We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just an average hotel by the Ocean.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ashworth by the Sea
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Stayed here for 13 days for work during the off season..Check in was great and the staff was great, but the rooms needed some TLC. Great breakfast at the cafe. Pool wasn't anything special. Great place to eat nearby is Porkeys..Wicked Good.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ulrich04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_Management, Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2012

Thank you for your review and feedback on your past stay here at the Ashworth by the Sea. We are currently working on improving our guest rooms and this is a process in which we are always working. We’re glad that you had positive encounters with our staff and we take great pride in our entire staff here at the hotel. We are always looking at areas of improvement and feedback from guests is one of our main sources.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again at the Ashworth by the Sea!

Best Regards,

Jon Moore
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (914)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

687 - 693 of 914 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2012

Stayed here with friends in February on the weekend of the Hampton Half Marathon. Room was clean with an amazing view. Breakers was fun for drinks and dancing on Saturday night. We did have to wait a while to be seated for breakfast, staff seemed a little overwhelmed with the big crowd but once we were seated the food and service were good.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alicia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We bought this stay on living social and had seen mixed reviews. My boyfriend and I stayed here and everything was wonderful. The staff was super friendly. The food at the hotel dining room for dinner and breakfast was amazing. (Order the lobster mac n' cheese, and the rib eye). And the dining room turns into a little dance floor after 9pm and there's a DJ playing top 40.
We used the pool which was heated and clean.
We had a side view of the ocean-lovely! Hotel rooms are very clean.
The decor is a little dated and the hotel looks like there are making updates in steps (not under construction, but our room had dated bedding but a flat screen TV). If you want a Four Seasons in terms of decor- this is not it-but it's Four Seasons in terms of everything else. It is a beach hotel tried and true.
This was a great one stop destination for a quick get-away. This was an excellent visit! I would go back in a heart beat!!

Room Tip: They have 2 choices of rooms: a side view and the full ocean view. Side view is what we had and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank georgia730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The Ocean Front room was one of the best I've stayed in. The property is very well kept, with nice room decor and amenities. Things like large bathrooms with solid surface counters, subway tiled showers, flat screen TV with a large and comfy bed made this a location I could have easily stayed at for awhile. The on site restaurant offers all the basics, and is very good. We were there for an event which made for a fully booked property, but the staff did an excellent job managing the crowd and was super friendly and helpful. They really went out of their way to take care of us and make us feel welcome and relaxed.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DTdiesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

My husband and I have been coming here for years, it's a nice get away. We recently stayed there for the holiday weekend. We made reservations a bit late so they only had a room for one night, I called back on Wednesday and they a cancellation so we could go for the weekend. Colleen was wonderful and took great care of us. The first night we were on the second floor right by the elevator, my first thought was we were going to be up all night with the elevator noise, not true we didn't hear it at all. FYI, the only noise was in the bathroom you can hear your neighbors talking and they can hear you. We went out on Saturday and they moved our bags to our new room that all went smoothly. We ate here both Friday and Saturday night, Friday night we were told they were short staffed and our server just kept walking by and saying sorry instead of stopping long enough to take our order. People started coming in and sitting down getting food and service and we were still sitting there, my husband got up and got us a drink at the bar. It took an hour and a half to get our meal that wasn't very good, I had roasted chicken that was way over-cooked, my husband had a sirloin was just okay. So we went back (I know why) Saturday night and again the place is packed with dirty tables everywhere, we were lucky enough to have Derek as our server, although he was busy he took great care of us. I had a the surf n turf, Lobster and a sirloin steak, the steak was cooked to perfection. My husband had the Lobster mac n cheese that really enjoyed. I found it a bit too rich for me. So the food was better tonight, the service was great thanks to Derek. We had breakfast on Saturday morning and again walking in the diningroom and all the empty tables were dirty, not sure what's going on here but they need to stop saying SORRY and get some wait staff and improve the dining service or people will stop coming here. Why we come is for the great location, being able to eat here and listen to the DJ, dancing and not having to drive. Maybe it's because it's the off season, not sure.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KCVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

I have stayed at the Ashworth a few times and have always had a great stay. Lovely hotel, beautiful views, great dinner and lively bar scene. The staff could not have been nicer and more helpful. Will be staying there again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LeighR1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My wife can't say enough about the Ashworth. In the summer it may be prohibitively expensive for our budget but in the off-season it can't be beat. During the coldest months they close off part of the hotel so we got an unexpected upgrade to our reservation. Our room came with a sofa which we moved closer to the sliding glass door where we could sit and watch the surf in cozy comfort. Plus, we were able to park in the garage downstairs and not be worried about being snowed in. As usual the indooor heated pool was really comfortable, the restaurant fare and staff were just what we expected, we had a great time in the lounge on Friday and Saturday night dancing to "DJ Dan" and enjoying ourselves with the other folks.
Everyone who works at the Ashworth is friendly and helpful, we can't wait for our next visit in a couple of months.

Room Tip: Not a room tip but we appreciated that complimentary coffee is available in the morning for guests t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Miike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hampton hotels
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#5 of 41 in Hampton
224 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
2.6 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#10 of 41 in Hampton
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#7 of 41 in Hampton
91 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn At Hampton
0.2 mi away
Grand View Motel
Grand View Motel
#19 of 41 in Hampton
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashworth by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashworth by the Sea

Address: 295 Ocean Blvd, Hampton, NH 03842-3610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hampton
#5 Family Hotel in Hampton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hampton
Price Range: £89 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashworth by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year round, Ashworth by the Sea offers friendly New England hospitality in an elegant, boutique setting overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. We've maintained the historical aspects of the hotel, which has been a Hampton Beach Landmark for the past 100 years, and our recent renovation has updated the hotel with all the modern conveniences and amenities today's traveler expects. Ashworth by the Sea offers captivating views overlooking award-winning beaches, as well as creative dining, superior service, well-appointed rooms, and a superb location on Hampton Beach, New Hampshire. We look forward to welcoming you to our beach hotel. With New Hampshire's only sandy beach just outside your front door, the hotel has been designed to provide a tranquil seaside retreat. Stay with us, and you'll enjoy elegantly furnished guestrooms, three restaurants offering some of the finest dining on Hampton Beach, and effortless access to the area's prime attractions, including Odiorne Point, Rye Harbor and the Kittery Outlets. A wide variety of family amusements including a water park, zoo, museums, the Casino Ballroom concert arena, and tax-free shopping, are all within minutes of our doors. Relax and enjoy the ocean views from your private balcony, or take a dip in our refreshing heated pool before strolling off to discover one of the many fine shops or historical sites nearby. With over 6,000 square feet of event space and five dynamic function rooms, Ashworth by the Sea is a top destination for weddings, social gathering and corporate meetings on Hampton Beach and the Seacoast. Ashworth by the Sea is the perfect destination for romantic getaways, family vacations, girlfriends' shopping weekends, or corporate retreats. While many Hampton Beach hotels close once the summer rush is over, Ashworth by the Sea welcomes guests throughout the year, making us ideal for travelers who prefer to enjoy the quieter, off-season side of the New England coast in the cooler months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ashworth by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashworth By The Sea Hotel Hampton
Ashworth By The Sea Hampton
Ashworth Sea
Ashworth Hotel Hampton Nh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing