We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Step Back Into Victorian New Hampshire”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Greenfield Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Greenfield Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Greenfield B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Step Back Into Victorian New Hampshire”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Greenfield Inn, a classic old mansion in the historic center of this small New England town in the Monadnock region of New Hampshire. The Inn is shielded from a neighboring house on one side by tall shrubbery, while on the other side there are two acres of lawn sloping down to the picturesque public library. The view on this side is reveals houses and other small buildings resembling a Currier & Ives print, which makes sense since this is the iconic region of New Hampshire captured by the artists.

There is a very good small restaurant and bar, the Riverside Café, just a block down the hill opposite the classic Greenfield Town Meeting House that soars skyward from a hill across the street. According to the historic marker: “The frame, built from local timber by resident Hugh Gregg, was raised by one hundred volunteers from the village and surrounding towns on September 16, 1795.” Bring a camera. This is the oldest original Meeting House in New Hampshire.

The Inn has been run for more than 20 years by the hosts, now in their 80s, who are assisted by family members. Yes, this is an Inn with lots of curios and knick-knacks and family photos and ubiquitous hand-lettered signs; but give it a chance and help keep this institution a functioning part of small-town America. It was good enough for Bob Hope—a frequent guest—and it is a warm and delightful retreat from your To-Do list.

We will be back.

Room Tip: The rooms in front face the main road, and while traffic is very light at night, if you are easily d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
Helpful?
3 Thank cberlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    16
    2
    3
    6
See reviews for
9
22
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
east boston
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Room was exactly as advertised,owners were friendly,made us feel welcome.Literally made us feel at home.
Good location near skiing,outlets,Massachusetts,Vermont,easy assess from major interstates.
Food was great ,could have serve used Stonybrook yogurt from nearby farm.
Great fireplace,decent view,could use TV upgrade.
All superior bang for buck-thank you Barbara!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

This is the first time I had the pleasure if staying at a B&B - I am happy it was at the Greenfield Inn. I traveled alone for a special retreat weekend and I have many food restrictions. Barbara made sure I had access to equipment to prepare my food which was a big comfort... Chip's Lady Love holds a special spot, made sure I was comfortable and became a friend... Vic, I could listen to those stories forever!! I look forward to bringing my mom and daughter for a girls weekend and I will definitely be back to celebrate my 1st year anniversary as Reiki Master Teacher, you all hold a memorable place in my heart!!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TammyCons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester, NY
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Our family of five, three boys 11, 8, 6, stayed one night at the Greenfield Inn. I was participating in a bike race that started in town so the location was very convenient. We had the Hayloft suite. The house was once very gracious but has clearly been declining for some time now as the owner's physical and financial ability to keep up with it has waned. There was lots of evidence of older people doing the work but no longer having the energy to re-store tools or move materials distances so there are lots of garbage cans around, brooms, wheelbarrows etc. The interior of the house is essentially as you would expect, pre-WWII victorian. The carpets are worn and the automatic on/off lights in the halls can be a bit annoying but it's fine for what it is in that respect.

The suite we had was a low point in a number of respects. On the plus side it was fairly large and quite inexpensive. The amount of DIY construction and repair, the entrance through a shared toilet in the hall and the sound of rats in the walls were all a big downside. We did find a private entrance from the side of the house later so I didn't have to sit in the hall waiting for someone to finish a long session on the toilet to get into the room but we did get to hear when the toilet was in use. The furnishing would best be described as "catch as catch can". Several unwanted peeks into the strained intra-family dynamic did nothing to add to the appeal to the place.

In short it is very like visiting your grandparents who should have moved out of the big, old house your parent grew up in a long time ago but haven't. If you have to be in Greenfield or or staying a single night it will serve. Beyond that it's worth it to keep looking.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chipmangini, Manager at Greenfield Inn, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Congratulations on your participation in the road race. Annually we partner with the Greenfield Trail Association to provide accommodations for their events.

The Greenfield Inn has been owned and operated by the Mangini family for nearly three decades. Currently, it is in transition, as we reconfigure management of the business and build revenue back up after the recession. We can assure you that given time and the support of our valued guests, the Inn will thrive.

The weekend you attended the bicycle race the Inn was sold out. Every room. Every bed. Therefore the bathroom you had to wait for to get to your room was understandably busy. It’s a shame that you didn’t realize that one of the benefits to the suite you were in has its own entrance.

On behalf of our reputation, we do not have rats in our walls. Norway Rats are most common in an urban setting. We are surrounded by nature, which includes moose, deer, bear, wild turkey, chipmunk, all sorts of birds, and an occasional red or grey squirrel. This year our building was under assault from those pesky red squirrels. We've since evicted them back to the woods where they belong!

The upkeep of the Inn is always a work in progress, if not for any other reason, than it’s size, and having been built in the early 1850’s. This is a constant, and it is not just ‘older people’ who help maintain the property.

Some people value the warmth and comfort “visiting your grandparents” provides. There are reasons to celebrate our elders wisdom and confidence. Not all of us desire to or can afford to join a retirement community and live out our years in relative seclusion.

Fortunately I had the pleasure to meet your lovely and well mannered children and had a very pleasant conversation with your wife. We exchanged business cards for other reasons. I wish our paths had crossed so we could have avoided the use of a public forum for you to vent your concerns.

By the way, I think one of your boys left their red Nautica sweater in the room. Please email Barbara at innkeeper@greenfieldinn.com if you would like me package it up and send it to you!

Kind Regards,

The Greenfield Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shore, MA
Level Contributor
238 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

We recently stayed at the Greenfield Inn once again.It is so nice to return to this Victorian Inn. Our room was so pretty and clean. Loved the menus and things to do lists that were in each room. The towels in the bathroom were top notch. Breakfast was a party with all the guests eating Barbara's egg casserole, etc. and talking about the area! This is a great place to stay when you want to get away from it all. Once the weather warms we will be back again to sit on the porch in the white wicker rockers, sip our wine, and watch the sun disappear behing the mountains.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShelSouthShore_MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

Spiders, notes, water and coffee marks on the peeling paper, water won't drain in tub and on and on and on. VHS? 5 channels. Good things- nightly in room port and an OK breakfast egg casserole. They need to knock this house down and use the beautiful piece of property for something new.

Room Tip: Please don't choose a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Greenfield Bed and Breakfast because of a special offer of a free night for U. S. Veterans. Many B&B offered one or two rooms the night of November 11th, however our hosts at the Greenfield Inn offered 5 rooms to fellow active military and veterans. Though the accomadations were free, this did not at all diminish the service and attitude that we exeperienced. It was first rate. The Inn is what you would expect in a quaint New England country setting. Very historic, quaint and simple.

Breakfast was nice and had good variety. There was a egg baked dish of some sort, which I am sure my wife enjoyed, but I would have preferred just plain old scrambled egg and sausage. :-)

Room Tip: If you don't mind stairs, then ask for upstairs room, the first floor bedroom is right near fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenfield
20.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Manchester
21.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Keene Hotel
4.9 mi away
Crotched Mountain Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Little River Bed and Breakfast
5.9 mi away
Hancock Inn
Hancock Inn
#1 of 1 in Hancock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
5.9 mi away
Jack Daniels Motor Inn
Jack Daniels Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Peterborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greenfield Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greenfield Inn

Property: Greenfield Inn
Address: 749 Forest Rd, PO Box 400, Greenfield, NH 03047-4521
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Greenfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Greenfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Greenfield Inn is an historic Southern New Hampshire mountain view mansion offering many amenities and a great getaway. Our new owners are committed to providing the best experience possible at reasonable rates. Our goal is to provide our guests with the best customer service possible. Our inn is located about a mile from Greenfield state forest which offers 350 acres of hiking trails. Also close by is a ski area and a golf course. Please check our activities page for more information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Greenfield Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing