We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location - but still just average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ashworth by the Sea
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Reviewed 7 August 2011

You really cannot beat the location of the Ashworth. Literally the closest hotel to the beach and probably the best hotel in Hampton Beach. However, looking at the competition, that's not saying much. We reserved two rooms - one in the new wing and one in the old. The larger room was in the old part with the bathroom remodelled nicely, however the room had a smell - a little like low tide. Both rooms had partial ocean views and looked over the pool and "sand bar" area (a cool spot for drinks and appetizers early in the evening). The rooms both had new flat screen TVs. The bedding seemed old and the bed sheets didn't fit properly. The toilet in one room was so loud that when it was used in the middle of the night it would have awakened light sleepers.

The restaurant/bar/disco was okay. After the first night we drove to Portsmouth for dinner each night - a much better option. The attached coffee shop was open only till noon so lunch there was not an option. The food was edible but not particularly worthy of a second visit. The staff however was very courteous, pleasant and helpful. We were looking for a DVD player one night and they were able to provide one.

Overall still a nice vacation spot for a few days....

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rwgrncrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (920)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

734 - 740 of 920 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2011

exquisite food and exceptional service. entire staff is friendly and goes the extra mile. try the cream soda cocktail [invented by lisa] in the sandbar lounge,which is a rooftop restaurant overlooking the beach.

Room Tip: request room in the south tower overlooking the rooftop bar and facing boars head
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wavy16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Great clean rooms, friendly, helpful staff, great bartenders, great breakfast experience, perfect spot on the beach. Great experience on all fronts and we wil be back for sure!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tporttlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Only stayed one night to see a show at the Hampton Casino Ballroom but the hotel was clean, comfortable and the staff was very courteous. We were pleasantly surprised when we heard music from next door and instead of it being a loud guest it was actually a small band on the roof outside our window with a small tiki bar and a deck! A little pricey and small but it is right in the middle of the busy season. We also ate at the breakers restaurant friendly waitress, fast service, delicious dinner (fisherman's platter) and hearty portions. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lexdorf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

I came out on the last weekend of July, and spent some time on the deck enjoying some drinks, and great food:) Service was great the waitress all ways had a smile on her face, and had our drinks to us in a timely fashion:) The deck also provides a wonderful view of the beach, and is a great spot to watch the fireworks:)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leafe3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Stayed here while attending a concert.

First the good news;

The location could not be better for both the beach and being in the middle of everything that is Hampton Beach. We were right across the street from the ocean and everythng was so accessible.

The lobby and decent and the people who checked us in were very nice.

The rooftop deck has a great view on to the ocean.

Now the not so great:

We were on the second floor in the part of the building that seemed older. We must have been right by the exhaust fans for the kitchen because the smell permeated everything.

The band they had was not very good on the rooftop deck and they were so loud that it was hard to not hear every bad note in the room.

We needed an iron ,as there was not one in the room, and it took them almost an hour to get us one. It was hot so I am thinking they actually had to wait for someone else to use the "one hotel iron" before we could get it.

I would go here if you really wanted to stay right on the beach and utilized the room only as a place to crash in between days at the beach. It is just a shame that a place with this type of view and location could not get some of the things I mentioned right.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suntraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

I did not stay in the hotel but I did, along with 5 others I was with decided to have dinner at The Breakers. When we arrived at there were very few diners so we figured there wouldn't be a long wait for food as we only had about an hour before we needed to leave for a meeting. Well we were very wrong. Our server was cordial but when it came to geting our beverages and food, the service was very poor. The drink order took a long time and then we were told it somehow "didn't get put in" . After the food order was taken, it took at least 35 minutes for it to arrive at the table. When it did arrive, one of the meals was missing and the same excuse was given, "somehow that order didn't get put in". I ordered a simple burger.. medium and one of the others ordered the steak tips. My burger was well done and the steak tips could have walked off the plate. This was a terrible experience and will never go here again nor would I recommend eating here to anybody. Very disappointing as the Ashworth has always been associated with high quality. Maybe that reputation if from years past.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank Trumpet57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_Management, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2011

Dear Guest,

Please accept my apology for your dining experience in Breakers restaurant. After reading through your review it seems as though we missed several key parts of our service delivery during your meal. There should not have been errors with your orders and a long wait time for a meal can be extremely frustrating. We did not meet your expectations and we certainly did not perform to our own expectations during your time here. We're always looking for areas of improvement and we will certainly apply these lessons in the future.

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, and again I sincerely apologize for the issues you encountered during your meal and we do hope you will visit us again in the future.

Best Regards,
Peter Coutis,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hampton hotels
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#6 of 41 in Hampton
224 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
2.6 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#10 of 41 in Hampton
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#7 of 41 in Hampton
91 reviews
1.1 mi away
The OC Studio Suites
The OC Studio Suites
#11 of 41 in Hampton
45 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn At Hampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashworth by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashworth by the Sea

Address: 295 Ocean Blvd, Hampton, NH 03842-3610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hampton
#5 Family Hotel in Hampton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hampton
Price Range: £75 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashworth by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year round, Ashworth by the Sea offers friendly New England hospitality in an elegant, boutique setting overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. We've maintained the historical aspects of the hotel, which has been a Hampton Beach Landmark for the past 100 years, and our recent renovation has updated the hotel with all the modern conveniences and amenities today's traveler expects. Ashworth by the Sea offers captivating views overlooking award-winning beaches, as well as creative dining, superior service, well-appointed rooms, and a superb location on Hampton Beach, New Hampshire. We look forward to welcoming you to our beach hotel. With New Hampshire's only sandy beach just outside your front door, the hotel has been designed to provide a tranquil seaside retreat. Stay with us, and you'll enjoy elegantly furnished guestrooms, three restaurants offering some of the finest dining on Hampton Beach, and effortless access to the area's prime attractions, including Odiorne Point, Rye Harbor and the Kittery Outlets. A wide variety of family amusements including a water park, zoo, museums, the Casino Ballroom concert arena, and tax-free shopping, are all within minutes of our doors. Relax and enjoy the ocean views from your private balcony, or take a dip in our refreshing heated pool before strolling off to discover one of the many fine shops or historical sites nearby. With over 6,000 square feet of event space and five dynamic function rooms, Ashworth by the Sea is a top destination for weddings, social gathering and corporate meetings on Hampton Beach and the Seacoast. Ashworth by the Sea is the perfect destination for romantic getaways, family vacations, girlfriends' shopping weekends, or corporate retreats. While many Hampton Beach hotels close once the summer rush is over, Ashworth by the Sea welcomes guests throughout the year, making us ideal for travelers who prefer to enjoy the quieter, off-season side of the New England coast in the cooler months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ashworth by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashworth By The Sea Hotel Hampton
Ashworth By The Sea Hampton
Ashworth Sea
Ashworth Hotel Hampton Nh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing