We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful, restful homely and perfect”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Caynham, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

sc0tbear
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful, restful homely and perfect”
Reviewed 11 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

It has been such a wonderful stay in the farmland cottage. The cottage itself is beautiful and has everything you need and more. The photos don’t give the cottage its justice as it such a stunning place. We arrived too the gift of tea, cakes and a bottle of wine. There was a kit for the fire and wood for burning so many nights were spent relaxing in front of the fire watching DVDs and really enjoying winding down.
The cottage is on farmland and the silence and darkness was perfect for a getaway being relax and switch off. In the morning we woke to a lovely gathering of birds on the birdfeeder which was so amazing to watch whilst making breakfast. Also, the welcoming of Poppy the lovely farm dog who was so sweet.

Within a few hours of being in the cottage it felt like home as it has everything there. We bought a few things from the shop and although we enjoyed the local sights we craved being back in the cottage and that homely feel.

The bedrooms are perfect with storage to be able to put away cloths as you would at home. The bath was really great, and the shower was so nice it was hard to get out of! The kitchen has every piece of equipment and there is a fridge/freezer as well as storage for food. It has a dishwasher, so we could even take a break from washing dishes!

There are lovely places to visit including Ludlow Castle and many museums in Ironbridge, the Victorian Village is fascinating. Driving in the countryside is beautiful with many viewing points and walks as well as lovely places to eat.
We can’t thank the owners enough for such a wonderful holiday and helping us start the year feeling refreshed and relaxed. Thank you.

Date of stay: January 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JonathanI...
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“A great holiday cottage”
Reviewed 3 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Arrived to find milk in the fridge, a bottle of wine plus some delicious home baked blueberry and lemon drizzle cake plus tea. After a 6 hour drive this was a great start to our stay! The cottage has two bedrooms. One bedroom has double bed and is quite spacious. Beware, the door closes with a bang! we left it open. The second bedroom has two single beds. The bathroom and toilet are downstairs. There is a Mira shower over the bath with the option for a handheld shower or an overhead drench shower which my wife loved. I prefer the handheld shower so we were both happy. There was plenty of hot water and loads of towels provided. This cottage opened in 2015 and so you might think things would be getting a bit worn by now. But no everything was in perfect condition with complete and matching cutlery and crockery. There is a TV, wifi, oven, dishwasher and a large fridge freezer. Everything was in immaculate condition and this is one of the best holiday lets we have stayed in. Added to that the owners Rob and Louise are extremely friendly and helpful. Be warned, however, using the grill can set off the fire alarm even if the extractor fan is on! Louise keeps the bird feeder full which allowed us to watch woodpeckers, blue tits, sparrows etc while we ate breakfast. Finally they have the friendliest border collie called Pip who makes you feel welcome and keeps an eye on you during your stay.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2017
We’re glad you enjoyed your recent stay at Stone House in Caynham. Thank you for leaving a review, it is greatly appreciated. We hope you think of Sykes Cottages again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine...
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top notch property with character”
Reviewed 24 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was welcomed with a tray with tea and cakes and milk in the fridge which was a great start after a long drive ,lovaly cottage ,well kept modern interior lovaly album of photographs of the renavation on the property,what a change ,loved are stay ,friendly dog pip who also welcomed us .owners also lovaly .

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Happy2Bre...
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Recently renovated and immaculately clean cottage on a working farm”
Reviewed 9 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The friendly owners left us a welcome gift of wine, milk, tea, flowers and cake. A good start to an excellent week in this delightful cottage. It was completely recently renovated to a high standard. Hence you get the benefit of a new bathroom with powerful shower (albeit downstairs), and a well equipped kitchen. It was immaculately clean and warm. Outside there is a pretty enclosed patio plus views of the fields and masses of bird life.
Quiet location on a working cattle farm (lots of calves born during our stay, but the busy farmers still had time to chat to us about their farm). Easy access to Ludlow plus numerous National Trust and English Heritage properties.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Super_Six...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gorgeous cottage, thoughtfully equipped - highly recommended!”
Reviewed 17 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

On arrival we were greeted by the friendly and helpful owner and his adorable, immaculately behaved sheepdog. Inside the cottage, the wood burner had been lit, the heating was on, and a tea tray was set out for us with beautiful cakes. There was milk in the fridge, wine and fresh flowers on the table.
The attractive cottage has been beautifully renovated in a simple rustic style. The cottage adjoins the owners' home and is on a working farm. It is extremely quiet and the beds are so comfy... I can't quite believe how well I slept here (I'm an insomniac and can't usually sleep in strange places!) The cottage is very clean and well-equipped, including Wi-Fi, dishwasher, and a good size fridge-freezer (NB. no washing machine, but I think I read in the welcome notes that owners will do washing for you if needed). It sleeps up to four (one double, one twin).
Stone House is in a small village, not far from the attractive town of Ludlow. There is plenty to do in the area. I would not hesitate to recommend this beautiful cottage to anyone wanting to visit the lovely county of Shropshire.

Date of stay: February 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jlnrees
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautifully Restored Shropshire Farm Cottage”
Reviewed 24 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Having decided to spend New Year in the Ludlow area (good for food and walking) we booked the cottage for its good website presentation and its reasonable rates.
Our arrival to a warm cottage (courtesy of a great log burner) and christmas cake and wine was met with pleasure. We found the cottage lived up to expectations, especially the open plan groundfloor and the attention to detail was much appreciated, particularly in the well equipped kitchen.
We loved the birdlife attracted by the feeder (haven't seen a nuthatch for years) and the oak tree gathered a huge flock of wood pigeons, squirrels and pheasants, all feeding together.
The owners' communication was first class (directions etc) and they have found a good balance between friendliness & respecting a holiday maker`s need for privacy (having said that, I really enjoyed the long chats with the owner on his way back from feeding the cattle.)
The area caters not only to walkers and foodies, but also to book-lovers who would enjoy spending an hour or two at Aardvark Books, Brampton Bryan, & there`s always Hay on Wye! We fully intended to visit Birmingham but found so much to do in the immediate area that we need to delay that destination for another time. The only downside was the damp weather so I think a re-visit is called for!

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort
Liked least: The rain
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincsgirl...
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cosy cottage near Ludlow”
Reviewed 24 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We are so glad we booked this holiday cottage. It is a lovely cottage set in beautiful countryside. It is situated on a working farm however the area around the cottage is very quiet. It was lovely to be welcomed with a tea tray with home made cakes, a bottle of milk in the fridge and a lovely bottle of wine. The owners are very friendly and welcoming. This cottage has recently been renovated to a very high standard by the owners, it is in excellent order throughout with a lovely woodburner in the lounge area. Everywhere was spotless. The kitchen is well equipped with a good double oven and electric hob, fridge/freezer, dishwasher and microwave. The bathroom is downstairs and has a really powerful shower over the bath. There are two upstairs bedrooms both a good size, one double and one twin. There is a pretty small garden with a picnic bench, and there is a bird feeder in the garden where we enjoyed watching the constant stream of blue tits, great tits, robins and even on one occasion a woodpecker. There is good parking off road next to the cottage. The road outside the cottage is fairly quiet and from the cottage you cannot hear the traffic at all. The cottage is situated just three miles from Ludlow and conveniently, just before you arrive in Ludlow itself, there is a very good park and ride service which takes you right into the middle of the town for about the same price as a short stay in a car park. Ludlow is a very pretty town and is well known for its foodie reputation and it certainly lives up to this with some lovely delis and restaurants also the Ludlow Food Centre which is well worth visiting. Ludlow is situated about twenty/thirty minutes from the borders of Herefordshire, Worcestershire and over to Powys in Wales and is a great place for sightseeing and walking. All in all a great place to stay.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful cottage set in fabulous location.
Liked least: Very slight negative in bathroom downstairs
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.