We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dreadful place -I wish I had slept in the car” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tides Motel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Tides Motel
Ranked #29 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Dreadful place -I wish I had slept in the car”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Omg couldn't wait to get out of there, we left at 6.20am. The smell was awful and it was not very clean and I don't believe we were given clean towels or bed linen. We saw the cleaner use lots of odour sprays before we went into the room but this didn't mask the smell for very long! There were loose and broken tiles in the bathroom and the inside of the bathroom cabinet was mouldy. The lighting in the room was poor and the low ceilings made the room feel quite dingy.

We couldn't lock the door so had to use a chair to hold against the door, but we didn't feel very safe at all.

The Tides was quite expensive compared to other motels in the area so we had thought that this meant it was better than the others, but the only good things about the place was it's location and the parking so please don't be fooled into thinking the price reflects higher standards. I wish I had slept in the car instead, at least I wouldn't have woken up with bites on my leg.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mpk5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    21
    11
    9
    12
See reviews for
22
28
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Good lord, almighty! My 87 year old father read the good reviews of this establishment and booked two rooms for 3 nights for a nearby family reunion and we still haven't recovered from the shock. Run-down rooms, awful sheets and quilts, dishrag towels, no phone, no mat in bathtub (my father almost killed himself), bikers outside, smokers everywhere, fights in the parking lot, and outrageously expensive- who the hell are these so-called reviewer guests? I've stayed in a lot of crappy hotels during my lifetime but this one takes the cake. The bill was over 700 bucks which is just absurd. I won't let my dad book hotels on line anymore and reviewers should really, really tell the truth about places like these.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fluffybacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hampton hotels

Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel between August 26th and 29th and were very pleased with our room and the hotel. Nice parking lot which is very practical. Very clean room, beds were comfortable, yes it is a bit older but very well kept and maintained. The maid came each day to make the beds and give us fresh towels. A/C, Fridg, TV and microwave were working fine. Less than 5 minute walk to the beach and right in the middle of the boardwalk which is great ! I will definitely go back to this hotel for our next vacation in Hampton beach. My only complaint, if we can call it that, is the lack of counter or shelves in the bathroom to put toileteries.

Room Tip: we had room 25 on the second floor and it was very spacious and all utilities were in order.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryh79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloversville, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

The hotel is in a good location and that's about it. For the amount of money we paid for 4 nights it would have been nice to have a few items like a iron, in room phone and phone book, hair dryer.
The lighting was poor, the cable tv had few Chanel's , there was no ice machine the towels were hard, no daily maid service . The rooms were very dingy ( not at all like the photos) every time you used the toilet you had to double flush the beds were very hard and not comfortable at all.
The beach was nice and the board walk was typical . The restaurants , bars. Casino, and arcade were nice and affordable and do make a nice vacation but in the future when we return we will be staying outside of hampton beach and drive 10 min. Pay $10.00 a day to park for a much better quality motel /hotel.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Joann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tidesmotel, Manager at The Tides Motel, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Hello Mrs W,

Thank you for your review.I am sorry to hear that you were not impressed with our accommodations. We do not keep irons,ironing boards, hairdryer in the rooms but do have them available at the front desk. We did ask if everything was OK and got a response of "Yes" from Mr W. If these things were brought up to us, we could of solved them easily. I thank for your comments as we will continue to try to improve upon the items you listed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cocoa, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

We have been vacationing at Hampton Beach for many years. This is the 1st time we stayed at the Tides Motel but not our Last. Our room was Amazing and extremely clean. The bed was very comfy, we had a Great nights sleep! The bathroom had a tub and shower and great water pressure. Our mini frig kept our drinks frosty cold! Air conditioning was delightful after a long day on the beach and sunburned skin. The location doesn't get much better. It is one short block from the beach and boardwalk. Amazing location! To top all of this the staff is SUPERB!! We had a very pleasant experience with Gary from start to finish. He gave us an early check-in with parking and even let us keep our car parked in their lot after check-out while we spent the day at the beach. Customer service is 120%! We highly recommend this Motel!!! We will see you again in September Gary!! Thanks for an Amazing Vacation. Clearly the Best place to stay in Hampton Beach!! We are hooked... this is our Forever place to stay!! Thank you so much and enjoy the rest of the summer!! Jared & Cindy Pereau <3

Room Tip: We stayed in room 26 2nd floor on the end over the office! It was extremely quiet and the by far the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CPereau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tidesmotel, Manager at The Tides Motel, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to review our motel, we are glad you found the beds comfortable and the facility clean. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Hampton Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

I was so excited to be able to book the "last" room available after looking online what seemed like forever looking for a reasonable rate and a somewhat safe place to stay.
The room was cute, no phone available (that would be my only concern, not complaint). Also, we had some trouble trying to get and keep a signal for the wireless signal. For a place so closely knit, it was so quiet at night while sleeping. Less than two minute walk to the beach. Very friendly staff and clean room with a huge comfortable king size bed.
My daughter and I had the best time. I was the weekend of the sand sculptures which were amazing. I LOVE HAMPTON BEACH.
Highly recommend this Motel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank P C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tidesmotel, Manager at The Tides Motel, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I understand the WiFi signal was very weak, due to this we are adding another access point for the corner rooms. We hope you keep us in mind the next time you're in Hampton Beach!

Best regards,

Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayette, Iowa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed two nights at the Tides Motel. It is walking distance to the beach front and the rooms were clean and adequate for our trip. The only thing we missed on our trip was warm weather- we had temps around 55 or 60 degrees on June 10th. We still enjoyed the beach and we would recommend this hotel to others. Be sure to try the Fried Dough and there are a few other great restaurants in Hampton Beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tidesmotel, Manager at The Tides Motel, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
Thank you for your review, I am sorry that the weather was not up to temp! Hopefully next time you're in the area you will get to enjoy the beach more.

Best regards,

Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hampton hotels
0.9 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#6 of 41 in Hampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#10 of 41 in Hampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#17 of 41 in Hampton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ashworth by the Sea
Ashworth by the Sea
#3 of 41 in Hampton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hillcrest Inn
Hillcrest Inn
#22 of 41 in Hampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sun & Surf Motel
Sun & Surf Motel
#20 of 41 in Hampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tides Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tides Motel

Property: The Tides Motel
Address: 95 Ashworth Ave, Hampton, NH 03842-3438
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Tides Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your The Tides Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tides Hotel Hampton
Tides Hotel Hampton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing