be able to eat food of a good standard on site and not have to search for somewhere in town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back away from the road. If you are able bodied a room upstairs is probably be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Divaesque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott L, Owner at Town & Country Inn and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thank you for joining us and we are very happy you enjoyed our hotel, leisure facilities and our dining room. We work very hard to provide a nice product for our guests, so thank you again for acknowledging our efforts. We hope you'll recommend us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We had not stayed at this Inn in quite some time, and were looking forward to dinner in the restaurant after a long day at Santa's Village with our grandchildren.
The hotel is just ok, but, looks quite nice on the outside. We had a 2 bedroom suite, and were amazed at the lack of lighting in the room. Basically, there were no lamps at all...overhead light, 2 wall scones, one floor lamp in the adjacent room, and that was it. Very dark wallpaper and
carpeting added to the darkness of the room.
We shut the door between our room at night, as my husband snores, and our grandchildren panicked as they could not open the door (big fire hazard) in the am, as there was no door knob between the rooms, and it could only be opened from our side...pretty scary.
We looked forward to dinner as we remembered the food being great.
What a disappointment.
On top of that, it was a weird set-up.
You had your regular waitress, and a bar waitress. Two checks..weird.
They brought out a loaf of bread, which we remembered being terrific, however, it was stale...my husband said don't say anything...our grandchildren would eat it...they were hungry...I said...could we please have another loaf, as it is kind of hard...another one came out...same thing, but by now, the food was starting to come out.
It was mediocre at best.
There was a wedding going on at the other end of the dining room with only a partition dividing us, so, you guessed it...we got to listen to Proud Mary, the chicken dance, etc during dinner...lovely...
When they took a break, the bar started up...swell...great for conversation.
The servers were polite and nice and accommodating as best they could be, but, this establishment needs to get into 2013.

Room Tip: If you are going during fall foliage season, call this hotel directly,as they seem to hold rooms fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ballymacoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott L, Owner at Town & Country Inn and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

I am sorry to hear of your disappointment with your stay. The first comment of yours regarding the door between the sitting room and the bedroom was surprising, as I expected just one door but there were two, as in an adjoining room. That will be corrected.
As for your comments on our dining room, I must respectfully disagree with our bread being stale. Our bread is homemade and with it being October, bread was being baked daily.
I would hope that if your dinner wasn't to your liking, that you would of addressed it with your server, but it probably wasn't.
I am sorry the wedding bothered you, I do realize that guests in the dining room can hear the activity in the adjacent reception room. Most guests are tolerant of such a nice occasion.
I am also sorry we provide entertainment for our guests as that was inconvenient for you as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

While hiking the White Mountains last weekend we ran into a glitch with all the huts fully booked on the mountains. We were directed to this Inn and were pleased with our one night stay. The pool, hot tub and sauna were much enjoyed due to our weary hiking bodies. Both dinner and breakfast in the restaurant were extremely good with yummy hot homemade bread. While the rooms aren't "high end," they are large and clean.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott L, Owner at Town & Country Inn and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Although I am sorry the huts were filled, I am happy you got to visit the Town & Country and enjoyed your overnight with us. It seemed that you utilized most of the amenities that we offer and thank you for the positive comments.
Hopefully, you'll visit us again the next time your in the White Mountains.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Golf package which included Hotel room, evening meal, (anything on the menu) breakfast in the morning and a 18 hole round of golf for $245.00 per couples. We thought it was a great deal and we will return for sure. Hotel was very nice and clean and roomy with indoor pool & hot tub. We did not use it, but went by the pool area from outside and it looked very nice. Menu had a good choice and price was averaging $10.00 to $22.00 which was included. Buffet or off the menu in the morning breakfast included. Golf was very scenic with fall foliage, but would still be nice in summertime.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andisml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott L, Owner at Town & Country Inn and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thank you for visiting us and enjoying one of our golf getaways. We do receive many positive comments on the value of these getaways, the variety of the menu and the convenience of golfing right across the street. We hope you will join us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We stayed two nights at T& C motor inn resort. A last minute booking admittedly but we had to change the room from the one booked to another after a forensic examination of our booking by the gentleman at the front desk. Our room smelt strongly of smoke despite the wing being allegedly smoke free the corridors likewise smelt of smoke and it would seem the blanket under-blanket and cover on the bed had not been washed for a very long time and they also smelt of stale cigarette smoke.

On the plus side the meals are quite good and the town is well situated for exploring the area.

If you can find alternative accommodation in Gorham you should strongly consider it .

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Geoff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott L, Owner at Town & Country Inn and Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Thank you for taking the time to sign up and write your first review! While I see that your reservation was booked online, I'm unclear as to what our desk attendant neglected to do for you. If anything, a little effort on your part to let the desk staff know of your unhappiness with the room you stayed in for 2 nights would have been helpful. Guests who smoke, typically do so outside of their guest room and if they do smoke in a non smoking room they are charged a substantial cleaning fee.
We are pleased that you enjoyed our food.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gorham
1.1 mi away
Royalty Inn
Royalty Inn
#3 of 7 in Gorham
559 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mt Madison Inn & Suites
1.7 mi away
Top Notch Inn
Top Notch Inn
#1 of 7 in Gorham
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Northern Peak Motor Inn
15.8 mi away
Nordic Village Resort
Nordic Village Resort
#4 of 12 in Bartlett
520 reviews
16.5 mi away
Omni Mount Washington Resort
Omni Mount Washington Resort
#1 of 2 in Bretton Woods
3,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Town & Country Inn and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town & Country Inn and Resort

Address: 20 US Route 2, Gorham, NH 03581
Region: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Gorham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Price Range: £67 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Town & Country Inn and Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Town & Country Inn and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town & Country Motor Hotel Gorham
Town And Country Motor Inn Resort
Town And Country Motor Inn Gorham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing