We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great "home base"”

1810 Pickering House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greenland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
1810 Pickering House
Ranked #1 of 1 Greenland B&B and Inns
Shorewood, Wisconsin
2 reviews
“A great "home base"”
Reviewed 17 October 2011

The location of the Pickering House is ideal as a home base to explore much of New Hampshire, Maine and, of course, Portsmouth and the coast. Highway access is easy and hosts Steve and Julia give excellant directions.
The house itself is very comfortable. There is much to look at and admire in the decor and Steve and Julia are gracious hosts. The zucchinni bread french toast was a special treat!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
32
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2011

After a busy week doing business in the Boston area, 1810 Pickering House was the perfect escape! Steve & Julia suggested we attend the Seacoast Repertory Theatre in Portsmouth, 9 miles away. Once in Portsmouth, parking was easy and we grabbed a quick glass of wine and Lobster Sliders at one of the city's many restaurants. The show was excellent and we had dinner after - no reservations or plans, we just walked until we found a place we liked! The next morning, I ran a road race in Gloucester while my friend slumbered - we got the Phillips suite so I didn't even disturb her early in the morning!

The bedrooms are plush, the bathrooms well-stocked with every amenity and the food (including the home-made maple syrup) can't be beat. Once you visit 1810 Pickering House, you will wonder what took you so long!

If you have a friend in the Boston/Portland area, kidnap them for a night and getaway to 1810 Pickering House!

Room Tip: I've stayed in all the rooms. They are all wonderful; comfortable beds, great bathrooms, irons...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JennaRoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2011

I stayed at the 1810 Pickering House while on the road trip home after a week-long vacation in Maine and 3 other Bed & Breakfasts. This experience was by far the best and really captured the essence of a true B&B. Steve and Julia were incredible hosts and went out of their way to provide a comfortable, relaxing and tasty (breakfast was awesome!) experience. It was also a quick, 10 minute ride to downtown Portsmouth and our hosts provided great insight and tips on where to eat and what to do downtown. If you're looking for a quiet B&B without the hustle and noise of a city, book your stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed in the McNulty Room, which we loved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roman Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We try to stay at B&Bs when travelling, and this is one of the very best. Steve and Julia are gracious hosts. Everything is immaculate. The rooms are beautifully appointed and comfortable. This B&B is conveniently located for a great stop-over while travelling either north or south along the coast. Breakfast was delicious. Kudos to hosts Steve and Julia. We highly recommend your lovely home, and will try to come back again soon.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billarm479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Haledon, NJ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

If you are seeking warm hospitality, delicious food, and close proximity to Portsmouth, give this B & B a try. Situated in a quiet, rural neighborhood of Greenland, it is within a ten minute drive to the riverfront of Portsmouth. Julia and Steve are gracious hosts who are always available, always helpful, but never intrusive. Breakfasts are cooked to order, tasty, and filling. The rooms are lovely, comfortable, and well-appointed. If you are lucky, you will get to meet Alec, the best behaved dog on the East Coast. We look forward to a return visit as well as to more delightful conversation with Julia and Steve.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triplel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2010

The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The host was very pleasant and attentive.
We had three great breakfasts and all were yammy.
We will come back again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank horgunusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, NJ
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2010

Thank you Steve and Julia for a wonderful stay in the Portsmouth area. You and your Bed & Breakfast are a warm welcome to new travelers to the "Seacoast" of New Hampshire... We really appreciated your local knowledge of what to see, where to dine, and where to look for our potential new home. We highly recommend 1810 Pickering House, and Steve and Julia are welcoming hosts. A beautiful home with warm and thoughtful innkeepers!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elmprogolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Greenland
3.7 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
468 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
2.6 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#10 of 17 in Portsmouth
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
3.7 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
2.7 mi away
Port Inn Portsmouth
Port Inn Portsmouth
#3 of 17 in Portsmouth
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1810 Pickering House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1810 Pickering House

Property: 1810 Pickering House
Address: 195 Portsmouth Ave, Greenland, NH 03840-2217
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Greenland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Greenland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming bed and breakfast located in quiet residential area of Greenland just minutes from historic and scenic Portsmouth, NH. Warm, gracious accommodations provided by your hosts Steve and Julia.Rates include full breakfast for two. Master Card and Visa accepted. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing