We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what happened to the sand bar...we miss Erin...there is no spirit left without her...you can see it in all the staff...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ashworth by the Sea
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Bradford, New Hampshire
1 review
“what happened to the sand bar...we miss Erin...there is no spirit left without her...you can see it in all the staff...”
Reviewed 19 July 2011

we have been coming for years and the sandbar was just getting better...if you are going to lose great staff, at least train the others...

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jay230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_Management, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
Please accept my apologies for any service errors you may have encountered during your time with us on the Sandbar, at the Ashworth Hotel. I would like to thank you for your feedback, which will be useful for training. As you may imagine, it is not always possible to keep your staff. Yes, Erin was a superstar for us we wish her the best moving forward. We try and hire qualified, experienced people to fill our voids. Training here is an ongoing process that never stops. With your feedback we will be able to add additional subject matter and improve the training process. I would like to invite you back when you have the time and see the difference. Thank you again,

Sincerely,
Jerry Winston, F&B Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    271
    145
    65
    48
See reviews for
262
416
27
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

The memories of summer at the Ashworth don't quit. It seems the same families come back like ours, year after year, to enjoy Hampton Beach. While it has changed with the times, it remains the premier hotel on the beach because it has maintained its values and how it values its customers. Even as management changed and old friends moved on, new friends replaced them and continue the tradition of providing a quality place to stay on the beach front. Best food on the beach and the best prices, so you might as well go inside and enjoy the new casual decor and the air coditioning, have a drink and forget about dumpster dining. Have to return in the fall.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keene
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

We stay at the Ashworth everytime we go to Hampton Beach Casino Ballroom. From the valet parking attendents who take your car to the front desk people who check you in and out - the staff at the Ashworth are helpful, pleasant and polite. Depending on the time of day/night - there is live music around the pool and in the lounge. Every time we've stayed, there has been a breakfast buffet in the main dining room that's been delicious.
The hotel is right across from the beach and just 2 minutes walking from the boardwalk and Casino Ballroom.

Room Tip: Side rooms with a balcony have a great view of the ocean and are less expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rabbott4062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We recently stayed at the Ashworth by the Sea for the 4th of July. The hotel is in a perfect location to see the Hampton sights and also to experience the fireworks (from the rooftop bar). The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly and made our stay a great one. The only drawbacks we would mention are that the rooms are in need of serious updating (cracked showers and toilets) and the cleaners need a bit more attention to detail (our toilet needed more cleaning prior to our arrival).

All that said, it still is a great place to stay in Hampton Beach. The beach is still as kitschy as I remember as a kid but a stay here at least adds a little bit of class to the trip.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jvachon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2011

It is in a great location,and a nice lobby.A few things I think they need to do,first replace the bed they suck!! I had to call the desk to have put a bedboard in it basical had a pit in the middle,my question is why is bed still being used?In all fairness the maintance did offer to switch if it wasn't any better.The staff is very friendly,one more thing if you park your car overnight and need to get to it take the ride to it is a hike

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thegoof104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colrain, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

For $216 plus taxes and an additonal $7 for parking this hotel would not be recommended. There were unflushed cheerios in the toilet ( from the previous guests children....I hope), sand on the bed and chairs, shower curtain was moldy. The balcony was the size of a pea and could barely fit two people in it, sitting shoulder to shoulder. The view from the balcony was beautiful. The food at the Sandbar Restaurant deck was amazing but the hotel quarters leave everything to be desired. Definitely will dine there again but not stay.

The valet parking staff was extremely helpful as well. They let us pay them an additional $10 to keep our car there after check out during the day so we could go to the beach.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank batesy4742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_Management, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this review, 1 July 2011
I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your past stay here at the Ashworth by the Sea. We apologize for the issues that you had with your room and with the parking while you were staying at the hotel. Our rooms do offer some great views of the ocean located directly across the street. We're glad you enjoyed our Sandbar deck area where we serve lunch and dinner throughout the summer. We have live entertainment scheduled on several days during the week. The Sandbar is also a great location to watch the Hampton Beach fireworks on Wednesday nights in the summer.

We do apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay here at the Ashworth by the Sea. We will take this feedback and look at the areas where we can improve our service. We look forward to serving you again in the future!

Best Regards.
Peter Coutis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2011

My wife and I, plus a visitor from Europe chose to have lunch at the Breakers at the Ashworth Hotel last week... It was a terrible experience.... !! One example...A fried haddock sandwich on a roll....and a tablespoon of warm coleslaw. The roll was of the type you buy 12 for a dollar or two at a market... ! Just the fish and the naked roll..that was it..!! The waitress who sat us at the table literally snarled when we asked for something. Our visitor noted that she "Didn't seem very happy"... The service started lousy, like the food, and went down hill. There are no professionals running this place... Don't get caught in this tourist trap!!

Room Tip: If you stay at the hotel...avoid the restaurant!!
See more room tips
Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
8 Thank NeilMack_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_Management, Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this review, 1 July 2011
Please accept my apologies for your less than acceptable experience with us, and thank you for your candid detailed feedback and review. This was an unfortunate experience for you and your guest. It seems as though we did not meet your expectations. I have taken the feedback to both our Chef and his staff as well as our waitstaff to make the necessary changes as noted. We do care, and I would like to invite you back here when you have the time. Please come back and try us again.

Sincerely,
Jerry Winston, Food & Beverage Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hampton hotels
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#6 of 41 in Hampton
219 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
2.6 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#11 of 41 in Hampton
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#7 of 41 in Hampton
89 reviews
1.1 mi away
The OC Studio Suites
The OC Studio Suites
#13 of 41 in Hampton
43 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn At Hampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashworth by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashworth by the Sea

Property: Ashworth by the Sea
Address: 295 Ocean Blvd, Hampton, NH 03842-3610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hampton
#5 Family Hotel in Hampton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashworth by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year round, Ashworth by the Sea offers friendly New England hospitality in an elegant, boutique setting overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. We've maintained the historical aspects of the hotel, which has been a Hampton Beach Landmark for the past 100 years, and our recent renovation has updated the hotel with all the modern conveniences and amenities today's traveler expects. Ashworth by the Sea offers captivating views overlooking award-winning beaches, as well as creative dining, superior service, well-appointed rooms, and a superb location on Hampton Beach, New Hampshire. We look forward to welcoming you to our beach hotel. With New Hampshire's only sandy beach just outside your front door, the hotel has been designed to provide a tranquil seaside retreat. Stay with us, and you'll enjoy elegantly furnished guestrooms, three restaurants offering some of the finest dining on Hampton Beach, and effortless access to the area's prime attractions, including Odiorne Point, Rye Harbor and the Kittery Outlets. A wide variety of family amusements including a water park, zoo, museums, the Casino Ballroom concert arena, and tax-free shopping, are all within minutes of our doors. Relax and enjoy the ocean views from your private balcony, or take a dip in our refreshing heated pool before strolling off to discover one of the many fine shops or historical sites nearby. With over 6,000 square feet of event space and five dynamic function rooms, Ashworth by the Sea is a top destination for weddings, social gathering and corporate meetings on Hampton Beach and the Seacoast. Ashworth by the Sea is the perfect destination for romantic getaways, family vacations, girlfriends' shopping weekends, or corporate retreats. While many Hampton Beach hotels close once the summer rush is over, Ashworth by the Sea welcomes guests throughout the year, making us ideal for travelers who prefer to enjoy the quieter, off-season side of the New England coast in the cooler months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ashworth by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashworth By The Sea Hotel Hampton
Ashworth By The Sea Hampton
Ashworth Sea
Ashworth Hotel Hampton Nh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing