We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, would stay here again!”

1810 Pickering House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Greenland
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
1810 Pickering House
Ranked #1 of 1 Greenland B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 May 2010

Stayed here for our anniversary in the Phillips Master Suite. Another couple canceled so we had the place to ourselves which was great. The whole house was fantastic. Breakfast was delicious. Bathroom was so spacious, clean and just as wonderfully decorated as the rest of the place. They even sent up a little bottle of champagne for us. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiscoveryRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (60)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 60 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2010

My husband, sister in law and brother in law stayed here last weekend. Not only was our hostess Julia wonderful, but her dogs, Alec and Libby were excellent greeters! After a lovely dinner at a restaurant in Portsmouth we went back to the inn and enjoyed a relaxing evening in front of the fire in the common room. The next morning Julia made us a lovely breakfast. She made us feel like we were family. I'd go there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oliveoyl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2010

After a long journey north on a freezing winter’s night, I was greeted at the bus station by a cheerful Steve, and transported to the elegant and beautifully restored 1810 Pickering House. A welcoming fire and an offered cup of tea awaited me. The owners, Julia Phelps and Steve McKenzie, are gracious hosts who make every effort for their guests’ personal comfort. The rooms are charmingly furnished and the bathrooms modern. I look forward to staying there again whenever I visit the Portsmouth area.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewYorkCityMiche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2010

Steve and Julia were wonderful hosts. They made us feel comfortable in their home. The room was spacious and comfortable as were the living room and dining room.
Breakfast was great! Someone there makes great french toast! We took a little get away for the weekend and the 1810 Pickering House met all of our expectations. The Inn is near shopping, downtown Portsmouth and the coast of Maine. We enjoyed a wonderfully relaxing weekend and will recommend this Inn to freinds and family.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nifftie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2010

1810 Pickering House is the perfect B & B ! It's located on a quiet, tree-lined road not far from Portsmouth. The rooms are gracious and beautiful, the bed & pillows make for an excellent night's sleep, & the owners, Steve & Julia, have the knack of being great hosts: kindly available (gave us great directions & recommendations) but respectful of our space. We would return there in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francis012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2009

This is a gem. From the first contact we had in making the reservations, Getting the directions and first viewing the property. It is so convenient to our destination. ( we could see our destination from the Living room of the B&B) We were greeted at the front door by Julia and she showed us to our room. It was a great room with all the amenities anyone could expect. Later in the afternoon Steve lit a fire in the beautiful fireplace in the livingroom. Our hosts made our stay a delight and they served a sumptious breakfast, even better than what we expected. Steve & Julia made us feel that we were true guests in thier home, they have got it right and we will return when we are able.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bailiff10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

Columbus Day weekend was a perfect opportunity to enjoy the autumn foliage of northern NH and also partake in the more gentrified yet gentle surroundings in the Portsmouth area. I found the 1801 pickeringhouse on line and was more than pleasantly surprised when I arrived. It surpassed my expectations in every respect. The hostess, Julia, is warm, accomodating, friendly and knowledgeable. While she seeks to make one feel at home she also respects ones privacy and quiet time; and hence the 1810 pickering feels like being at a friend's house...a friend who is permits you to wander around as one pleases but is available for questions and advice. The room was spacious, immaculate, quiet and well appointed, and the breakfast was generous and well prepared. The added perk from my perspective was the equally warm but refined greeting of two dogs who, like the hostess, made you feel at home while keeping their distance. I would return to this b&b if time permits and heartily recommend it.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled with friends
Thank gersfeld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to 1810 Pickering House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1810 Pickering House

Address: 195 Portsmouth Ave, Greenland, NH 03840
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Greenland
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Greenland
Price Range: £67 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming bed and breakfast located in quiet residential area of Greenland just minutes from historic and scenic Portsmouth, NH. Warm, gracious accommodations provided by your hosts Steve and Julia.Rates include full breakfast for two. Master Card and Visa accepted. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing