We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel, Best Deal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ashworth by the Sea

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ashworth by the Sea
Ranked #3 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Hotel, Best Deal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We bought this stay on living social and had seen mixed reviews. My boyfriend and I stayed here and everything was wonderful. The staff was super friendly. The food at the hotel dining room for dinner and breakfast was amazing. (Order the lobster mac n' cheese, and the rib eye). And the dining room turns into a little dance floor after 9pm and there's a DJ playing top 40.
We used the pool which was heated and clean.
We had a side view of the ocean-lovely! Hotel rooms are very clean.
The decor is a little dated and the hotel looks like there are making updates in steps (not under construction, but our room had dated bedding but a flat screen TV). If you want a Four Seasons in terms of decor- this is not it-but it's Four Seasons in terms of everything else. It is a beach hotel tried and true.
This was a great one stop destination for a quick get-away. This was an excellent visit! I would go back in a heart beat!!

Room Tip: They have 2 choices of rooms: a side view and the full ocean view. Side view is what we had and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank georgia730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    251
    136
    60
    40
See reviews for
247
391
25
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

The Ocean Front room was one of the best I've stayed in. The property is very well kept, with nice room decor and amenities. Things like large bathrooms with solid surface counters, subway tiled showers, flat screen TV with a large and comfy bed made this a location I could have easily stayed at for awhile. The on site restaurant offers all the basics, and is very good. We were there for an event which made for a fully booked property, but the staff did an excellent job managing the crowd and was super friendly and helpful. They really went out of their way to take care of us and make us feel welcome and relaxed.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DTdiesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central, Vermont
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

My husband and I have been coming here for years, it's a nice get away. We recently stayed there for the holiday weekend. We made reservations a bit late so they only had a room for one night, I called back on Wednesday and they a cancellation so we could go for the weekend. Colleen was wonderful and took great care of us. The first night we were on the second floor right by the elevator, my first thought was we were going to be up all night with the elevator noise, not true we didn't hear it at all. FYI, the only noise was in the bathroom you can hear your neighbors talking and they can hear you. We went out on Saturday and they moved our bags to our new room that all went smoothly. We ate here both Friday and Saturday night, Friday night we were told they were short staffed and our server just kept walking by and saying sorry instead of stopping long enough to take our order. People started coming in and sitting down getting food and service and we were still sitting there, my husband got up and got us a drink at the bar. It took an hour and a half to get our meal that wasn't very good, I had roasted chicken that was way over-cooked, my husband had a sirloin was just okay. So we went back (I know why) Saturday night and again the place is packed with dirty tables everywhere, we were lucky enough to have Derek as our server, although he was busy he took great care of us. I had a the surf n turf, Lobster and a sirloin steak, the steak was cooked to perfection. My husband had the Lobster mac n cheese that really enjoyed. I found it a bit too rich for me. So the food was better tonight, the service was great thanks to Derek. We had breakfast on Saturday morning and again walking in the diningroom and all the empty tables were dirty, not sure what's going on here but they need to stop saying SORRY and get some wait staff and improve the dining service or people will stop coming here. Why we come is for the great location, being able to eat here and listen to the DJ, dancing and not having to drive. Maybe it's because it's the off season, not sure.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KCVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

I have stayed at the Ashworth a few times and have always had a great stay. Lovely hotel, beautiful views, great dinner and lively bar scene. The staff could not have been nicer and more helpful. Will be staying there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LeighR1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dracut, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
167 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

My wife can't say enough about the Ashworth. In the summer it may be prohibitively expensive for our budget but in the off-season it can't be beat. During the coldest months they close off part of the hotel so we got an unexpected upgrade to our reservation. Our room came with a sofa which we moved closer to the sliding glass door where we could sit and watch the surf in cozy comfort. Plus, we were able to park in the garage downstairs and not be worried about being snowed in. As usual the indooor heated pool was really comfortable, the restaurant fare and staff were just what we expected, we had a great time in the lounge on Friday and Saturday night dancing to "DJ Dan" and enjoying ourselves with the other folks.
Everyone who works at the Ashworth is friendly and helpful, we can't wait for our next visit in a couple of months.

Room Tip: Not a room tip but we appreciated that complimentary coffee is available in the morning for guests t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Miike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Londonderry, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

I ask my wife if we could run away for labor day weekend, without the kids and or distractions. I left it up to her to pick where she wanted to go and she picked the Ashworth by the Sea. We had never been to the Ashworth and I can tell you now it will be the only place we stay. A great staff ( they helped my wife find a karaoke place just off the strip that made her happy) a great location ( right on the beach where I had my morning coffee) good prices, clean, friendly, and more importantly very relaxing.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

I have been going to the Ashworth by the Sea for over 35 years (started as a child with my parents) and it has only gotten better with age. They have just remodelled the rooms, which are spectacular. The front desk staff is courteous & friendly, as are the valets & housekeeping. It truly is the only place to stay when visiting Hampton Beach!!

Room Tip: I have only stayed ocean front, which I highly recommend for the breathtaking views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bridgetmtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampton
2.5 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
0.1 mi away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#10 of 41 in Hampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#17 of 41 in Hampton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#5 of 41 in Hampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
11.0 mi away
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hampton South - Seabrook
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashworth by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashworth by the Sea

Property: Ashworth by the Sea
Address: 295 Ocean Blvd, Hampton, NH 03842-3610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hampton
#4 Best Value Hotel in Hampton
#5 Family Hotel in Hampton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashworth by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year round, Ashworth by the Sea offers friendly New England hospitality in an elegant, boutique setting overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. We've maintained the historical aspects of the hotel, which has been a Hampton Beach Landmark for the past 100 years, and our recent renovation has updated the hotel with all the modern conveniences and amenities today's traveler expects. Ashworth by the Sea offers captivating views overlooking award-winning beaches, as well as creative dining, superior service, well-appointed rooms, and a superb location on Hampton Beach, New Hampshire. We look forward to welcoming you to our beach hotel. With New Hampshire's only sandy beach just outside your front door, the hotel has been designed to provide a tranquil seaside retreat. Stay with us, and you'll enjoy elegantly furnished guestrooms, three restaurants offering some of the finest dining on Hampton Beach, and effortless access to the area's prime attractions, including Odiorne Point, Rye Harbor and the Kittery Outlets. A wide variety of family amusements including a water park, zoo, museums, the Casino Ballroom concert arena, and tax-free shopping, are all within minutes of our doors. Relax and enjoy the ocean views from your private balcony, or take a dip in our refreshing heated pool before strolling off to discover one of the many fine shops or historical sites nearby. With over 6,000 square feet of event space and five dynamic function rooms, Ashworth by the Sea is a top destination for weddings, social gathering and corporate meetings on Hampton Beach and the Seacoast. Ashworth by the Sea is the perfect destination for romantic getaways, family vacations, girlfriends' shopping weekends, or corporate retreats. While many Hampton Beach hotels close once the summer rush is over, Ashworth by the Sea welcomes guests throughout the year, making us ideal for travelers who prefer to enjoy the quieter, off-season side of the New England coast in the cooler months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Ashworth by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashworth By The Sea Hotel Hampton
Ashworth By The Sea Hampton
Ashworth Sea
Ashworth Hotel Hampton Nh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing