We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ashworth by the Sea
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Hampton
Certificate of Excellence
NH
Level Contributor
162 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Better than expectations”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We had a coupon deal to stay at this hotel in the off-season...luckily...we had great weather. Staff is super friendly and efficient. The room finely appointed. Comfortable, kind of suite-like with half the room bedroom and the other half living room. Free internet. Spacious, clean bathroom. Little patio but view of the ocean. Close to everything!

Room Tip: Third floor is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MurphyNh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    258
    139
    61
    40
See reviews for
249
399
25
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We found a deal on Travel zoo for a good price. We booked a two night stay over Easter weekend. The room was very small and the King bed almost took up the whole room! We asked for a refrigerator which was going to cost extra but was not in the room when we arrived. We called the front desk and they responded quickly but there was no space to put it! We rearranged the furniture to fit it next to the TV dresser. The power outlets in the room did not work - only the one for the TV. We had no lamps for light and only used the window for natural light and the TV and bathroom light. The bathroom was clean. The bed was comfortable but the sheets, blanket and cover were rough and seemed old. The worst part was that there was an odor in the room which was bad. I had a scented candle lit to try to cover the smell. When we checked out we told them it was not a good experience - They were kind enough to take some money off of the bill.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank IslandHoppper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_Management, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We do apologize for any inconvenience due to the arrangement of furnishings in the room and access to electrical outlets – which we are taking a look at. In addition our staff is directed to address any odor issue that may linger from a previous guest and we regret if it was not taken care of and remained noticeable in your room. We have also notified our housekeepers to be aware of any sheets that may be worn or unusually rough to the touch and remove them from service. We do hope you will give us another chance and the opportunity to provide a more satisfactory stay.

Sincerely,
Tom Petot,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

If we'd had my way, we would have ended up some place cheaper, but my wife's goal was to avoid even the smallest possibility of uncleanliness. We met that goal. The room was fine.

For dinner, the restaurant was busy and disorganized, but the 1+ hour wait for service wasn't a big deal as we made friends with another couple waiting. I left my sweater behind and was able to retrieve it at checkout the next day. The crowd was a combination of wedding splil over and 60+ moderately well to do retired folks.

There is a heated indoor pool. A bit over chlorinated. Other guest children enjoyed it. Too small for laps. .

Room Tip: 'Ocean view' includes rooms on side of building with a partially obstructed view of ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_Management, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thank you for sharing your observations and noting the cleanliness of our rooms. Our restaurant is popular and busy and we do try to serve as efficiently as we can while providing an atmosphere of warmth – as reflected in your connecting with some other guests.

We diligently maintain the sanitation and chemical balance in the pool. We regret that you may have felt that it was excessive.

We have a variety of rooms with varying degrees of water views – from full head on to angled views from rooms on the side of the building with those closer to the beach providing a more panoramic view. Our reservationists are happy to explain the differences between rooms and the options you have when you call to reserve.

We thank you for your feedback as it is used as a tool to improve the guest experience for future visitors to our hotel. We hope you will give us another chance the next time you are in the Hampton area.

Sincerely,
Tom Petot,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Well I will NEVER stay here again.Got our room and parked in their garage with a sign that says not responsible for anything.Went to room,fridge warm and falling over,balcony lock broken,ancient air for room.After alerting the desk went to dinner down the beach,came back and they had not done a thing.Colleen at the desk was awesome and comped breakfast for the 3 days we were here and got us a new room.We went to breakfast 1st day waitress we were supposed to have ignored us and another older woman came over and was nice.Next day got room service and it was cold.Dealt with it.Went to go out later and noticed dishes in hallway by elevator were still there 6 hrs later.Went to dinner at the dining room,made a reservation for 2 for window,was sat nowhere near a window.Ordered a salad which was good and then surf and turf.My lobster was brown,steak was raw.Waiter was awesome his name is Derek who alerted the cook before he served us that he should cook me a new lobster because the claws were broken and brown but had him take it to me anyway.I opened it and it was brown and tail was also and wasn't from the vein either.Derek took it back to kitchen because they didn't believe him that it was even though it didn't look right before he even brought it to me.So he came back and said they have lobster meat for sandwiches and would give me some so I said fine,I then cut into my cold steak just to find it raw.He came back with the lobster meat,cold,and I showed him the steak and he said he would speak to manager again and see if it could be taken off the bill,It shouldn't have even been a discussion about it anymore.It took the manager over an hour to come to our table and apologize which is just bad managerial skills.They took off my and my friends food yay big deal and we are even guests in the hotel.I will never ever stay in this pit again.They need to make the desk girl manager and the waiter manager since they were the only ones who cared.The hotel night manager was acting like I was bothering him,sorry my door didn't lock.If my belongings got stolen they would have been sued and if I got food poisoning from their raw spoiled food they would have gotten sued.Maybe I should have eaten it.The hostess for the dining room was very snobby and like I said I made reservations for a window and no one was sitting at the window seats at all so NO EXCUSE THERE!!!! What a horrible experience for a vacation I was looking forward to since it was a 4-5 star hotel which in my opinion it is far from.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank MomofAngelAshley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_Management, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Please accept my sincerest apologies for the apparent lack of management response and empathy during your stay with us. I am sorry that you were initially put into a room that was not up to your, as well as our, standards. Your feedback has been shared with both our housekeeping and maintenance staffs. We are pleased that we were able to relocate you to a room that you were comfortable in for the remainder of your stay.

We do try to fulfill all guest requests for seating preferences in the dining room, and we regret that this did not occur in your case. After discussing with staff, we agree that the lobster you were served should never have left the kitchen based on its appearance, whether it was the first or the last lobster of the night. This point has been emphatically made to our kitchen and service staff.

I have spoken with the dining room manager and the night manager and they strongly assert that they had no intention of giving an impression of uncaring. They sincerely regret that you felt that way, it was not their intention. Our dining room manager does apologize if it seemed to take a while to address your concerns.

In any event, we have taken your observations, shared with all the members of the staff and will use it as incentive to work harder to enhance our standards.

Sincerely,
Tom Petot,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Something is wrong. Recently spent a weekend at the Ashworth; something I have been doing in early spring for the past few years. It had always been a wonderful get a way, but this time, it was different. Their fabulous food took a hit; chowder from a can now? A cold feeling everywhere, and a feeling that maybe there were cameras in the corner, spying. It was just uncomfortable. It used to be really warm and friendly; now the staff seems afraid to linger and talk for a while. I have since heard that the Ashworth is under new management. I can tell!! Nope! Definitely not the same Ashworth I used to know....they seem to be heading downhill, fast. I hope they wake up!

Room Tip: At least the great location hasn't changed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colwen_Management, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
We sincerely regret that you felt that there had been a change in the level of hospitality you have come to expect from previous visits. Ashworth remains under the same ownership and management group as your prior stays. Our chowder is made on property – in fact we have made a renewed commitment to use the freshest ingredients available in our area in preparing our menu items. We are sorry that you felt it was not the same as prior renditions.

While we do use cameras to oversee entrances to the building for the security of our guests, we do not currently have any placed in our restaurant. I am surprised that you felt our staff was inhibited in interacting with our guests – it is something we encourage as an important part of Ashworth hospitality. We do hope that based on your previous positive reviews you will give us another chance. We would look forward to seeing you again.

Best Regards,
Tom Petot,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelburne Falls, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This is a great hotel just across the street from Hampton Beach. We took advantage of a Bloomspot travel deal for Columbus Day weekend, and boy, did we hit the weather right. It was an 80 degree day and we spent time in the water, and until dusk on the beach. Upon check in, the staff welcomed us warmly and was super helpful. With the deal came a dinner voucher for the hotel restaurant. The menu was varied, and the food and service were very good. Because it was off-season, much of the boardwalk area was completely closed - including the McDonald's a couple blocks down. And because the population was scaled way back, the social scene at the hotel bar/deck was non-existant. Which was Ok because we were there with our young daughter. (But it looked like they had a nice set up for a fun evening outside, overlooking the beach and the activity on the street.) They have a pool that was warm in a greenhouse type structure. The room was big enough and the bathroom seems to have been redone recently. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

The Ashworth is a lovely older hotel, with modern amenities. The service was excellent and the room very comfortable. The walls are a little thin, but it wasn't really a problem.

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms have wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NYPeggyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hampton
2.5 mi away
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
0.1 mi away
Hampton House Hotel
Hampton House Hotel
#9 of 41 in Hampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Suites
Atlantic Breeze Suites
#6 of 41 in Hampton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hampton Village Resort
Hampton Village Resort
#17 of 41 in Hampton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
11.0 mi away
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus The Inn At Hampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashworth by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashworth by the Sea

Property: Ashworth by the Sea
Address: 295 Ocean Blvd, Hampton, NH 03842-3610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hampton
#5 Family Hotel in Hampton
#7 Romantic Hotel in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashworth by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year round, Ashworth by the Sea offers friendly New England hospitality in an elegant, boutique setting overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. We've maintained the historical aspects of the hotel, which has been a Hampton Beach Landmark for the past 100 years, and our recent renovation has updated the hotel with all the modern conveniences and amenities today's traveler expects. Ashworth by the Sea offers captivating views overlooking award-winning beaches, as well as creative dining, superior service, well-appointed rooms, and a superb location on Hampton Beach, New Hampshire. We look forward to welcoming you to our beach hotel. With New Hampshire's only sandy beach just outside your front door, the hotel has been designed to provide a tranquil seaside retreat. Stay with us, and you'll enjoy elegantly furnished guestrooms, three restaurants offering some of the finest dining on Hampton Beach, and effortless access to the area's prime attractions, including Odiorne Point, Rye Harbor and the Kittery Outlets. A wide variety of family amusements including a water park, zoo, museums, the Casino Ballroom concert arena, and tax-free shopping, are all within minutes of our doors. Relax and enjoy the ocean views from your private balcony, or take a dip in our refreshing heated pool before strolling off to discover one of the many fine shops or historical sites nearby. With over 6,000 square feet of event space and five dynamic function rooms, Ashworth by the Sea is a top destination for weddings, social gathering and corporate meetings on Hampton Beach and the Seacoast. Ashworth by the Sea is the perfect destination for romantic getaways, family vacations, girlfriends' shopping weekends, or corporate retreats. While many Hampton Beach hotels close once the summer rush is over, Ashworth by the Sea welcomes guests throughout the year, making us ideal for travelers who prefer to enjoy the quieter, off-season side of the New England coast in the cooler months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Ashworth by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashworth By The Sea Hotel Hampton
Ashworth By The Sea Hampton
Ashworth Sea
Ashworth Hotel Hampton Nh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing