We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we loved it and we'll be back!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ashworth by the Sea
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Reviewed 3 September 2011

A great place to stay...we will be back when there is no hurricane in the forecast!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (926)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

729 - 735 of 926 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2011

We stayed two nights and booked a balcony ocean room so we could enjoy the ocean. It rained both days but that is not Ashworth's fault. The location is tops walk to the beach see the ocean from the balcony boardwalk is out the front door.. The food in the Wharf bar was not great. I could not eat the danish I ordered. The other restaurant in the building was good. Staff especially front desk was helpful and Valet's great. My only complaint is our room 250 a night with a Balcony that was over was over a A/C directly below and it ran 24/7 the noise was not great. We could not sit on the balcony and listen to the waves as the sound of the A/C or vent was too loud. We could not leave the sliding door open because the noise we could not sleep. This was our second stay at the Ashworth . We were there 17 years ago and it was wonderful. There was no noise and we could sit and listen to the waves. So I don't think I would return to the Ashworth after this visit. I think the rooms on the A/C side should be cheaper or the A/C should be moved .It was a disappointing stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jesse58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

The room was excellent,clean plenty of space. The hotel staff are very friendly. You're close to the beach and the main strip. Good breakfast buffet and supper. Getting your car was no problem fast and courteous. The hotel staff are very professional great place for a mini vacation or business trip.

Room Tip: We had a good view from room 104 major cross walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DANA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We enjoyed our stay at Ashworth! The hotel is in a great location with clean rooms. The Breakers restaurant is delicious and so convenient. We tried both brunch and dinner there and had no complaints. The beach is right across the street. There is mandatory valet parking here, which was really the only "downfall", but if you gave them at least 10 mins you'd have your car. Hampton Beach is beautiful and this hotel is great!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Our first trip to Hampton Beach in years. Ashworth by the Sea provided us with a superior view, great service and a most friendly staff. Will certainly return in the future. Sheri & Jim North Adams MA

Room Tip: Room was very clean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

I've been coming to HB for 20 years. There are lots of places to stay where you may or may not have a good experience. The Ashworth is consistently clean, the staff is friendly and the location is great. The resturant and bar is good too. Is it the best place I've ever stayed ? No. The elevator is slow and small and the rooms might be in need of a renovation and the valet situation is sometimes a hassle, but like I said. It's good. Aside from renting a house, it's the safest bet at Hampton Beach.

After a day at the beach sit out on the deck, look at the ocean and have a drink. Sometimes they have a band and fireworks Wednesday is great.

Room Tip: Call months in advance. Ocean front is expensive but very nice. Side views are good enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jickfoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We have had our family vacation here for eight years and it has always been exceptional! Clean rooms, great restaurant, indoor pool and six steps to the beach, what more could you ask for?! We look forward to our vacation every year!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampton
2.5 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#6 of 41 in Hampton
223 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#10 of 41 in Hampton
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#7 of 41 in Hampton
92 reviews
7.8 mi away
Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel
Garrison Inn Boutique Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newburyport
445 reviews
8.3 mi away
Blue - Inn on the Beach
Blue - Inn on the Beach
#1 of 1 in Plum Island
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashworth by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashworth by the Sea

Address: 295 Ocean Blvd, Hampton, NH 03842-3610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hampton
#4 Family Hotel in Hampton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hampton
Price Range: £75 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashworth by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year round, Ashworth by the Sea offers friendly New England hospitality in an elegant, boutique setting overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. We've maintained the historical aspects of the hotel, which has been a Hampton Beach Landmark for the past 100 years, and our recent renovation has updated the hotel with all the modern conveniences and amenities today's traveler expects. Ashworth by the Sea offers captivating views overlooking award-winning beaches, as well as creative dining, superior service, well-appointed rooms, and a superb location on Hampton Beach, New Hampshire. We look forward to welcoming you to our beach hotel. With New Hampshire's only sandy beach just outside your front door, the hotel has been designed to provide a tranquil seaside retreat. Stay with us, and you'll enjoy elegantly furnished guestrooms, three restaurants offering some of the finest dining on Hampton Beach, and effortless access to the area's prime attractions, including Odiorne Point, Rye Harbor and the Kittery Outlets. A wide variety of family amusements including a water park, zoo, museums, the Casino Ballroom concert arena, and tax-free shopping, are all within minutes of our doors. Relax and enjoy the ocean views from your private balcony, or take a dip in our refreshing heated pool before strolling off to discover one of the many fine shops or historical sites nearby. With over 6,000 square feet of event space and five dynamic function rooms, Ashworth by the Sea is a top destination for weddings, social gathering and corporate meetings on Hampton Beach and the Seacoast. Ashworth by the Sea is the perfect destination for romantic getaways, family vacations, girlfriends' shopping weekends, or corporate retreats. While many Hampton Beach hotels close once the summer rush is over, Ashworth by the Sea welcomes guests throughout the year, making us ideal for travelers who prefer to enjoy the quieter, off-season side of the New England coast in the cooler months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Ashworth by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashworth By The Sea Hotel Hampton
Ashworth By The Sea Hampton
Ashworth Sea
Ashworth Hotel Hampton Nh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing